PDA

View Full Version : Multiplayer Missions



NovaDudey
03-27-2004, 03:51 AM
Hey there,

Could someone please explain to me how to create an easy multiplayer mission?

I just want to make something for me and my dad, like there are two airfields, no stupid AAA and all, I hope someone could help.

Thanks,
Nova

<bgsound src="http://www.m00.sys-techs.net/record01.mp3" loop="infinite">

NovaDudey
03-27-2004, 03:51 AM
Hey there,

Could someone please explain to me how to create an easy multiplayer mission?

I just want to make something for me and my dad, like there are two airfields, no stupid AAA and all, I hope someone could help.

Thanks,
Nova

&lt;bgsound src="http://www.m00.sys-techs.net/record01.mp3" loop="infinite"&gt;

Tully__
03-27-2004, 03:54 AM
Pop over to the mission builder forum and ask their, it only takes a few minutes to whip up something like that. Specify what version and game you're flying (IL2 Sturmovik or IL2:Forgotten Battles and which patch level you're at) and whether you want coop or dogfight style missions.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Destraex
03-27-2004, 04:46 AM
yeah listen to tully

However its basically go into the full mission builder

Load a map of your liking (this can take a few minutes)

Choose view objects, hold down CTRL and left click to place the A/C

Then save the mission in the COOP folder under net missions

The rest is just experimentation.

i.e. to take off make sure you place an A/C near an airfiled that is player flyable.
Then edit the object so the waypoint equals takeoff.

Again while the object is selected hold down ctrl and left click to create the next waypooint

Place enemy A/C in the same way and play with the altitudes etc
Make sure you put more than one A/C in each object flight

Pay attention to the times on the waypoints as they will tell you when the A/C cross paths, ie if you place two waypoints near each other and they have the same times you can be assured they are going to see each other at that point.

Make sure you zoom right in on the map

Press enter to enter 3D mode if you want when close to ground.

You may also play with mission objectives such as escort/level bombing etc but that gets fiddly.

Change the weather conditions etc if you like to make htings interesting and set the time of day too

NovaDudey
03-27-2004, 05:09 AM
Alright, so here's the next problem. I added one waypoint which adds a A6M:1 aircraft, on take-off, player checked ON.

This gives me one flyable airplane on the runway, but now, how can I add another one which is also flyable? I just don't get it :-/

&lt;bgsound src="http://www.m00.sys-techs.net/record01.mp3" loop="infinite"&gt;

Tully__
03-27-2004, 06:04 AM
If you're setting it up as coop (sounds like you are), you have a couple of options.

For more planes in the same flight, select the plane you've already placed, open the View/Object dialog box, select the properties tab and use the drop down menu to select 2, 3 or 4 planes. If you want more than 4, you have to add another flight with its own set of waypoints.

In order to allow selection of any plane you choose, you'll need to uncheck the player box save the mission to one of the subfolders in the net/coop folder, exit Full Mission Builder and start a coop server with that mission loaded. The player box is for designating which aircraft will be flown by the player in offline single player missions.

Having the player box checked wont prevent the mission from being used in multi-player coop mode, but the host will be forced into that plane. The other players will still be able to choose any plane, but if you want the host to also have a choice, you must uncheck the player box.

When you click the "Play" option in the Full Mission Builder file menu, the mission loads as a single player offline mission, so if you want to take control while using that option for mission testing, you'll have to have the player box checked on the aircraft you wish to fly during testing.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

NovaDudey
03-27-2004, 06:22 AM
Tully, many thanks, your explenation was very good, and it helped me a lot, thanks!

&lt;bgsound src="http://www.m00.sys-techs.net/record01.mp3" loop="infinite"&gt;