PDA

View Full Version : Sawing through big bombers

HoldSteady641
07-12-2005, 04:38 AM
Hi everyone. Something last night made me wondering. I was flying a rather early but nonetheless fine 109, with the round prop nose and a cannon in it, I don't know wether that's a 12,7 mm or a 20 mm cannon, I guess the latter.

This day bombers were on the menu, DB-3's. I allready shot a few Pe-2's days before. They're quite hard to destroy, with their backfiring habits, and being quite sturdy planes. But I got them allright, blew of their tail most of the time from behind. The DB-3's were a lot larger of course, so I went for the wings first at a distance of 350 metres I started shooting (got mg's converging on 300, cannons at 250). The wings were not bearing a lot of fuel or none at all, because I could fire all I want, but they only flew of some covering material. I restarted and went for the props. It went a little better, shooting the engines from the same distance (and closing, I would have about 5-7 seconds of firing time before disengaging at less than 100 metres), fuel leaks are scored quite fast, but engines themselves are hard to destroy from behinf. If you look closely, there's a lot of wing between the engine and my bullets.. :P Once I scored a nice blowup, the egine exploded out of the wing and went it's own way in a blaze of fire, but the bomber just flew on! albeit a bit slower..

Then, lastly, the brutal approach. Just hang behind the bomber's tail and blaze away. I scored more hits with this than any approach. I even tried forward approaches to hit the cockpit, but nothing worked better than just hanging behind the tail, start blazing at 350 metres and after a second of 4, 5, the tail just breaks and the bomber goes down.