PDA

View Full Version : widescreen request to Oleg: il2 vs il2:FB



XyZspineZyX
11-27-2003, 11:05 AM
i run both games in a (unsupported?) resolution of 1600x1024
and wondered what changed so much in both games:

http://www.informatik.fh-wiesbaden.de/~kpaka001/data/il2_16_10.jpg
Here is it what i get in il2 1.2:
note that map and in online play chatwindow can be pushed all the way to the right and anywhere else on the screen.
Speedbar is in the right position as in all other resolutions.
http://www.informatik.fh-wiesbaden.de/~kpaka001/data/il2_FB_16_10.jpg
And thats what il2:FB 1.11/1.2RC comes up with:
note that the cloud generates a translucent texture that forms a 4:3 area in the center of the screen, the map/chat cant be draged outside of that area any more and the speedbar and hudlog is bound to this 4:3 area as well.
Sunblinding/searchlight effect however is not affected by this.
the vertical line just along the right side of the map is from the translucent texture.

Now in il2 the placement was just about right and in il2:FB you have to set SaveAspect=0
in the config ini what leaves you with the above , other wise the picture iss just the 4:3 box and black bars left/right.
The better thing to do would be the il2 placement of speedbar, my question is it at all posible to restore the old system ? What can i modify to achieve the old style ?
How about a variable like SaveGuiAspect=0/1 ???
thx for any reply

Edit: the builder in il2 fills the whole screen , in il2:fb it fills a 4:3 box in the middle http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Message Edited on 11/27/03 11:12AM by Blackjack174

Message Edited on 11/27/03 11:20AM by Blackjack174

Message Edited on 11/27/0311:21AM by Blackjack174

XyZspineZyX
11-27-2003, 11:05 AM
i run both games in a (unsupported?) resolution of 1600x1024
and wondered what changed so much in both games:

http://www.informatik.fh-wiesbaden.de/~kpaka001/data/il2_16_10.jpg
Here is it what i get in il2 1.2:
note that map and in online play chatwindow can be pushed all the way to the right and anywhere else on the screen.
Speedbar is in the right position as in all other resolutions.
http://www.informatik.fh-wiesbaden.de/~kpaka001/data/il2_FB_16_10.jpg
And thats what il2:FB 1.11/1.2RC comes up with:
note that the cloud generates a translucent texture that forms a 4:3 area in the center of the screen, the map/chat cant be draged outside of that area any more and the speedbar and hudlog is bound to this 4:3 area as well.
Sunblinding/searchlight effect however is not affected by this.
the vertical line just along the right side of the map is from the translucent texture.

Now in il2 the placement was just about right and in il2:FB you have to set SaveAspect=0
in the config ini what leaves you with the above , other wise the picture iss just the 4:3 box and black bars left/right.
The better thing to do would be the il2 placement of speedbar, my question is it at all posible to restore the old system ? What can i modify to achieve the old style ?
How about a variable like SaveGuiAspect=0/1 ???
thx for any reply

Edit: the builder in il2 fills the whole screen , in il2:fb it fills a 4:3 box in the middle http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Message Edited on 11/27/03 11:12AM by Blackjack174

Message Edited on 11/27/03 11:20AM by Blackjack174

Message Edited on 11/27/0311:21AM by Blackjack174

XyZspineZyX
11-27-2003, 11:08 AM
Can't anybody resize these screenshots? They are not worth looking at.

XyZspineZyX
11-27-2003, 11:14 AM
Yes, I see it now. Interesting. Had to copy the link into the browser.

TEST::

]http://www.informatik.fh-wiesbaden.de/~kpaka001/data/il2_FB_anamorphic.jpg (http://www.informatik.fh-wiesbaden.de/~kpaka001/data/il2_FB_anamorphic.jpg[/img)


Yes, much better.


Message Edited on 11/27/03 10:15AM by LEXX_Luthor

Message Edited on 11/27/0310:16AM by LEXX_Luthor

XyZspineZyX
11-27-2003, 03:06 PM
There are also other things that disappear in the edge area, I can't remember exactly what, but it did interfere with dogfighting. I had been forcing 1280x1024 using the .ini file to get to my LCD's native resolution. Then I noticed that some things dissappeared as they neared the top or bottom of my screen when flying, not good. So I wnt back to the default 1280x960 which my monitor supports although it's not the native (best) resolution. Ah, it amazes me what we do to play this game!

XyZspineZyX
11-30-2003, 05:52 PM
self-O-bump