PDA

View Full Version : P40-E's Oil temp gauge...



Threesixtyci
09-25-2009, 02:49 PM
I really wish the game could be adjusted between metric and imperial. It obviously favors metric for everything. And I think it may be the cause of what I think is a glitch that I describe below....

My questions have to do with the oil temperature. Why is it in Celsius? And why is it always pegged? I'm thinking that they messed up and have the program/needle set to Fahrenheit, and didn't realize that they gauge is using a Celsius calculation and display form. And since a typical engine runs over 100F (and not over 100C), it always ends up being pegged out, on that Gauge.

I mean as it stands, the gauge is useless. I don't care if it's running cold. I only care if it's overheating. Only way to do that in the P40's cockpit is to monitor coolant temperature, and the dummy light.

Is there a way to get in contact with this Russian developer? Or do you think they would even care?

And well, there's is no fuel gauge. Well, there is one on the floor, but it doesn't work. That dummy light is pretty much useless....

Threesixtyci
09-25-2009, 02:49 PM
I really wish the game could be adjusted between metric and imperial. It obviously favors metric for everything. And I think it may be the cause of what I think is a glitch that I describe below....

My questions have to do with the oil temperature. Why is it in Celsius? And why is it always pegged? I'm thinking that they messed up and have the program/needle set to Fahrenheit, and didn't realize that they gauge is using a Celsius calculation and display form. And since a typical engine runs over 100F (and not over 100C), it always ends up being pegged out, on that Gauge.

I mean as it stands, the gauge is useless. I don't care if it's running cold. I only care if it's overheating. Only way to do that in the P40's cockpit is to monitor coolant temperature, and the dummy light.

Is there a way to get in contact with this Russian developer? Or do you think they would even care?

And well, there's is no fuel gauge. Well, there is one on the floor, but it doesn't work. That dummy light is pretty much useless....

bolox00
09-26-2009, 04:44 AM
US gauges of the period were calibrated in deg C
for example
http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff27/bolox00/3112a.jpg

that said, i agree some gauges don't function as well as they might. hopefully Team Diadalos who have now taken up the updating will look into this.

if you fly offline you can use devicelink to read game parameters such as oil temps
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...655/m/7201027043/p/1 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/7201027043/p/1)

Threesixtyci
09-27-2009, 05:52 AM
Cool.
I don't really have a problem with it being Celsius. But, I still think they have it programed for Fahrenheit. It is just about always pegged. Funny thing is that it goes to the right setting when the engine is off... of about 32 degrees.

BTW: I'm also noticing that the AI crashes for no reason. I'm running a dynamic campaign of the USAAF of the first squadron on the list. Campaign, I picked started at Pearl, And now I'm at New Guinea (I think it is...). On that map, the AI almost always runs into hills and/or run out of gas. Are their any mods that fix this? If they would return after an escort mission at a higher altitude, and if I could just give them unlimited fuel... it would be a lot better.

Treetop64
09-27-2009, 07:34 AM
Unfortuantely, there are a lot of gauges in a lot of planes in this sim that don't work properly. The pegged oil gauges you mention, the inop oil pressure gauges in the 109s, the flip-flopped readings between the oil and fuel pressures in many US planes.

Oh, yeah; can't forget that badly needed coolant gauge in air-cooled radial engined US planes... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif

I love this sim, but there are some nagging little details that could be easily addressed that continue to be ignored.

R_Target
09-27-2009, 07:50 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Treetop64:
Oh, yeah; can't forget that badly needed coolant gauge in air-cooled radial engined US planes... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

F6F has two. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif And no cylinder head temp gauge. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Treetop64
09-27-2009, 09:10 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by R_Target:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Treetop64:
Oh, yeah; can't forget that badly needed coolant gauge in air-cooled radial engined US planes... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

F6F has two. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif And no cylinder head temp gauge. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Figures...

Come to think of it, the Russian gauges seem to be the only ones that work properly in this sim, particularly the LaGGs and Las. Proper fuel and oil pressures, coolant temps, oil temps (separate incoming and outgoing oil temps for some planes!), radiator temps, a proper CHT gauge for the Las, you name it.

Hell, In the TB-3s you even get an alpha indicator in the form of a pencil rollin' around on a table, for pete's sake!