PDA

View Full Version : Graphics card advice



mynameisroland
12-12-2005, 03:31 AM
Hi guys,

Im looking to upgrade my system in the next few weeks Im not looking for much maybe an extra 512MB DDR to take it to 1.5 GB, what I was mainly hoping to buy was a new graphics card to enable me to run IL2 at perfect settings.

My system at the moment:

Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz (Hyperthreading) 800 MHz Front Side Bus
BIOS Phoenix-Award BIOS. Press the Delete key to enter.
Motherboard TriGem IT865GE (MS 6743)
2 x Memory 512 MB DDR RAM - PC2700
Hard Drive 80GB 7200rpm UDMA
CD Drive 16 x DVD-ROM
52x CD-RW
Video Card nVidia GeForce FX 5200 (128MB)
Sound Card C-Media 9739A AC'97
Speakers Advent stereo powered speakers
Modem Generic Soft 56K modem
Network Card Intel 82562EZ
Case D1
Keyboard Advent multimedia keyboard
Mouse Standard PS/2 mouse

Now is it worth upgrading this system?
I want a new graphics card but which ones would be compatible with my mother board? Would the extra RAM make sense?

And what TFT monitors (17 - 19 inch ) would you guys suggest?

Cheers

mynameisroland
12-12-2005, 03:31 AM
Hi guys,

Im looking to upgrade my system in the next few weeks Im not looking for much maybe an extra 512MB DDR to take it to 1.5 GB, what I was mainly hoping to buy was a new graphics card to enable me to run IL2 at perfect settings.

My system at the moment:

Intel Pentium 4 2.8 GHz (Hyperthreading) 800 MHz Front Side Bus
BIOS Phoenix-Award BIOS. Press the Delete key to enter.
Motherboard TriGem IT865GE (MS 6743)
2 x Memory 512 MB DDR RAM - PC2700
Hard Drive 80GB 7200rpm UDMA
CD Drive 16 x DVD-ROM
52x CD-RW
Video Card nVidia GeForce FX 5200 (128MB)
Sound Card C-Media 9739A AC'97
Speakers Advent stereo powered speakers
Modem Generic Soft 56K modem
Network Card Intel 82562EZ
Case D1
Keyboard Advent multimedia keyboard
Mouse Standard PS/2 mouse

Now is it worth upgrading this system?
I want a new graphics card but which ones would be compatible with my mother board? Would the extra RAM make sense?

And what TFT monitors (17 - 19 inch ) would you guys suggest?

Cheers

dazza9806482
12-12-2005, 03:53 AM
Hi m8

I recently got a gigbyte 6600 gt, which i can highly recommend. it can run IL2 at perfect with low aa and im using 1168*864

i got the fanless version, with heat pipe, for about 100 squid from dabs.com. quiet and u can overclock it on the fly

my systems pretty similar to yours, and im really pleased with my card, runs everything i can throw at it extremely well. including FEAR.

zorlac000
12-12-2005, 04:08 AM
I got a Nvidia 660gt a while back. They must be pretty cheap by now. Sure beat the pants off my old fx5600. In fact the best card I've ever bought.

Specs:
Gigabyte i865pe
PIV 3.46GHZ CPU
2GB DDR SDRAM @ 400MHZ
128MB 6600GT
TrackIR3 pro...

if ((AI planes >= 3) && (water == 3) && (dogfight == eminent))
{
FPS < 30;
}
else
{
FPS > 30;
}

but it's still **** good!!!

MEGILE
12-12-2005, 04:13 AM
I use a Geforce6800Ultra 256 and don't use perfect settings, framerate drop is just too much for me..

but then maybe I'm anal about it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

F0_Dark_P
12-12-2005, 04:34 AM
hell i diden't run the original il2 perfect on my pentium 4 3ghz comp but i think i will get that card, nice price on it to just 272$

my old 9800 card is to slow, and i think i have destroyed it, i get bugs in the grafiks when i alt tab etc and the power cord to it is burnd and black http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

dazza9806482
12-12-2005, 04:46 AM
What framerate do you run at megile? Your card should hammer my card...

i get pretty smooth play and perfect just looks to cool to disable

mynameisroland
12-12-2005, 05:18 AM
Someone else has mentioned the 6600 gt to me and recommended it. Would upping RAM to 1.5 GIG be beneficial also?

dazza9806482
12-12-2005, 05:39 AM
Im sure i read somewhere that over a gig for sturmo doesnt make a staggering difference.

probably talking bollocks though

id save my money for a radge tft

mynameisroland
12-12-2005, 06:46 AM
bump

p1ngu666
12-12-2005, 06:56 AM
if u live in the uk, u can buy my gf6800 ultra, if u have a pci express mobo...

dunno what best agp card u can get atm, and yesh, extra ram would help

mynameisroland
12-12-2005, 07:49 AM
Yup I stay in the UK http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

How much do you want for it matey?

Xiolablu3
12-12-2005, 08:40 AM
You do not have a PCI Express motherboard bohemer, don't buy Pingus card.

I have answered this post in the UKded forums.

mynameisroland
12-12-2005, 09:21 AM
TY matey

Brain32
12-12-2005, 09:39 AM
6800LE, here http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif. It was cheaper than 6600GT, I unlocked it at 12,6 and OC to 380/800. Now I run Perfect at 1024x768, 4xAA,8xAF,Water=1 no slowdowns smooth as silk even in hairy situations. My serious recommendation http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

snafu73
12-12-2005, 10:37 AM
While we're on the subject of graphics cards - I've just gone from a 9800pro to a gf6800 (vanilla), to tide me over for a while before I replace my system completely, and the thing is I'm still getting the graphical glitches I was getting in 'perfect' mode I was getting in 'perfect' with my 9800pro.

Do you guys think I should do a fresh install of IL-2? (which I was hoping to avoid)

I used driver-cleaner before installing my new card by the way. Quake 4 runs like a beauty!
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Xiolablu3
12-12-2005, 12:27 PM
The fact that a Nvidia card does the same as an ATI card means that your FB/PF installation is a little screwed up. (Its unlikely to be a driver issue as both cards have the same trouble)

I'm afraid a re-install is the most likely solution.

If it does not fix the problem then repost in the tech support forum with your exact problem.

blairgowrie
12-12-2005, 12:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dazza9806482:
Im sure i read somewhere that over a gig for sturmo doesnt make a staggering difference.

probably talking bollocks though

id save my money for a radge tft </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

What dazza said is correct. Extra ram will not make much difference for FB.

p1ngu666
12-12-2005, 12:52 PM
nah, smooths it out abit. extra ram doesnt really make things faster, it can actully decrease speed a tiny bit. but its much smoother, which is betterhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

MC202zipper
12-12-2005, 04:57 PM
Hi!
As you have an AGP mobo I would say 6600GT (not the 6600 plain one), it wins hands off over anything else for its price... that in europe is around 150", say between 130 & 175-180, depending from brands, kind of coolers & RAM installed, etc.
For a bit bigger amount, say 220 to 250", you can have a plain 6800 that has the advantage of having a 256bit memory channel (way better!!!) and if you are lucky and/or you make your research well, you can end up with a very overclockable card that allows you to unlock the missing (factory disabled) pipelines, ending up with practically a 6800GT for the price of the plain one.
I would suggest to stick with NVidia because of the better support to OpenGL (before you start shooting http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif, guys, mind that I am usually a loyal ATI consumer, but looking to other posts & reviews, and to the level of performance my dual 6600GT is putting out, I am for the moment convinced that if you mainly play FB/AEP/PF saca with your rig, NVidia is the way to go....
If, instead, you like to watch a lot of DivX & DVDs, or you like to do some screencapture or movie job, I am definitely convinced that ATI still has a superior IQ...

If you want to choose a good ATI product, IMHO a Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade is the one to choose, it's very overclockable (sometime ago the Sapphire X800CTO & the Connect3D cards, IIRC, allowed you to unlock pipelines & have a true X800 or even an X850, but AFAIK it's now not possible anymore...)
X800GTO Fireblade (it is a version with bigger cooler & faster RAM, really thought for overclockers) goes in europe for, more or less, the same cash as a plain 6800, around 220".... the plain X800CTO (DON'T choose the GT, it's a lot less powerful..) goes around 200".

I tried to play FB/AEP 2.04 adding a second giga of RAM to my 3000+ 1Gb DDR400 & 9800Pro secondary rig... actually I have a nice well manteined (defragged, etc.) rig, that starts AEP with FSautostart after shutting down all the useless stuff that WinXP has... IMHO my AVG framerate increased of 2-3 or 4fps maximum, depending from what track I used for testing....
If you already have it laying around like me, just stick it in, but if you have to spend some 75 or 80" for it, I wouldn't do it, save the money for a better VGA....

S!
MC202zipper

Sillius_Sodus
12-12-2005, 05:41 PM
I also have the fanless version of the 6600GT from Gigabyte. During installation it detected that the power supply on my rig wasn't strong enough so it installed itself at lower settings automatically. I changed my 250W supply to a 400W and now it runs very nicely. With my P4 2.8 system I even get good frame rates with LOMAC, albeit with slightly reduced settings. Great card.

Good hunting,
Sillius_Sodus

dazza9806482
12-13-2005, 03:08 AM
Yeah i love the gigabyte 6600gt

its a belter- i was worried about heat issue given theres no fans but it runs extremely cool.and since im such a messy blighter it hopefully wont suck up all the dust in my room

the dynamic OC function is excellent too.

Xiolablu3
12-13-2005, 04:38 AM
I didnt realise the 6800 vanilla was a bit faster than the 6600GT, last tests I looked at they were just about equal and people were debating which to get.

I think you can get a 6800 for about the same as a 6600GT ? Maybe a little more?

Brain32
12-13-2005, 06:12 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I didnt realise the 6800 vanilla was a bit faster than the 6600GT, last tests I looked at they were just about equal and people were debating which to get. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
It's not just a bit faster it's much faster but you can see that only when playing high-res and/or higher levels of AA/AF, 6600GT really starts to cough there because of it's 128-bit memory interface...

Xiolablu3
12-13-2005, 06:16 AM
Its not really MUCH faster, if you think the 6800 gets 100fps where the 6600GT gets 80fps,

Change this into future games using the same ratio and the 6600GT gets 25fps where the 6800 gets 31fps.

I guess 25fps vs 31 fps is unplayable vs playable tho.

It depends if the little extra performance is worth the extra cash.

MC202zipper
12-13-2005, 07:00 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Brain32:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I didnt realise the 6800 vanilla was a bit faster than the 6600GT, last tests I looked at they were just about equal and people were debating which to get. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
It's not just a bit faster it's much faster but you can see that only when playing high-res and/or higher levels of AA/AF, 6600GT really starts to cough there because of it's 128-bit memory interface... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well Xiolabu, you are partially right, but if you notice the point Brain32 was explaining, it's all there.
As many of us want to play with all the eye candy cranked up, 6800 is a better choice because it's 256bit memory bus.
I can tell you about my experience (by the way, I am a PC tech and had my share of different combos assembled & compared) with the first ATI Radeon 9x00 series: I was amazed to notice the difference between two very close cards like the ATI 9500Pro and 9700Pro (they had same R300 core, same SAMSUNG memory chips & amount of RAM, same core & close RAM frequencies, both 8 pipelines & TMU number, but 9500Pro had 128bit memory interface with dual 64-bit memory controllers vs the 256bit quad 64-bit memory controllers on 9700Pro).
I had both of them in two rigs that were exactly equal for other components (Barton 2500@3000; 512Mb (2x 256) DDR400 & NForce2 mobos), and even if in many games (I did enjoy UT2003 & MOHAA at the time & IL2-FB of course)the FPS rate was comparable at 1024x768-32bit, let's say 9700Pro was scoring 5 to 10% more FPS, when you cranked up the eye candy you could feel the real difference: 9700Pro was leading by a good extra 20% or 25% FPS, followed from 9500Pro, & both of them were leaving my older card (a GeForce4TI4400 @ TI4600 specs, not exactly rubbish in 2003...) in the dust....

So, definitely, if your monitor is a 17" and you are going to play 1024x768 with low AA & AF (say 2x AA & 4xAF), IMHO you will see small or no differences between a 6600GT and a 6800, but if you are going to play 1280x960 or 1600x1200 or even 1024x768 but with 4xAA & 8xAF you are going to see 6800 shine...specially, as I said, if you look for a "lucky" card and you are going to open the extra pipelines & cranking frequences to 6800GT or Ultra specs....

S!
MC202zipper

Xiolablu3
12-13-2005, 08:42 AM
I also build/repair computers, the 9500 was a 9700 with less pipelines, maybe there were other versions too and thats what you are referring too , but thats what the original 9500 was, just a 9700 with some pipelines blocked off.

You could open them up on some 9500's to get a 9700.

I know what you are saying but a few fps really doesnt make that much difference, the 6600GT has all the shaders that the 6800 has and all the eye candy.

Even so, I agree with you that the 6800 is worth the extra bit of cash.

The reviews I saw were earlier whent he 6800 wasnt really being tested to the full, as you say once you crank up the res and AA+AF the 6800 really shines over the 6600GT.

DarkCanuck420
12-13-2005, 11:14 AM
I used to have your 5200 then I went to a 9800pro and now im using a 6800GT. With the 6800gt I run everything maxed out with no slow downs. The rest of my system is similar to yours. More ram really wont make much of a differnce for this game, anything after a gig of ram is marginal.

Brain32
12-13-2005, 11:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I also build/repair computers, the 9500 was a 9700 with less pipelines, maybe there were other versions too and thats what you are referring too , but thats what the original 9500 was, just a 9700 with some pipelines blocked off. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL, the three of us seem to be in the same buisness, so I will explain my expirience with 9500-9700series. There was 9500 with 128-bit memory interfeace which could be unlocked at 8pipes and thus converted to 9500Pro, and there was 9500 with 256-bit memory interface which was also unlockable to 8pipes, but because of 256-bit memory interface it was possible to flash it with 9700bios and converting it fully to 9700. Those RT scripts were handy for those that didn't want to flash...
BTW, those were some da*n good cards...

Xiolablu3
12-13-2005, 02:30 PM
Thanks for the explanation http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I agree , the 9500 was a bargain at the time and the 9700 was ahead of its time.

mynameisroland
12-13-2005, 04:30 PM
Thanks a lot for the help everybody ! Im going to buy one of these blighters in the next 5/7 days Id like a 6800 GT/GS card but may end up with a 6600 GT depending on availibility and my wallet ( still have my girlfriends to buy for too http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ) regarding the 6600GT do you recommend the 128 or 256 Mb ? Silly question but the price difference is 25 quid by which stage after you get VAT your like 40 Quid from a 6800 GS.... decisions decisions http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

MC202zipper
12-14-2005, 07:14 PM
Xiolabu, just to be precise, I quote from Xbit labs article here:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/radeon9500-9700.html

QUOTING the article:
As a result, the complete family of R300 based products from ATI now includes the following items according to the official data:

ATI RADEON 9700 Pro. It features 8 pixel pipelines, 256bit DDR SDRAM graphics memory bus, 325MHz recommended chip frequency and 620MHz (310MHz DDR) recommended memory frequency.
This is the fastest and most expensive modification. RADEON 9700 Pro chips helped ATI to win the leadership in the 3D graphics market at least until NVIDIA GeForce FX comes out. The graphics cards based on ATI RADEON 9700 Pro started selling in mass long time ago.
ATI positions its RADEON 9700 Pro as a competitor to the upcoming GeForce FX chip from NVIDIA.
ATI RADEON 9700. It features 8 pixel pipelines, 256bit DDR SDRAM graphics memory bus, 275MHz recommended chip frequency and 540MHz (270MHz DDR) recommended memory frequency.
This version differs from ATI RADEON 9700 Pro only by somewhat lower working frequencies. ATI positions its solution as a competitor to NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti4600 and its AGP 8x version.
ATI RADEON 9500 Pro. It features 8 pixel pipelines, 128bit DDR SDRAM graphics memory bus, 275MHz recommended chip frequency and 540MHz (270MHz DDR) recommended memory frequency.
ATI claims that its RADEON 9500 Pro features 128bit DDR SDRAM memory bus. If we take it for granted, then the only difference between this product and ATI RADEON 9700 will be exactly this twice as narrow memory bus.
RADEON 9500 Pro is positioned as a rival to NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti4200 and partially as a rival to a faster GeForce4 Ti4600.


In fact it had the first PCB, the famous L shaped type(so called from RAM chip position) that had the 4x 64bit controllers on chip, but only two of them enabled...that was the very first batch of Sapphire... you could unlock it at first with bios modding & reflashing, later simply using Omegadrivers with softmodding...ending up with a true 9700Pro
I just had the one very first card available in my town, just guess what I had?
Yes, the infamous "new" PCB, with all the RAM on top of the chip...no way to unlock it http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif
Well, not that was SO bad... AFAIK all the Sapphire, whether with red or black PCB could do at least 300core 600RAM (mine 320/620) making an extra 7-8% FPS @1024...... it really blew my older GeForce4TI4400, both in AA & IQ

My point remains (IMHO) that for 30" or 40" difference a good 6800 (overclockable & if possible unlockable) should be better than a 6600GT at 1024x768 4AA 8AF or higher resolution...

S!
MC202zipper

MC202zipper
12-14-2005, 07:26 PM
FOR CANUCK
(sorry guys, I don't want to steal the topic, it's about videocards anyway)

BTW, Canuck, as I have a rig with a Barton2500@3000 & 9800Pro that I want to max out, did you see a real... WHOAH!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif increment when you went from 9800Pro to 6800GT? Or was it something like...well...not bad but maybe better saving those 200"?

I am just looking aroud to make the last upgrade to that rig (being socketA & AGP8x I am afraid that its story will end here...) and I was thinking to find a 6800 or 6800GT OR X800 - X800Pro... loks like I wiil find more easily (and cheaper) the 6800s, tough...

S!
MC202zipper