PDA

View Full Version : Keyboard control box mod



Phobia337
03-27-2008, 12:29 PM
I found this looking for easy to do mods for flight sims on YOUTUBE. They have a promotional video for this product. Which I find is a waste of money for some templets that I can make in photoshop. But I got a couple question and I am at work so I am not sure how this will work and I am checking seeing if you all might know.

I am going to do the WWII model similar to what they have with a keyboard flip upside down BUT, if you notice there are quite a few keys that are double keys. Now how does IL-2 read double keys in the assign key area? or do they just assign 1 key and the other is assigned to nothing??

Really easy to make mod and very simple with USB set up. Just thought I would check with my main guys http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Later bros

http://www.rogerdodger.net/diyflightsims/keyboard_mod.html

Phobia337
03-27-2008, 12:29 PM
I found this looking for easy to do mods for flight sims on YOUTUBE. They have a promotional video for this product. Which I find is a waste of money for some templets that I can make in photoshop. But I got a couple question and I am at work so I am not sure how this will work and I am checking seeing if you all might know.

I am going to do the WWII model similar to what they have with a keyboard flip upside down BUT, if you notice there are quite a few keys that are double keys. Now how does IL-2 read double keys in the assign key area? or do they just assign 1 key and the other is assigned to nothing??

Really easy to make mod and very simple with USB set up. Just thought I would check with my main guys http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Later bros

http://www.rogerdodger.net/diyflightsims/keyboard_mod.html

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-27-2008, 12:40 PM
not sure what you mean by double keys, but certain combinations are recognized by IL2 if they employ the "shift" and/or "control" keys. Heck, I have bail out mapped to (Space+ rt ALT) so I guess it recognizes them fine.

Phobia337
03-27-2008, 02:11 PM
Look at the picture of the key board with the modding done. They basiclly have a thing peice of plastic covering two keys at once, then place a sticker with the change. Here is a a example of what I mean.

Letters M and N on key board are covered and made into 1 button labeled with sticker for Gear.

So when u press the "GEAR" button on a modded keyboard. It is really pressing both M and N at same time. So how does IL-2 Recongnize this?

Lurch1962
03-27-2008, 05:11 PM
I'm not sure if in IL2 one could assign keys in that fashion (such as M and N together). At least none of the default assignments are like that. So why worry? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

But I think I can see where you're going with this. It would be harder to "join together" widely separated key combos such as CTL-g.

Wild.Bill.Kelso
03-27-2008, 08:32 PM
Click my sig and check out TouchBuddy...

WBK

M_Gunz
03-27-2008, 10:06 PM
How many USB keyboard type devices can you run at once? I've run two mice but that was between
one USB and one serial-PS2 and -- move one up and down while the other side to side and the
cursor moves in figure 8's.

So with USB mini-keyboards and number pads, etc, can you run custom setups along with your
regular use keyboard? Would it be better anyway to keep a hub in easy reach and only plug
whatever on need? --- LOL, very possible! One writes of having 4 USB keyboards at once just
to see if it's possible.

Simple discussion on multiple keyboards. (http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1610435,00.asp)

I'm sure there's loads of and better articles -- I've seen a number of ads for gaming pads too.

M_Gunz
03-27-2008, 10:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Lurch1962:
I'm not sure if in IL2 one could assign keys in that fashion (such as M and N together). At least none of the default assignments are like that. So why worry? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

But I think I can see where you're going with this. It would be harder to "join together" widely separated key combos such as CTL-g. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

With a USB HID driver you can get up to 6 keys at a time on however many devices you connect,
it says. Just how to say "do this on that keyboard and leave the other alone" though.......

Capt.LoneRanger
03-28-2008, 02:38 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wild.Bill.Kelso:
Click my sig and check out TouchBuddy...

WBK </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, that really is an awesome invention. Problem is, though, that you cannot get that working with a 5 $ keyboard.

sully_pa
03-28-2008, 05:26 AM
I know what you mean and the answer is yes....if you glue two keys together or something like a piece of metal or wood to two keys when you press it IL2 sees one key it will look like this on the controls page, ty , bn , or whatever ....I've done it but I'm building a control box at the moment to replace it....

Wild.Bill.Kelso
03-28-2008, 06:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Capt.LoneRanger:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wild.Bill.Kelso:
Click my sig and check out TouchBuddy...

WBK </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, that really is an awesome invention. Problem is, though, that you cannot get that working with a 5 $ keyboard. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>That is true, it is an investment. But you can load profiles to work with many different games, just like a joystick.

Phobia337
03-28-2008, 07:53 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by sully_pa:
I know what you mean and the answer is yes....if you glue two keys together or something like a piece of metal or wood to two keys when you press it IL2 sees one key it will look like this on the controls page, ty , bn , or whatever ....I've done it but I'm building a control box at the moment to replace it.... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks sully. I am going pick up a extra keyboard tonight and going to rig it up. Easy fix till I can go get my some pots, switches, box, ect.

Also want to thank everyone else for helping out.

Later guys

sully_pa
03-28-2008, 03:17 PM
NP....Good Luck http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif