PDA

View Full Version : Noob Lands at last!!

iRuffy
09-17-2008, 04:15 PM
Hi,
I've just been trying for about 30-40 mins to get my plane back on the deck and have at last succeeded!
I have all the realism on exactly as per Bearcats nuggets guide.
I just got my new AV8R joystick today and couldn't wait to try this out. But boy how on earth am I gonna land without the chase view? I mean from the cockpit? It just took me about 15 attempts to get the thing down safely from the chase view!

I kept nosing it into the ground.
Heres what trial and error has taught a complete noob to flight sims...

Flaps help you take off and land...

When landing a long approach helps, preferable not at 300kmph.

Even at 120kmph it still goes pear shaped.

The best speed for landing is as slow as possible (without stalling)

It is a good idea to reduce the throttle when the wheels touch the ground, otherwise the plane thinks you want to take off again.

Dont try Red Arrow style aerobatics...as this leads to the aircraft falling out of the sky.

The "B" button is the brake!!!

So I think with a little more practice I'll be landing as oppose to bouncing/nosing/crashing more regularly.

Now for the gunnery... you boys are in trouble now.. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

iRuffy
09-17-2008, 04:15 PM
Hi,
I've just been trying for about 30-40 mins to get my plane back on the deck and have at last succeeded!
I have all the realism on exactly as per Bearcats nuggets guide.
I just got my new AV8R joystick today and couldn't wait to try this out. But boy how on earth am I gonna land without the chase view? I mean from the cockpit? It just took me about 15 attempts to get the thing down safely from the chase view!

I kept nosing it into the ground.
Heres what trial and error has taught a complete noob to flight sims...

Flaps help you take off and land...

When landing a long approach helps, preferable not at 300kmph.

Even at 120kmph it still goes pear shaped.