PDA

View Full Version : Reason: Timeout .



KG30_Adler
03-07-2004, 10:05 PM
The subject heading is what appears in my log whenever I get the infamous AEP disco ten minutes into flight on a DF server on Hyperlobby. I can avoid it entirely by disabling sound or avoid it for about four hours by disabling sound HW acceleration, but then I have to reboot to gain some stability.

As I recall, the space before the period in Timeout . indicates a cheater boot. Since I only fly bombers, I am hardly likely to speed hack and never had this problem before AEP in any case. My conclusion is that I (and about 80% of other AEP users) am getting kicked because of changes made to the cheat code which are triggered due to innocuous sound streaming issues.

Fine, easy fix, take out the changes and live with the rampant cheating that takes place. But what happened to actually testing the product before shipping it, Oleg? Why let UBI marketing bulldoze you into releasing a product that is at best beta quality and had obviously never been tested among real world users? Things like the K4 not having a rudder the last time around and the Me163 not being able to start from the ground this time can be blamed on underlings, but generalized network failures are on your back.

I would encourage you to shift away from the M$ development model of throwing crap out on the market a month before it is ready just because the packaging is ready.

KG30_Adler
03-07-2004, 10:05 PM
The subject heading is what appears in my log whenever I get the infamous AEP disco ten minutes into flight on a DF server on Hyperlobby. I can avoid it entirely by disabling sound or avoid it for about four hours by disabling sound HW acceleration, but then I have to reboot to gain some stability.

As I recall, the space before the period in Timeout . indicates a cheater boot. Since I only fly bombers, I am hardly likely to speed hack and never had this problem before AEP in any case. My conclusion is that I (and about 80% of other AEP users) am getting kicked because of changes made to the cheat code which are triggered due to innocuous sound streaming issues.

Fine, easy fix, take out the changes and live with the rampant cheating that takes place. But what happened to actually testing the product before shipping it, Oleg? Why let UBI marketing bulldoze you into releasing a product that is at best beta quality and had obviously never been tested among real world users? Things like the K4 not having a rudder the last time around and the Me163 not being able to start from the ground this time can be blamed on underlings, but generalized network failures are on your back.

I would encourage you to shift away from the M$ development model of throwing crap out on the market a month before it is ready just because the packaging is ready.

VW-IceFire
03-07-2004, 10:11 PM
I assume you've never done software development before?

Its possible that bugs crept into place at the last minute that didn't flag anything that didn't show up on the final testing and that were not present for the rest of the testing period and that user testing has exposed.

Remember that user testing (the actual using of the software by intended audience) can expose more bugs in a 48 hour period than two weeks of Quality and Assurance can.

Nonetheless...this is big on the list to fix no doubt.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/temp_sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

S77th-brooks
03-07-2004, 10:31 PM
rgr this crazy ,hope they fix it soon very hard to play on line now ,just get to take off now and you are just waiting for that time to come a long

Wood_663rd
03-07-2004, 10:32 PM
Maybe it's a M$ mole

St.G77_Sturm
03-07-2004, 11:57 PM
I got to agree with Adler here.Oleg we really suggest that the same network code we had for FB be implemented.Just because a few spoil sports wanted to cheat by speedhacking why should everyone suffer by getting timeouts.I vote for having the same excellent code as we had for FB

SKY_BOSS
03-08-2004, 12:43 AM
I'v never seen a time out with AEP. But I can say it runs smooth'r then FB did. Maybe it dont like a
piece of hardware some of you are run'n. I do hope they find the problem so all can have a good time .

http://members.cox.net/ironwarlock/skynew.jpg

StevenCappu
03-08-2004, 02:19 AM
The reason is:
Coz of some guys whining about the sound,Mr.Oleg just fixed the sound settings,And for the Anticheat purpose too....
Therefore, any kinds of sound card besides Audigy will coz the timeout.
BTW: Some guys use the CMI8738 just fine,never timeout http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
But for me,i used the Asus onboard Soundstorm,real powerful than the Audigy,but got the timeout...........http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Mr.Oleg,you just made a big mistake,do you want to lose mass of the FB consumers? Coz they dont use the godamned Audigy? Coz some f***in guy's whining,who used some sparsity kind of sound card and said they still can hearing something..........
I will not spend my money to buy a damn audigy2
BTW: if that was me,i'll calculate all the consumer's feeling.........

BBB_Hyperion
03-08-2004, 03:59 AM
When you want instant timeouts copy old mg_snd.dll
in AEP dir. This gives constant timeout after loading screen. When the Cheater detection is so advanced even checking sounds Volumes and Stuff its the right way to go even when it needs some tweaking. Remember it was asked for a better cheater protection. This is not easily done at all.

Regards,
Hyperion

StevenCappu
03-08-2004, 04:05 AM
yep,that's the key of timeout

Smoky_161st
03-08-2004, 09:46 AM
I love the auto kick features now dont change them! I have been playing since thursaday. I have a dedicated server and my main gamming machine. Not one dump kick or crash at all. The auto kick feature work perfectly.

StevenCappu
03-08-2004, 11:02 AM
not the autokick,we are talk about the timeout.
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Cpt_Rio
03-08-2004, 02:02 PM
Thank God a serious Time Out thread !!!

It's starting to freak me out...Don't know what to do anymore, and playing without sounds make no sense at all...

Why can't we have an official word about it??!!!

JG26Red
03-08-2004, 03:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Cpt_Rio:
Thank God a serious Time Out thread !!!

It's starting to freak me out...Don't know what to do anymore, and playing without sounds make no sense at all...

Why can't we have an official word about it??!!!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

cause they are lost... they are either trying to figure it out or blowing us off... either way, my game is just sitting in the cd case.. lol

[This message was edited by JG26Red on Mon March 08 2004 at 02:35 PM.]

Hunter82
03-08-2004, 03:58 PM
Any of you guys own Lock on? The users there are having problems with Lag and disconnects on NForce boards. Could be possibly a driver issue for Lan or Sound and not really sim related. I'm installing AEP Tuesday on my NForce system....let you know how I make out. I haven't had much time to try and play with AEP yet.

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

JG26Red
03-08-2004, 04:04 PM
Well i have Win98 on a Aopen MK33, with AMD Tbird 1.2, 512mb pc133 ram, on board AC97 sound card and Geforce4mx 64mb... and get timeouts, updated BIOS and sound\video drivers... PC is worse after doign that... i really need to switch to XP! lol

StevenCappu
03-08-2004, 04:16 PM
AMD2500+ OC 2.5G
Asus A7N8X Delux
1.5g DDR 433
On board Soundstorm
ATI 9700 Pro

= Time out

Soundstorm is just the same as the audigy2 in performence,and it takes less CPU recourses,i can have 15 more fps than using the Audigy2.
And i will not buy the damned Audigy again.(I already bought one and sell it after the test,trust me,better than the audigy)

Hunter82
03-08-2004, 04:32 PM
I had an A7n8x Deluxe. CPU resources were 7% greater with Soundstorm then Audigy 2 and 3% than Audigy.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by StevenCappu:
AMD2500+ OC 2.5G
Asus A7N8X Delux
1.5g DDR 433
On board Soundstorm
ATI 9700 Pro

= Time out

Soundstorm is just the same as the audigy2 in performence,and it takes less CPU recourses,i can have 15 more fps than using the Audigy2.
And i will not buy the damned Audigy again.(I already bought one and sell it after the test,trust me,better than the audigy)<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

Hunter82
03-08-2004, 04:34 PM
GeForce 4 MX 440 does not fully support DX 8.1. If you drop your video settings to lowest do you still have issues?


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JG26Red:
Well i have Win98 on a Aopen MK33, with AMD Tbird 1.2, 512mb pc133 ram, on board AC97 sound card and Geforce4mx 64mb... and get timeouts, updated BIOS and sound\video drivers... PC is worse after doign that... i really need to switch to XP! lol<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

==============================
Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com)
ATI Catalyst Beta Tester
Catalyst Feedback (http://apps.ati.com/driverfeedback/)
Catalyst Driver Download (http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html)
==============================

BfHeFwMe
03-08-2004, 07:14 PM
All my hosting problems with time outs seem to be gone once I figured out some of my clients had their sound hardware switched off. They were fine as long as mine was off also, but the minute I flipped it on in game they got booted with the time out.

My guess is your CPU timing changes when you throw the sound card burden on it. A host running with it off has a slowdown, very noticable in loaded missions with big maps. You kick it back on and the chop disappears and FPS shoots back up. Thats a drastic difference.

Once they switched it on also, no more problems.