PDA

View Full Version : A rookie`s questions



Fedda
02-14-2005, 09:43 AM
Hello everyone!
I am quite new to the forum concerning SH3 and I might have a few "stupid" questions regarding the game which you probably have answered already.

The question(s) I have concerns the computer hardware needed to run the finished game. I must say I got impressed and a little worried when I saw the trailers and witnessed the stunning graphics of the game.
My question to you is what kind of computer hardware will I need to fully appreciate the games graphics? Will I have to buy a brand new computer?

I hope to hear from you all on this matter, thank you in advance for all your help.

Fedda
Norway

eddie_wood
02-14-2005, 10:02 AM
Post your current hardware specs and somebody will help out.

Regards,

Ed.

Fedda
02-14-2005, 10:08 AM
My current computer have the following specs:
Amd XP 3000 2,11ghz
Ati Radeon 9600pro
1024mb PC3200 Ram
WinXp pro

Thank you

eddie_wood
02-14-2005, 10:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Fedda:
My current computer have the following specs:
Amd XP 3000 2,11ghz
Ati Radeon 9600pro
1024mb PC3200 Ram
WinXp pro

Thank you <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I would wait until you have tried the game.

Ed.

Fedda
02-14-2005, 10:23 AM
Ok, thanks!
Btw; Do you know the official min. reqs. for the game?

eddie_wood
02-14-2005, 10:27 AM
Your machine is over the min specs. These are the original specs, these have changed now and recommend min 512mb RAM and only 2000/XP I think. Can't remember what was said in the last Dev Team Chat.

Others will correct me if I'm wrong. I don't think you have anything to be too concerned about at this time. You can of course upgrade the graphics card later if required.

Ed.



3. What is the current status in regards to system specs?
Supported OS: Windowsâ® 98/ME/2000/XP (only)
Processor: Pentiumâ® III 1.4 GHz or AMD Athlonâ"ž˘ 1.4 GHz
(Pentium 4 2.0 GHz or AMD Athlon 2.0Ghz recommended)
RAM: 256 MB (512 MB recommended)
Video Card: 64 MB (128 MB recommended) DirectXâ® 9 compatible graphics card (see supported list*)
Sound Card: DirectX 9 compatible PCI card


*Currently Supported Video Cards
NVIDIAâ® Geforceâ"ž˘ 3/4/FX series with the exception of MX series cards
ATIâ® Radeon 8500/9000 family cards or newer

Fedda
02-14-2005, 10:30 AM
Again: Thanks for your help! I will just wait for the release of the game and see how it works on my current computer. The waiting time should soon be over...

Fedda
Norway

DerKomet
02-14-2005, 06:30 PM
i have a low-medium spec computer (AMD XP 2.0+, 512RAM, gf4ti4200 128mb) and run any game (most of the recent games dont run very good on high settings though) and i get little bit annoyed when you guys, high spec machine owners, come here and ask if the game runs on your pcs... ARGH, can i kill you? No? bah..

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif kidding.

fordfan25
02-14-2005, 07:54 PM
that 9600pro may not let hou jack up the graphics to full but if your willing to take a hit on the eye candy you should be more than able to play at very good FPS. just your cpu and ram are great. just depends on what settings you set on your card as well as in the game. also i would not expect very high res. 1024/768 should do good i would think on a 9600pro.

Fedda
02-16-2005, 10:27 AM
I do not expect to much of the 9600 Pro card but it will have to do for now. The CPU and the RAM makes up for the card in most games though, hope this applies to SH3 as well:-)

To DerKomet: I know what you mean. The computer I have will have to do the job for at least a decade from now on due to personal bugdet limits. Actually we both have rather obsolete machines...