PDA

View Full Version : woe is me



XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 08:22 AM
Damnit! I just flew the coolest mission ive flown yet in IL2:FB.

I took off, flew nice and low and gained speed. pulled a wicked barrel role over a near-by town (low altitude with maybe only 5-10 feet from wing tip to ground), then pulled a loop and a half and came back around to buzz the airfield. Swung around and flew UNDER a bridge (omg it was so cool). Then i pulled it off AGAIN. (please excuse my enthusiasm. im a n00b and this was some wicked flying for me /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif )

then finally the enemy wing arrives at our airfield and I blast four of them out of the sky! I've had missions with five kills before but this was just extra cool because of the sweet aerobatics I managed to pull off.

Finished the mission with a smooth landing and was totally psyched. Figured that if there was a mission worth saving to trak, this was it.

So i go to save it....

and my computer freezes. Well not really but it was slower then a drunken 286. So i wait... and wait... and wait some more. still nothing. Try alt tabbing, nothing. try ctrl alt delete... nothing. finally I had to hit my power button so that windows would shut the program down and log off /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Is this a fairly common problem? can it be remedied?

]http://www.miscminutiae.com/sig/wolfsign11.gif (http://www.miscminutiae.com/sig/wolfsign11.gif[/img)

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 08:22 AM
Damnit! I just flew the coolest mission ive flown yet in IL2:FB.

I took off, flew nice and low and gained speed. pulled a wicked barrel role over a near-by town (low altitude with maybe only 5-10 feet from wing tip to ground), then pulled a loop and a half and came back around to buzz the airfield. Swung around and flew UNDER a bridge (omg it was so cool). Then i pulled it off AGAIN. (please excuse my enthusiasm. im a n00b and this was some wicked flying for me /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif )

then finally the enemy wing arrives at our airfield and I blast four of them out of the sky! I've had missions with five kills before but this was just extra cool because of the sweet aerobatics I managed to pull off.

Finished the mission with a smooth landing and was totally psyched. Figured that if there was a mission worth saving to trak, this was it.

So i go to save it....

and my computer freezes. Well not really but it was slower then a drunken 286. So i wait... and wait... and wait some more. still nothing. Try alt tabbing, nothing. try ctrl alt delete... nothing. finally I had to hit my power button so that windows would shut the program down and log off /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Is this a fairly common problem? can it be remedied?

]http://www.miscminutiae.com/sig/wolfsign11.gif (http://www.miscminutiae.com/sig/wolfsign11.gif[/img)

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 11:19 AM
How long was the mission? How many planes in the mission? and how long did you wait before trying the three finger salute?

Tracks sometimes take a very long time to save, The length of the track, and the number of planes in the track effect the length of time it takes to save. I saved a track once that took 10 minutes. I have heard of other pilots here save 20-min tracks.

The trick is to be patient, wait till its done. Go grab a cup of coffee and a bagel, and when you get back, your computer should be as right as rain (and your track too).

kajr



http://63.76.89.105/IL2/images/IL2AirRacing.gif (http://63.76.89.105/IL2)

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 03:50 PM
I've got the same issue, try to save a 5 minute track, no time compression and 4 'planes and it locks up.

three finger salute works (I run XP Pro) and task manager to kill FB.

I then reboot.

Left it running overnight and no change!
Used to save tracks Ok. Can record no problem.

Any ideas ne1?

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:53 PM
Well there were quite a few enemy planes and two wings of friendlys. I was leading one wing and there was a second wing in front. and two enemy formations too as far as i know... so quite abit of action. Plus it takes a good 15 minutes before the bandits even get to the airfield on that mission so thats why I was off pulling stunts /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

ctrl-alt-delete doesnt work for me anymore though. I some how messed it up so that it doesnt show any of the performance tabs anymore (ie: CPU usage, etc). Now it just shows logged in users (ie: me) and thats it. no other tabs or anything. Cant figure out how to get it working again either /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

]http://www.miscminutiae.com/sig/wolfsign11.gif (http://www.miscminutiae.com/sig/wolfsign11.gif[/img)

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 09:59 PM
That many planes and amount of time may equate to a 30-60 minute save...LOL is it worth it? You might want to consider recording only the action next time. Map the quick record key and record only what you want in smaller bites of time.

kajr



http://63.76.89.105/IL2/images/IL2AirRacing.gif (http://63.76.89.105/IL2)