PDA

View Full Version : To SLi Memory or not to SLi Memory.....that is the question? Anyone answer?



Mysticpuma2003
04-03-2007, 08:55 AM
Hi guys, well this is my question for you if anyone can help.

I understand that SLi ready memory comes with EPP, and as far as I can tell this is basically for Nvidia chipsets to automatically work out over-clocking on the board (as basic and simple as I can understand it).
It doesn't actually make the memory physically faster, it just makes it easier for the user to get the best from the memory, as I understand it.

Now, taking that into consideration, I am just about to buy this memory: Crucial Ballistix Memory DDR2 PC8000 2GB(2x1GB) for my Asus P5N32-E SLi Motherboard, and it is fully compatible but doesn't have EPP.

So, my question is for a board that, to start with, is not going to be over-clocked, but is being built for futureproof performance, do I really need SLi memory?

Thanks for any advice, yours, a computerless Mysticpuma http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif (at the moment http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

Mysticpuma2003
04-03-2007, 08:55 AM
Hi guys, well this is my question for you if anyone can help.

I understand that SLi ready memory comes with EPP, and as far as I can tell this is basically for Nvidia chipsets to automatically work out over-clocking on the board (as basic and simple as I can understand it).
It doesn't actually make the memory physically faster, it just makes it easier for the user to get the best from the memory, as I understand it.

Now, taking that into consideration, I am just about to buy this memory: Crucial Ballistix Memory DDR2 PC8000 2GB(2x1GB) for my Asus P5N32-E SLi Motherboard, and it is fully compatible but doesn't have EPP.

So, my question is for a board that, to start with, is not going to be over-clocked, but is being built for futureproof performance, do I really need SLi memory?

Thanks for any advice, yours, a computerless Mysticpuma http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif (at the moment http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

Sjeler
04-03-2007, 09:13 AM
Sli is interface for GPU - Graphic cards. What you meant is dual channel for memory. Yes, its better to have 2x 1GB than 1 2GB memory bank. You just have to be careful where you plug it. Consult your motherboard manual.

Xiolablu3
04-03-2007, 09:36 AM
Yeah man, SLI is when you run 2 Nvidia gfx cards together.

Do you mean Dual Channel Memory?

Mysticpuma2003
04-03-2007, 10:28 AM
Sorry guys, I am not confusing Dual Channel memory (I used it before the PC died), and I know SLi refers to Nvidia graphics cards,

This is why I am slightly confused.I had a choice between these:

http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=258071A8A5CA7304

Which are compatible with my Mobo, or these:

http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=80B5FDA3A5CA7304

which are also compatible with my mobo.

Now the first link takes you to memory that says SLi Ready, the second even though twice as much, isn't SLi ready.

Both are compatible with my new mobo., and I have decided to purchase the latter, more expensive PC2-8000.

So, what is the difference between SLi ready memory, and not?

What does the EPP for SLi actually do, and do I really need it?

Thanks, and I hope that clears up what I meant.


Cheers, still computerless, Mysticpuma http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

p1ngu666
04-03-2007, 10:53 AM
i dont think there is a difference...

Agamemnon22
04-03-2007, 02:15 PM
Seems to me like that's just a marketing thing. Similar to how some systems are Windows certified... totally meaningless, of course they're run Windows.

The reason the 2nd one is more expensive is because its 1GHz as opposed to 800MHz for the first one.

BSS_AIJO
04-03-2007, 03:39 PM
check out this review

http://www.pcstats.com/artvnl.cfm?articleID=1960

its a cost benifit thing in the end...

If I had to pick I would use the money for better video cards, or perhapse on a CPU upgrade..

If those were already doing really well then I would look towards better memory..

I have a motherboard that this stuff will work on.. Right now I am running cheeper ram, once the CPU and vidoe are maxed out then I might get this stuff for BOB

BSS_AIJO

badatit
04-03-2007, 04:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mysticpuma2003:
Hi guys, well this is my question for you if anyone can help.

I understand that SLi ready memory comes with EPP, and as far as I can tell this is basically for Nvidia chipsets to automatically work out over-clocking on the board (as basic and simple as I can understand it).
It doesn't actually make the memory physically faster, it just makes it easier for the user to get the best from the memory, as I understand it.

Now, taking that into consideration, I am just about to buy this memory: Crucial Ballistix Memory DDR2 PC8000 2GB(2x1GB) for my Asus P5N32-E SLi Motherboard, and it is fully compatible but doesn't have EPP.

So, my question is for a board that, to start with, is not going to be over-clocked, but is being built for futureproof performance, do I really need SLi memory?

Thanks for any advice, yours, a computerless Mysticpuma http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif (at the moment http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


The 8000 should out perform the 6400, no matter if they use SPD or EPP.

Spectre1968
04-03-2007, 04:43 PM
EPP (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhanced_Performance_Profiles)

FYI?

BPO6_PANP
04-03-2007, 07:04 PM
http://www.guru3d.com/article/mainboard/419/3/

Quote from article

SLI Memory
You already have been able to learn about DDR2 EPP (SLI memory) recently as it was covered in our AMD NFORCE 590 SLI review. It's very clever technology for the overclocker who does not dare or know how to configure memory at it's best in an overclocked environment.

DDR2 memory (actually pretty much any memory) uses an SPD (Serial Presence Detect) chip to store its JEDEC certified timings and setup specifications on. Now a massive chunk of that SPD chip is being written as ZERO; meaning it's largely unused space. A couple of brainy guys at NVIDIA figured... hmm, let's talk to some memory allies and see if we can do something with that extra space and utilize it for our new products to offer our buyers more options.

Since most memory is configured at JEDEC specifications the standard timings are not exactly enthusiast presets, most of us know, we can do a heck lot more with memory timings and frequency wise then the rather safe JEDEC SPD settings tell the BIOS to fire off on your memory.

Once you overclock the system bus, your memory clock will run faster in MHz also. A higher FSB usually means that we'll need slower timings and/or different voltages, that kind of information could be stored into the SPD in several profiles.

So basically additional non-JEDEC specified timings related towards a certain clock frequency or related to multipliers/dividers/voltages/drive strengths will be stored on that unused SPD space. This way that memory can be setup in a different way with the click of a button, or even better detected by your nForce 680i mainboard and set automatically.

So in short: you can tweak memory really easy yet this is intended for the folks that have a hard time overclocking themselves. It's a reasonably fool proof method of getting the best out of your DDR2 memory with an NFORCE series 590 or 680 mainboard. Obviously you can manage memory timings and everything related to it manually also. This is just an extra feature.

Look out in the stores for memory with a "SLI Ready" logo and I honestly think this is a great feature !

Mysticpuma2003
04-03-2007, 11:58 PM
Ok, so a great feature for beginners in overclocking.....but not necessary.

That makes me happy with my !Ghz choice of memory http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Cheers, and thanks for all the help, MP.

Xiolablu3
04-04-2007, 07:25 AM
Ihave always believed SLI is a marketing gimmick or only useful to really rich people for a very short time, ever since 3dFX used it years ago.


They released the Voodoo 2 in SLI years ago and claimed it was 'all that'. Sure 2 Voodoo 2's were fast for a while.

Then the Voodoo 3 came out and it was far faster than 2 voodoo 2's in SLI.

I havent checked up on things, but I am worried hte same thing will happen again. People will spend a lot of money to be 'SLI ready' and it will be almost useless, once the next range of cards come out. 2xcards being nowhere near twice as fast.