PDA

View Full Version : Leaving Lorient



dtindc70
05-08-2005, 08:44 PM
I'm currently stationed at Lorient and it's quickly become an annoying port. What I've disliked so far is that it easily takes me fifteen to twenty minutes JUST TO GET TO SEA. Navigating the channel has is more tedious than game play; I'm all for realism, but this part of 'realism' is 'really annoying'. Is there any way to get out of this port easily?

Thanks for any helpful assistance.

dtindc70
05-08-2005, 08:44 PM
I'm currently stationed at Lorient and it's quickly become an annoying port. What I've disliked so far is that it easily takes me fifteen to twenty minutes JUST TO GET TO SEA. Navigating the channel has is more tedious than game play; I'm all for realism, but this part of 'realism' is 'really annoying'. Is there any way to get out of this port easily?

Thanks for any helpful assistance.

ParaB
05-08-2005, 09:01 PM
It takes me less than a minute to get out of Lorient. Simply put your waypoints close to the southern shore and crank up time compression to 1024x.

To enable higher time compression near land go into your 'my documents/SH3/data/cfg' folder (NOT the 'program files/SH3/...' folder!), open the 'main.cfg' file and change the line LandProximity=1 to whatever you like, I use 1024.

Problem solved.

TheFastFreddie
05-09-2005, 12:19 AM
Yeap, just change you Land Proximity value. I go out the gate at 1/3 (8 or 16 TC)and once I pass the first lighthouse its Nav map and 64+ TC from there. Only takes like a minute this way.

jmikkelsen
05-09-2005, 04:29 AM
or do as i did. started my 2nd career with the 7th flotilla, in 1040 tranfered to 2nd (Lorient) got my IXB and got the hell out of there back to the 7th at St. Nazaire. theres a nice harbour for you. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

U-49
05-09-2005, 07:12 AM
I'm beginning to think that I'm the only one who doesn't mind sailing out of the Lorient. Actually, I kinda like it!

Lorient = http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Praetorian_Elite
05-09-2005, 07:44 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ParaB:
It takes me less than a minute to get out of Lorient. Simply put your waypoints close to the southern shore and crank up time compression to 1024x.

To enable higher time compression near land go into your 'my documents/SH3/data/cfg' folder (NOT the 'program files/SH3/...' folder!), open the 'main.cfg' file and change the line LandProximity=1 to whatever you like, I use 1024.

Problem solved. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ah, thanks. I didn't know that so it would take me maybe 10-15 mins to get out of lorient, I wold get out of the port and plot a good course. I would then walk away from the computer for a bit while my sub got out of the port and away from land.

The Avon Lady
05-09-2005, 07:48 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by jmikkelsen:
started my 2nd career with the 7th flotilla, in 1040 </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
http://ew2.lysator.liu.se/pic/art/l/a/lautjarvi/viikinkilaiva_sailing.jpg

JuanCudz
05-09-2005, 08:34 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif
I can imagine it now
"This longboat sim is awful! I want to fire my arrows in a storm, but 8 m/s wtf!!! And there are no civilians to pillage!!"

"Every time I submerge my longboat I drown?!!"

"I've had to install the 'no fatigue' mod to sail to America"

cueceleches
05-09-2005, 08:45 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif Good one!!!!

ParaB
05-09-2005, 11:37 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Nice one!

Praetorian_Elite
05-09-2005, 08:25 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ParaB:
It takes me less than a minute to get out of Lorient. Simply put your waypoints close to the southern shore and crank up time compression to 1024x.

To enable higher time compression near land go into your 'my documents/SH3/data/cfg' folder (NOT the 'program files/SH3/...' folder!), open the 'main.cfg' file and change the line LandProximity=1 to whatever you like, I use 1024.

Problem solved. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did that but now, whenever I get close to land, the game pauses automatically. I can't even make it out of Lorient now. I try to unpause it but it automatically goes back to being paused. Maybe I could make it out, if I could click the unpause button 100's of times per second.

Anyone care to help? Or would the best way be to just set the proximity back to 1?

TheFastFreddie
05-09-2005, 08:59 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Praetorian_Elite:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ParaB:
It takes me less than a minute to get out of Lorient. Simply put your waypoints close to the southern shore and crank up time compression to 1024x.

To enable higher time compression near land go into your 'my documents/SH3/data/cfg' folder (NOT the 'program files/SH3/...' folder!), open the 'main.cfg' file and change the line LandProximity=1 to whatever you like, I use 1024.

Problem solved. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did that but now, whenever I get close to land, the game pauses automatically. I can't even make it out of Lorient now. I try to unpause it but it automatically goes back to being paused. Maybe I could make it out, if I could click the unpause button 100's of times per second.

Anyone care to help? Or would the best way be to just set the proximity back to 1? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You must of did something wrong. Go back and change it back to the original settings and try again.

Praetorian_Elite
05-10-2005, 05:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TheFastFreddie:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Praetorian_Elite:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ParaB:
It takes me less than a minute to get out of Lorient. Simply put your waypoints close to the southern shore and crank up time compression to 1024x.

To enable higher time compression near land go into your 'my documents/SH3/data/cfg' folder (NOT the 'program files/SH3/...' folder!), open the 'main.cfg' file and change the line LandProximity=1 to whatever you like, I use 1024.

Problem solved. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I did that but now, whenever I get close to land, the game pauses automatically. I can't even make it out of Lorient now. I try to unpause it but it automatically goes back to being paused. Maybe I could make it out, if I could click the unpause button 100's of times per second.

Anyone care to help? Or would the best way be to just set the proximity back to 1? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You must of did something wrong. Go back and change it back to the original settings and try again. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oh yes, after reading it over again, I saw that you had to change it higher. I thought it was a value such as 1 for yes and 0 for no. So I set it 0 and that meant the game would pause. Ok, got it now, thanks. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

quillan
05-10-2005, 06:33 PM
Some good news on this front. With patch 1.3, the harbor is shown on the navmap now, so you can use waypoints to go straight out of the harbor. You'll still have to be careful with the waypoints through the narrows leaving, but those were shown already.

GT182
05-10-2005, 06:53 PM
Quillan, it sure makes it easier doesn't it. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif Nice touch with all the ports with 1.3. Now you can see where in the blazes you need to go. Same is true for sneaking into an enemy port.

"Man I love this job." from "Down Periscope" Kelsey Grammer