PDA

View Full Version : Nforce and ATI



Breeze_
12-09-2004, 02:53 AM
S~ all. Was wondering if there are any compatability issues between an nforece chipset and the new ATI cards. I am gonn aget new sys and wanted to ATI, i am gettin the new mobo that is PCI express (16 pipes) and SATA raid, and LSI, 3500 64 bit proc, SB Audigy Z, 200 g western digital HD. Options for cards as u well know are the geforce 6800 ultra or the ATI 800xt 16 pipe 256 bit. Also 2 gig of 400 DC ddr ram. B4 i get an ati i wanted to ask the guru's about compatabilty, researched it and found very little on that aspect of either the mobo or card.

Thnx n advance for your help.

Breeze

JaBo_HH-BlackSheep
12-09-2004, 03:03 AM
i am running an Abit NF-7 (nForce 2Ultra) with an ATI 9800, no compatability probs.

Capt.LoneRanger
12-09-2004, 03:42 AM
No, there are no compatability issues with nForce chipset and ATI, since they support the same interface.
You should be aware, though, that nForce is not the fastest choice if you go for a 64bit AMD and I'd also hesitate to buy a PCI-E board with the fitting high-end card.
You should at least be aware, that the bandwith of PCI can only be used for gfx-cards with 1gig of onboard memory and higher, extremely fast RAM and CPU and for running programs at 1600x1200x32bit with 16x Antialising and 16x Anisotrophic filtering.

Just to add something to your consideration:
Up to 1600x1200x32 @ 8xFSAA & 8xAA the amount of data exchanged reaches the maximum capazity of the AGPx8 port. JFYI
6800 and x800 are built for AGP and later fitted with PCI-E interfaces. Another hint about the allmighty PCI-E advantage http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

Nubarus
12-09-2004, 04:00 AM
Capt.LoneRanger, Ati cards don't have 8xFSAA, they max at 6xFSAA.

KGr.HH-Sunburst
12-09-2004, 07:08 AM
running a Gigabyte Ga-N400pro Nforce 2 Mobo with an ATI 9800pro ,no problems http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Capt.LoneRanger
12-09-2004, 09:33 AM
Nubarus, that's exactly my point.

There is no card on the market running with 16xAA and 16xFSAA and 1Gig of onboard memory. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif