PDA

View Full Version : Adaptive antialiasing



tjaika1910
11-09-2005, 01:32 PM
I think it was mentioned here on the forum a month ago or so, one could enable adaptive AA on older ATI cards.

The search is down, so here is my question(s):

Is there a possibility to enable this feature on Cat 5.10 on a x850? The hack was on 5,9. Will this come offisially in 5.11? Is there a lot of alpha blending in Il2 and thus, will this give a even nicer Il2?

It could be used on ATI card all the way back to 9500! But I think x800 and up was recommended.

What is the experience for you that have enabled this?

tjaika1910
11-09-2005, 01:32 PM
I think it was mentioned here on the forum a month ago or so, one could enable adaptive AA on older ATI cards.

The search is down, so here is my question(s):

Is there a possibility to enable this feature on Cat 5.10 on a x850? The hack was on 5,9. Will this come offisially in 5.11? Is there a lot of alpha blending in Il2 and thus, will this give a even nicer Il2?

It could be used on ATI card all the way back to 9500! But I think x800 and up was recommended.

What is the experience for you that have enabled this?

SunSpot85
11-09-2005, 01:48 PM
It's for DirectX only. This game is designed for OpenGL and runs much better in it.

However, if you want to sacrifice visual quality and performance to run the game in DirectX, adaptive anti-aliasing will work. How well, I can't say.

tjaika1910
11-09-2005, 01:51 PM
Ok thanks. Then it is no rush.

p1ngu666
11-09-2005, 01:56 PM
its in the omega drivers btw, my dad has a 9800 and that has the adaptive aa http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

LT.INSTG8R
11-09-2005, 02:32 PM
I unlocked it using ATI Tray tools also unlocked the High Quality AF the perfomance hit is minimal as far as FPS in games but I don't really see any gains in IQ

LT.INSTG8R
11-09-2005, 07:07 PM
Oh and BTW the ATI 5.11s will have a new OGL driver so we may see some improvements soon.Im using the 5.10a's and Im happy with them tho they are still plagued with the text bug Im afraid..

tjaika1910
11-10-2005, 12:22 AM
Looking forward to 5,11 and OpenGL performance, but I guess it will mostly concern X1xxx anyway? (memory controller etc)

I will try the adaptive AA for the occasional event I'll play something else than this game :-)

WOLFMondo
11-10-2005, 02:16 AM
AFAIK Adapative AA makes a difference to both OGL and DX games. The difference in Hl2 is the most noticable whereas CoD2 its hard to tell.

x6BL_Brando
11-10-2005, 04:38 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Im using the 5.10a's and Im happy with them tho they are still plagued with the text bug Im afraid.. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, it's the proverbial lady-dog ain't it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif The worst part for me is the partial fix - setting up missions which avoid having certain types of artillery in range of enemy ground targets. I like building missions, but the bug tends to make it more pains-taking than is necessary.

LT.INSTG8R
11-10-2005, 05:29 AM
Yeah Brando I truly thought it had been fixed then Coastie mentioned it in HL, I thought "hmm I havent seen that in ages" then I started the Dubbo's Castaway's Campaign and there it was first mission.....