PDA

View Full Version : Nice water effect!, how?



Freakie1
02-17-2005, 02:52 PM
I have a Geforce 6800 (driver Version: 66.93) and all my landscape and etc setting are set on high. I also edited the conf.ini and there I set 'water=2' (without the '' )

The result of that is;
http://img2.uploadimages.net/145956grab0000.jpg

But what I want is;
[img]http://img2.uploadimages.net/727091veroorzaker.JPG

Anyone any idea on how to get the water so nice?

Freakie1
02-17-2005, 02:52 PM
I have a Geforce 6800 (driver Version: 66.93) and all my landscape and etc setting are set on high. I also edited the conf.ini and there I set 'water=2' (without the '' )

The result of that is;
http://img2.uploadimages.net/145956grab0000.jpg

But what I want is;
[img]http://img2.uploadimages.net/727091veroorzaker.JPG

Anyone any idea on how to get the water so nice?

Covino
02-17-2005, 03:01 PM
Your in-game settings must be on "perfect." And this option only appears if you're running in 32-bit mode with the stencil buffer on (in IL-2 Setup utility). Try water=3 if it still doesn't work.

Qbeesh800
02-17-2005, 03:02 PM
You've got GF 6800? Lucky sonofa*****.http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
I'm from Poland, that means i'll be able to buy it maybe within 10 years. Too expensive for pocket of poor, polish student.
Tally Ho!

ps. Lucky, big lucky sonofa...http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

indylavi
02-17-2005, 03:09 PM
Also run the game in Open GL and NOT DirectX http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Freakie1
02-17-2005, 04:21 PM
Oke thx everybody needed to set water=3 to make it work but atleast it works.

But I still have 2 questions;
-If I start the game with OpenGL and I get to the main menu after the start up I cannot move the mouse until I have alt-tabed out of the game and back again then I can move the mouse like normal. When I start the game with DirextX I do not have that problem any suggestions?

-In the conf.ini there is;
[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

if I change it to dx9wrap.dll will I get some nice dx9 effects or doesn't it do anything or makes the game crash?

Acidcrash_112th
02-17-2005, 04:31 PM
it will complain as there is no such file as dx9wrap.dll in your folder

KG26_Alpha
02-17-2005, 05:43 PM
Sometimes Vsync switched off causes a mouse problem in IL2
Switch Vsync on see if it helps.

VMF-214_HaVoK
02-17-2005, 05:56 PM
You will also need to know that you can only obtain "perfect mode" in OpenGL not DirectX.

JG27_Gundog
02-17-2005, 07:02 PM
I have the 6800gt card. I like running my water on 1 with perfect settings. Don't forget, if you have your water on 3 with perfect settings, you will have turned on white caps. They are pretty but I don't really like them as much overall as setting #1.

AFSG_Jedi
02-17-2005, 07:44 PM
I just had to point out the obvious... if you haven't noticed allready. Even with a 6800 your frame rates take a serious hit when the water is set to 3 in the config.(essentially cut in half) I'm curious if anyone has a dual 6800 PCI-X out there that could tell us what their frame rates are on average.

I'm normally in the 30s to 40s FPS @ 1600x1200 with everything maxed. When I put water to 3 it would be around 15 FPS & drop to single digits when near a large city by the water.

SeminoleX
02-17-2005, 07:58 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JG27_Gundog:
I have the 6800gt card. I like running my water on 1 with perfect settings. Don't forget, if you have your water on 3 with perfect settings, you will have turned on white caps. They are pretty but I don't really like them as much overall as setting #1. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I came to that conclusion too. The Perfect/Water 3 setting is fantastic but it looks out of place in game to me.

Water 1 with perfect landscape gives me the most pleasing combination.

Slammin_
02-17-2005, 08:17 PM
Water=3 looks too ****ed awesome to me, but alas, even with toned down/tweaked settings, I still cannot maintain the online fps I need with water=3.

Water=3=wash IMHO for now. Looks great! No water has ever looked as good in a sim, I think, but the framerate hit is too much. I do not think this is a Pixel Shader issue btw. So Nvidia/Ati arguements are null for this issue, as far as I can see.

This is a code optimization issue. Either the developer can optimize the code to our current hardware, or we can wait until our hardward can run the currnt code at 60+ fps, just like with Falcon4.

sucka28
02-18-2005, 08:25 AM
Can someone recommend the best settings for

p4 3.0
Ati 9800Pro 128mb
1 gig ram

indylavi
02-18-2005, 08:49 AM
Sucka I usually use perfect with water 2. That's the highest a 9800pro can go. However, water 1 looks very good as well. Besides you don't spend most of your time looking at the water so most lower it to 1 just to save the frames. If your going to be doing a lot of heavy action or go online, I'd stick with water 1. It looks great and provides nice frames

foxfire1941
02-18-2005, 10:28 AM
If your mouse doesn't work right in Open Gl then you have the wrong video drivers, just use the ones that came with youre video card. The problem is related to Open Gl drivers.


Horrido!

EmbarkChief
02-18-2005, 11:25 AM
Make sure in the Conf.ini file you find this "hardwareshaders=1" under the OpenGL section. If its set to zero you will get the water in your first pic.

Krt_Bong
02-18-2005, 12:51 PM
Look up coolbits2 on google it's a registry file that opens a utility previously hidden in your nvidia card for overclocking. Then go to your card and open the tab that says, oddly enough, Overclocking, and set it for manual overclocking and start with "detect optimal settings" you should see things run better on graphics almost immediately. I have a Fx5700le 128mb card and before using it I was getting low frames and had to run on medium settings on graphics now I can get perfect and 45fps avg, check it out