PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy of Planes?

BobbyBrinks
05-06-2008, 12:05 AM
My question this time has to do with planes and there capability as firing platforms. Playing online is a blast, and I love to fly both il2 and World War 2 online. However, in both games pilots regularly make kills at ranges that seem to be extreme. For this post i think it is just best to stick to il2 because thats the forum we are in and the game we ALL are familar with.

I am by no means an expert ariel marksman, but I do find myself a pretty confident shot. Though I set my convergence for about 225, I find that i am very comfortable shooting at ranges that border DOUBLE this distance. It is also my experience that within 500 meters or so, other players are very capable of hitting my plane. Difficult? certainly, but not rare. I dont mean spamming away blindly either, I have been on the recieving end of some excellent short burts that quite simply hit "dead on". My experience is that this not only applies with centerlined gun packages but also with planes that have wing mounted guns. In general, If people can get their nose up enough they can reach out and touch me. I understand that with this one problem is it rest on my perception, but i'm willing to bet others on here have noticed or experienced similar things.