PDA

View Full Version : Will the circle used for the target area be increased in size?



Zeus-cat
04-09-2004, 04:12 PM
Will the circle used for the target area be increased in size? I am trying to create some torpedo bomber missions and unless I specifically select a ship from a group, I am very limited in my approach to setting ships as targets.

For instance, I have a mission where 6 freighters are the targets for my squadron. The only way to make this work is to have the 6 target ships wait in timeout at the start of the mission and only start to move when my squadron approaches them. Then we must sink them before they move out of the target circle or we fail.

The target circle is also a dead giveaway on the briefing map. Ohh, I guess we don't need to search for the target after all, it will be 30km south of the harbor.

Zeus-cat

Zeus-cat
04-09-2004, 04:12 PM
Will the circle used for the target area be increased in size? I am trying to create some torpedo bomber missions and unless I specifically select a ship from a group, I am very limited in my approach to setting ships as targets.

For instance, I have a mission where 6 freighters are the targets for my squadron. The only way to make this work is to have the 6 target ships wait in timeout at the start of the mission and only start to move when my squadron approaches them. Then we must sink them before they move out of the target circle or we fail.

The target circle is also a dead giveaway on the briefing map. Ohh, I guess we don't need to search for the target after all, it will be 30km south of the harbor.

Zeus-cat

Tully__
04-10-2004, 05:50 AM
This may prove problematic from a programming point of view. Without actually seeing the code, the only way I can see around it is to have ship convoys available in the mission builder in the same way that vehicle convoys are currently available. Without that, mission builders will be limited to single ship targets if they want the targets to be hidden during the brief.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Tully__
04-10-2004, 05:53 AM
On further thought, there is a trick with FMB.

If no primary targets are set, secondary targets determine mission succes. If no secondary or priamary targets are set, hidden targets determine mission succes. Hidden targets do not appear on the briefing map. You could do it the way you have been, but set the target to "Hidden" in the properties tab instead of primary.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)

Salut
Tully

Zeus-cat
04-10-2004, 07:08 AM
Thanks for the tip on Primary, secondary and hidden targets Tully. For some reason I thought only the primary objectives determined mission success. This will help me a lot.

Ship convoys already set up like vehicle convoys would be very nice too. It is a real pain creating convoys with ships. I hope they can incorporate this into PF.

I just had an idea that would be even better for convoys. Would it be possible to select ships for each position in the defined convoy? Sort of like we do know with flights of planes where you can select pilot skill in a flight. Instead of selecting skill level we could could select ship type for each ship in the convoy. With up to 10 or 12 ships in a convoy you could build almost infinite numbers of convoys very quickly. I hope this is possible.

Thanks again.

Zeus-cat