PDA

View Full Version : win xp 64bit os



Texas8
10-02-2005, 02:03 PM
can someone tell me if PF is supported by the win xp 64bit os?

Texas8
10-02-2005, 02:03 PM
can someone tell me if PF is supported by the win xp 64bit os?

Bartolomeo_ita
10-02-2005, 02:41 PM
dunno, maybe and hope yes :|

Steven190
10-02-2005, 03:15 PM
Yes IL2FB+AEP+PF runs on XP 64

What you have to watch is some devices will not run under XP64.
Track IR just started to work, some Joystick are default settings only, along with the n50 - 52's are default only.

There was a test against the 32 XP and the XP64. All game are about 2 to 3% slower under 64.


The operating system ran great for the MS stuff.
A lot of printer will not work under 64. The after market is very slow in doing driver for this system

AFJ_rsm
10-02-2005, 07:15 PM
i've actually read the opposite
on games that DO work on xp 64, they've had a bit more fps due to better graphics drivers

it'd be interesting to see if someone here could compare pf both on 32 and 64 bit under the same PC

VW-IceFire
10-02-2005, 07:51 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AFJ_rsm:
i've actually read the opposite
on games that DO work on xp 64, they've had a bit more fps due to better graphics drivers

it'd be interesting to see if someone here could compare pf both on 32 and 64 bit under the same PC </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Thats gotta make some sense...if the overhead is less on the 64bit stuff because of the efficiencies of the higher bit level then there has got to be some small improvement in performance.

Still, I would assume that the game is making calls in 32bit and then the drivers are in 64bit so you don't get much...but you do get a bit.

Texas8
10-02-2005, 08:46 PM
I wonder if the TM Hotas cougar has been compatable.... <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Steven190:
Yes IL2FB+AEP+PF runs on XP 64

What you have to watch is some devices will not run under XP64.
Track IR just started to work, some Joystick are default settings only, along with the n50 - 52's are default only.

There was a test against the 32 XP and the XP64. All game are about 2 to 3% slower under 64.


The operating system ran great for the MS stuff.
A lot of printer will not work under 64. The after market is very slow in doing driver for this system </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Texas8
10-02-2005, 08:52 PM
I suppose its too early to set my system with winxp 64bit....guess Ill wait till the bugs 'r out
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by VW-IceFire:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AFJ_rsm:
i've actually read the opposite
on games that DO work on xp 64, they've had a bit more fps due to better graphics drivers

it'd be interesting to see if someone here could compare pf both on 32 and 64 bit under the same PC </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Thats gotta make some sense...if the overhead is less on the 64bit stuff because of the efficiencies of the higher bit level then there has got to be some small improvement in performance.

Still, I would assume that the game is making calls in 32bit and then the drivers are in 64bit so you don't get much...but you do get a bit. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

WOLFMondo
10-03-2005, 01:03 AM
I got it working in XP64 but my CH USB equipment sadly does not.

Steven190
10-03-2005, 06:29 AM
Here is the article I was refering to.

http://www.simhq.com/_technology/technology_043a.html

AFJ-rsm

"i've actually read the opposite
on games that DO work on xp 64, they've had a bit more fps due to better graphics drivers

it'd be interesting to see if someone here could compare pf both on 32 and 64 bit under the same PC"

hframpto
10-03-2005, 09:54 AM
I duel boot with Windows XP Pro and Windows XP Pro Edition 64 bit. I use a microsoft FFB 2 joystick, Saitek X52 throttle, TrackIR 3 pro and they work fine with the 64 bit. I have found that 64bit OS is 2 fps "slower".

AMD 64 4000+
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
EGVA 7800GTX
1G Corsair 3200

Steven190
10-03-2005, 02:24 PM
hframpto

Did the control panel work for your MS FFB2?

My joysticked worked but I had no control panel to change the button assignments. Did your work?

AFJ_rsm
10-03-2005, 03:38 PM
hmmm i guess you're right

guess i was lied to (it was a crappy computer magazine from spain so oh well)

TheGozr
10-03-2005, 06:03 PM
What will happen to XP64 when Vista will come out next year? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

hframpto
10-03-2005, 06:57 PM
Steven190 - No the MSFFB profiler does not work in 64bit. I use the ingame control to assign keys for my FFB and Saitek stick in the 32 & 64bit OS. I leave the #3 & #4 buttons open, so I can assign the TrackIR return and pause buttons. I do not use any settings in the INPUT section for game. Stick is firm but that is the way I like it.

Texas8
10-03-2005, 08:17 PM
I appreciate the responce and replies.
Looks like this topic may sper continued discussions.
Thank You
Texas8