PDA

View Full Version : A couple of Q's.



Dazzo1987
05-21-2005, 09:04 AM
Hi im new on the forums, joust bought the game a couple of days ago, at first found it hard (dont reall play sims) but now im getting abit better. But have a few questions (newb Q's i know)
1)On the career mode is my general mission to get to a gridsqaure and then i can start sinkimg ships or can i start before, or do i even need to go to the square (its like top of the UK, miles away)
2) I hit a ship with a torpedo right at the front and a fire started, but it didt sink, does it just take ages, or should i just hit it with another torpedo? (was a oil tank i think)

Cant think of any more right now....any help would be appreciated.

Dazzo1987
05-21-2005, 09:04 AM
Hi im new on the forums, joust bought the game a couple of days ago, at first found it hard (dont reall play sims) but now im getting abit better. But have a few questions (newb Q's i know)
1)On the career mode is my general mission to get to a gridsqaure and then i can start sinkimg ships or can i start before, or do i even need to go to the square (its like top of the UK, miles away)
2) I hit a ship with a torpedo right at the front and a fire started, but it didt sink, does it just take ages, or should i just hit it with another torpedo? (was a oil tank i think)

Cant think of any more right now....any help would be appreciated.

fizilbert
05-21-2005, 09:15 AM
1)If you come across ship while on the way to your grid, you can sink them (just watch out for friendly or neutral ships). Just be careful about using up all your torps before you reach your grid. Technically you dont need to get to your grid, but you wont receive as much renown for your patrol if you dont complete your orders.

2)I find it a good rule of thumb to shoot 2 torps at any ship, no matter how small, even though I know one torp will usually sink a ship. If you hit with 1 torp, that does not guarantee a ship will sink, especially on larger ships which are able to do damage control better. Tankers can be tough. If you hit her in the bow with 1 torp, chances are she wont sink. You can sit and watch her for a bit, if it doesn't look like she's going down, put another fish in her. Some people here on the forum have reported that it can take hours and hours for a ship to sink due to her wounds. I tend to be impatient, I like to get my kill and escape before anyone comes to investigate. If they dont sink or show some serious signs that they will sink soon, I usually put another torp into their side. But it just depends on what you want to do.

Good hunting.

Caseck73
05-21-2005, 10:18 AM
I had an interesting engagement. I ran into an unescorted convoy in 1940, but I was on my way home with no torps left. What deck gun ammo I had, sank 2 of them, but then with nothing but my flak, I zoomed around the convoy, shooting them all up with 20mm. I left the convoy with 7 ships burning, but I didn't expect any of them to sink.

When I returned home, after a week or so, I found three of them had sunk! So sometimes they DO die of fires. Sometimes they don't!

Jose.MaC
05-21-2005, 10:26 AM
Amazing! Wich kind of ships died due to your AA gun? Big ones or small ones?

eodseal2000
05-21-2005, 11:28 AM
(1)I sink any enemy ship I see on the way to the grid. Going to the grid and patrolling for 24hrs gets you more renown.

(2)Add the Merchant Volunerability mod to the game! This mod shows ships volunerable areas (engine, fuel, ammo bunker)using this info, send a torp 1 meter under the keel..kablooy!http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

Dazzo1987
05-21-2005, 02:07 PM
Another question, when i go on the navigation map to plot my course (as i guess its better than maually controling the sub when going to a grid reference)i draw the line, but then how do i get the sub to go on the line....as nothing happens when i draw it....i tohught id try and press enter as that my do sometihng...it lauched a torpedo doh!

Or is it better doing it manually... cos how long wopuld it take realtime to get from brest to square AM? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif

fizilbert
05-21-2005, 02:18 PM
You have to have the plot tool selected. Left click to place a serious of waypoints. Once you have all your way points set, Right click to exit the plot tool and your boat will start going/turning to the plotted course.

Goosen83
05-21-2005, 03:22 PM
You can also select the navigator and ask him to follow plotted course.