PDA

View Full Version : How much RAM for iL-2?



foxyboy1964
07-19-2006, 05:02 AM
Hi...I recently upgraded to

Athlon 64 3500+
ATI X850Pro
1 Gb RAM

but I still get some stutters. Has Oleg or anyone from the development team ever commented on how much RAM is needed to run the patched versions of PF merged without stutters? Can anyone link me to such a post? Maybe Oleg himself can answer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif? Thank's

foxyboy1964
07-19-2006, 05:02 AM
Hi...I recently upgraded to

Athlon 64 3500+
ATI X850Pro
1 Gb RAM

but I still get some stutters. Has Oleg or anyone from the development team ever commented on how much RAM is needed to run the patched versions of PF merged without stutters? Can anyone link me to such a post? Maybe Oleg himself can answer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif? Thank's

F6_Ace
07-19-2006, 06:15 AM
It's common knowledge now that the recently introduced de-sync'd .50 cal mgs are causing lag and stutters especially in online servers. Avoid them and you should be alright.

Alternatively, about 8GB should suffice.

JG52Uther
07-19-2006, 06:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by F6_Ace:
It's common knowledge now that the recently introduced de-sync'd .50 cal mgs are causing lag and stutters especially in online servers. Avoid them and you should be alright.

</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
EH? Must have missed that one! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Bearcat99
07-19-2006, 08:06 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by foxyboy1964:
Hi...I recently upgraded to

Athlon 64 3500+
ATI X850Pro
1 Gb RAM

but I still get some stutters. Has Oleg or anyone from the development team ever commented on how much RAM is needed to run the patched versions of PF merged without stutters? Can anyone link me to such a post? Maybe Oleg himself can answer http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif? Thank's </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

!G is adequate.. I have 2... however your stutters may not be RAM related... Check this out (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=search&reqWords=stutters&use_forum_scope=on&forum_scope=23110283).

foxyboy1964
07-19-2006, 08:41 AM
Wow!! Theres 37 pages there Bearcat http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif...I did find a link to a post by Hunter82 that suggested installing MoBo drivers AFTER Dx9. I have always installed MoBo drivers before Dx9 so I'll try his suggestion right now and see what happens. By the way, did you find any improvement by going to 2 gig?

TgD Thunderbolt56
07-24-2006, 08:42 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by foxyboy1964:
...By the way, did you find any improvement by going to 2 gig? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


I did. Load times are a bit faster and lag/stutter down low over busy areas is noticably less.


TB

vocatx
07-24-2006, 01:36 PM
I'm running an Athlon 3500+ and X800 PCIe. I noticed less stutters and a faster loading time when I up-graded to 2 x 1 gig sticks of ram. It IS worth the expense, in my opinion.

foxyboy1964
07-24-2006, 02:31 PM
Thanks for the replies guys, I think I probably will get another gig. RAM's pretty cheap now anyway.

MOH_Hirth
07-24-2006, 08:42 PM
I play in perfect mode, very smooth,
spend with processor and sugest gf7900gt(Sheap)

amd64 4000
GF7800GT
dual channel 2x512 corsair XMS

waffen-79
07-26-2006, 01:20 PM
Quoting Hunter82
make sure to have DX 9.0C installed, if you are installing DX 9.0C make sure to reinstall your motherboard drivers after. It is always best to uninstall vido carddrivers prior to a DX upgrade then install mobo drivers then install video drivers...this should resolve a AGP acceleration unavailable issue.
================================================== ==============

Guys does that still applies?

I recently "upgraded"http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif to a: P4 3.0Ghz HT 1Gb Ram

from a: P4 1.6Ghz 640Mb Ram

BUT I still have an old FX5200 256MB

The procedure was this, got my system up and running, installed windows XP pro, INTALLED MB drivers (4in1, AGP, NIC, etc), installed DX9.0C, installed work apps & games http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

Should I do the stated above?
And what does he mean by "acceleration unavailable issue"?

ALSO...I'm using and integrated AC97 sound card, helps to deaccelerate 1 nobe in dxdiag?

regards

shahram177
07-26-2006, 01:29 PM
screw stutter i just want to listen to winamp while flying!
whats up with that!
run winamp and IL2 and its like 1985!
any one know how to fix that?

WOLFMondo
07-30-2006, 03:33 AM
Reduce your sound settings in IL2.

Is your sound onboard the motherboard? If so, a dedicated soundcard will help allot.