PDA

View Full Version : multiplayer

mrsdoyle
11-22-2004, 12:22 PM
can someone help a complete newb without getting too geeky please? i'm not sure if i'm supposed to figure it out myself, i can't find any 'how to' files in the game, so here goes.
how do i host il2 or fb games against other players. i've gone into the multiplayer bit and got the game running, so what do i do next?
how does a mate join me? and what are the program add-ons i've seen listed which are ''server versions''? do i need them? or are they for a dedicated server machine? and if i need a dedicated server, do i join the game from another pc or play on the server? there are lots more questions, but if i can learn the basic options, once i get going i can come back for more details. be gentle with me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Tully__
11-23-2004, 02:32 AM
A couple of quick questions to help us shorten the explanation:

1. Do you plan to host for specific people, like a group of friends, or are you interested in an "all comers welcome" setup?

2. Do you have a firewall running and are you connected to the internet through a router?

mrsdoyle
11-23-2004, 06:11 AM
at first i intend to only host for specific people. 2 or 3 at most. yes i connect through a router/firewall, linksys WAG54G. the firewall is the one in the router, i don't run any software firewall.

Tully__
11-24-2004, 01:35 AM
First, as host you'll need to forward port 21000 on your router. Refer to it's documentation for instructions.

Second, you'll need to be able to identify your external IP address. This is the one that your ISP assigns to your router for the rest of the world to see, not the IP of your own computer and not the one that the router shows to your LAN. Many routers allow you to find out the external IP from the router control panel. Again, refer to your documentation.