PDA

View Full Version : Learning



rvickers
07-14-2006, 01:31 PM
OK, newbie question. I have Forgotton Battles, I go through the first tutorial which uses the Il2 but I can't seem to find how to practice with the Il2. Can someone point me in the right direction, other than the way I came from http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif Also if anyone uses the Saitek ST290 Pro, how do you have the buttons setup?
Thanks...

rvickers
07-14-2006, 01:31 PM
OK, newbie question. I have Forgotton Battles, I go through the first tutorial which uses the Il2 but I can't seem to find how to practice with the Il2. Can someone point me in the right direction, other than the way I came from http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif Also if anyone uses the Saitek ST290 Pro, how do you have the buttons setup?
Thanks...

triad773
07-14-2006, 01:46 PM
Setting up the joystick go to Controls>Input>HOTAS which will bring up a LONG list of things to select. Some are default, others (specifically under HOTAS,) click to the left of the label and press the desired button.

Practicing: as I have read other places and done so myself, set up some missions in the QMB (Quick Mission Builder) and go at some other side planes. Start out with setting them to "Empty" loadouts and progress from there.

That hopefully will get you started but expect lots of other advice as well. One thing I have learnt about this sim community is there is always someone willing to try and help http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Cheers

and Welcome

Dew-Claw
07-14-2006, 01:46 PM
On the joystick question


Throttle, throttle

trigger, weapon 1

button 2, weapon 2

buttons 3 and 4 bombs and rockets respectfully.

buttons 5 and 6, rudder trim right and left

thumb rocker, left and right and all points along the axis - assigned views

thumb rocker forward and back zoom view in and out.

I use a mouse track ball for all tracking views, with elevator trim on the wheel.


Never flew the tutorials, but there has to be one with the IL2 in there somewhere.