PDA

View Full Version : Those Italian warbirds

Freiwillige
11-30-2009, 03:26 AM
Have been reading up on and flying the Italian fighters allot lately. One thing I noticed is the Macchi series of fighters 200\202\205 all have a viscous high speed stall. Reading Italian comparisons they felt their Macchi's were superior to the comparable 109's. Yet in Sim it seems the 109's fly rings around the Macchi's.

Since I am no expert I am asking you what are your opinions on the Macchi's?

Freiwillige
11-30-2009, 03:26 AM
Have been reading up on and flying the Italian fighters allot lately. One thing I noticed is the Macchi series of fighters 200\202\205 all have a viscous high speed stall. Reading Italian comparisons they felt their Macchi's were superior to the comparable 109's. Yet in Sim it seems the 109's fly rings around the Macchi's.

Since I am no expert I am asking you what are your opinions on the Macchi's?

M_Gunz
11-30-2009, 03:38 AM
What is a "viscous high speed stall"? Something to do with the air of airfoil?

x6BL_Brando
11-30-2009, 06:58 AM
Viscous = sticky : Vicious = wicked, or violent

I think Freiwillige intended to convey the second word, a simple typo.

B

BillSwagger
11-30-2009, 06:59 AM
Macchis are decent and fun to fly but they lack the firepower to be of any use in game.

I know of no high speed stall, but it does do better than the 109 in the vertical. Its more noticeable against spitfires. I wouldn't use the plane as a turn fighter, although i've found it easy to hold position on Spitfires in tighter turn fights, but if the Spit had position i would not resort to tight turns, i would try to keep the fight faster.

I am unfamiliar with the historical performance of these planes, however i have looked into the Re-2000 which lead to the Re-2001. This plane bares a close resemblance to the Macchi so I wonder if they were not more maneuverable than how they are currently portrayed in the sim.