PDA

View Full Version : di(e)ving in PF

JohnnyRook
11-11-2004, 08:14 AM
I have read alot about RL pacific aircombat and the no 1 trick USpilots used against Japanese planes (when in trouble) was diving. Zeke and Oscar handled very bad when flying fast. I have tried this against IA many times and my impression is that a. Japanese planes DO dive (RL japanese avoided diving like hell) b. when diving the AI does'nt seem to suffer very much controlproblems and can manoevre like US-planes when in dive/flying fast.

I'm not an experts so I was curious about other peoples observations and analyses.

thanx,

Johnny Rook

Nige_Reconman
11-11-2004, 08:31 AM
Historically the allied aircraft were heavier and performed far better in dives. In Saburo's book Samurai, he mentions that the japanese do dive from time to time to fight but often allied asircraft could outrun them. He mention airacobras diving a whole heap, and how sluggish his own controls get under speed.

Now in PF i get AI who dive with me an
d AI who won't and i'm, assuming here, sure it's related to AI level - rookie, veteran, ace etcetera.

JohnnyRook
11-11-2004, 08:41 AM
Thanx reconman,

AI is always veteran or ace.
When AI do dive, do you have the impression they have trouble with their controls?
I once saw that a Oscar got in a spin, but in other cases they seemed to have no troubles with the high speed.

Nige_Reconman
11-11-2004, 08:49 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JohnnyRook:
Thanx reconman,

AI is always veteran or ace.
When AI do dive, do you have the impression they have trouble with their controls?
I once saw that a Oscar got in a spin, but in other cases they seemed to have no troubles with the high speed. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>