PDA

View Full Version : Pacific Fighters - Take-off

cabat10
05-03-2006, 09:06 PM
Hi all. A newbie struggling with carrier take-offs... I follow the steps as outlined in the training vid but my plane almost always goes nose down into the deck before i reach the deck end. This has happened with both USN and RAN aircraft. Any suggestions?

cabat10
05-03-2006, 09:06 PM
Hi all. A newbie struggling with carrier take-offs... I follow the steps as outlined in the training vid but my plane almost always goes nose down into the deck before i reach the deck end. This has happened with both USN and RAN aircraft. Any suggestions?

VW-IceFire
05-03-2006, 09:09 PM
Sounds like either your holding the brakes or your pushing the stick forward. Let the nose come up on its own but use your rudder to keep you as straight as possible.

WTE_Galway
05-03-2006, 09:10 PM
i am no expert preferring the eastern front planes but i just run up full throttle under brakes while holding stick fully back, use rudder to pint her straight and then release brakes and gradually ease stick forward over a few seconds to let the tail gradually lift

maybe practice with 25% fuel and no ammo until you get the hang of it

Dew-Claw
05-03-2006, 09:11 PM
Add some trim too, not to much but trim to pull the nose up harder then normal.
that'll help.

Freelancer-1
05-03-2006, 09:17 PM
This may be seem obvious but bears mentioning. When learning, it's a lot easier to get off the deck with only 25% fuel and no ammo. As you get the hang of it start adding weight to the plane.

EDIT: Uh, maybe I should read the previous posts before sticking my foot in it.

BTW, Galway, I'm likin' the eastern front too. You red or blue. Maybe hook up on one of our Fri/Sat coops sometime. All eastern front!

Good luck with the take offs, cabat

FunGus1968
05-04-2006, 02:38 PM