PDA

View Full Version : IL2FB/ACE-PACK/PF transfer to new pc



Air-Force-1
12-24-2004, 11:57 AM
Folks

I am having problems transferring IL2FB/ACE-PACK/PF to new pc,(ITS ALL UPDATED WITH LATEST PATCHES!!)
Can I just copy the folder and transfer it to the new pc?
I have tried this but it doesnt work !!
Is this something to do with the registry files , as it is a new pc/hard drive etc.

I cant http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif find my ACE PACK CD thats why I cant just install again on new pc.

Is there a way I can transfer the game folder to my new pc? This would save me a lot of time downloading patches etc.

many thanks and a MERRY XMAS

S~ http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif

Air-Force-1
12-24-2004, 11:57 AM
Folks

I am having problems transferring IL2FB/ACE-PACK/PF to new pc,(ITS ALL UPDATED WITH LATEST PATCHES!!)
Can I just copy the folder and transfer it to the new pc?
I have tried this but it doesnt work !!
Is this something to do with the registry files , as it is a new pc/hard drive etc.

I cant http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif find my ACE PACK CD thats why I cant just install again on new pc.

Is there a way I can transfer the game folder to my new pc? This would save me a lot of time downloading patches etc.

many thanks and a MERRY XMAS

S~ http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif

Cajun76
12-24-2004, 12:05 PM
Hmmm, I've copied my game folder before to another drive and I was able to run it. Do both PC's have the same OS and file system? (Fat 32, NTFS)

Since it's a new PC, your Vid card might differ. Run IL2 Setup from the game folder and make sure it's in the correct mode.

That's all I can think of at the moment, post in Community help for expert advice. Hope this helps, good luck and

Air-Force-1
12-24-2004, 12:14 PM
Thanks sir

yes XP PRO NTFS files

One problem I did have was that the files in the folder have rather long names 36+ letters, and joliet extension files are smaller than this , so this could be the problem

I COPIED THE FOLDER ON A DVD , 2.56 GIG, is this the best method ??

thanks again

Cajun76
12-24-2004, 12:26 PM
Some burning programs change long filenames. Make sure that this option is Off. Otherwise, shouldn't be a problem moving the game with a DVD. Other ways include direct LAN and external hard drive, if availible.

Weather_Man
12-24-2004, 12:59 PM
I think you're going to need to run the install routine to get the registry entries and setup configured for the new hardware.

Once the game is properly installed, the folder/files can be overwritten by the old one that includes the patches.

Bearcat99
12-24-2004, 08:54 PM
Why transfer it? Just Install it fresh and install the 3 patches....

MaxMhz
12-24-2004, 09:20 PM
I was a bit pi$$ed and apologize for that - lol
http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=98;t=013649

So - copy the whole dir from the old drive over to the new system (just hang that old drive in)
then install UBI/ASE/Hyper again
it should work...
Otherwise export the registry from the old system too and import into new (a branch - as discussed can be done lol)... It's techy I know...

so just re-install hehe

Cajun76
12-25-2004, 05:31 AM
Guys, read his post, he's missing his Ace's disk. I'm trying to find a workaround for him. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Taylortony
12-25-2004, 06:35 AM
If you instal the basic fb onto your new drive using the cd you still have then copy the contents of the old game on the other drive over and paste them into the new fb game folder it should update it all to the version you where running on your old drive, just remember to let it replace everything it wants, that way you will have a path to the game from the operating system on your new drive from the fb install, does that make sense?