PDA

View Full Version : Terrible pilot seeks wingman to train with (sounds like a bad singles ad :-p )

SithSpeeder
08-22-2006, 10:22 AM
I am an avid student of fighter tactics, but have rarely had the opportunity to train with someone who has read these sources and really wants to practice them. My stick time is minimal, unfortunately (re: Real Life), but I've been flying CFS2 and 3 and now IL2:FB for many years now.

I have read Shaw's Fighter Combat book several times, flying books like Stick and Rudder. More recently, I have read No Guts, No Glory (found at SimHQ ( http://www.simhq.com/_air/PDF/NGNG.pdf , which I highly recommend) as well as the Comms Brevity Code ( http://www.simhq.com/_air/air_008a.html ). I have a lot more to learn, but I also need to practice. So for the scant couple of hours I get every week to fly, I want to make the most of it. I would love to really work the different sections of these sources and see how far it can take us.

So obviously, I'm looking for someone who has a similar availability schedule as mine and doesn't mind flying with a **** pilot who tries really hard. Maybe twice a week for an hour at a time with a 15 minute preflight to develop goals and tactics for the coming flight time. Since I'm in Arizona, USA, we don't practice daylight savings time and I'm currently on Pacific Time (UTC/GMT -7). But because I work from home, I am able to fly during the day (between 9am and 2pm most weekdays) as well as after 9:30pm most nights. Unfortunately, I only speak English (but I can order food in Chinese and curse a bit in French http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ).

I have a strong preference for closed cockpit, but would do open because that is where most of the regular 54th of my squad like to fly. I use TrackIR2, a HOTAS stick with rudder pedals, a USB headphone/mic combo with Teamspeak2 or Ventrilo, and have a high speed connection that is pretty reliable. Dogfights or Co-Ops are great.