PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft gauges

Mad-Harry
12-20-2004, 12:43 PM
Hi. Is there a chance that the gauges in most of the planes can be made readable. As a real-time pilot I am used to having the gauges to monitor the various functions. Perhaps they are to scale as per the real planes. However in a Sim (with exceptions) I cannot be in cockpit view and monitor the gauges as I am asked to do on page 18 of Pacific Fighters. Yes I know I can use the delete key to get a closeup but then I am not in control of the plane. The SpeedBar does not read to the exact amount of Height or Speed so is not reliable. The no cockpit view shows only height above ground AGL and not ASL. Apart from these moans I am more than happy to fly your Sims. Delighted would be a more appropriate word. Harry. RAF_Grover.RAF662

jeroen-79
12-20-2004, 04:21 PM
You don't need to zoom all the way in, you can zoom in smaller graduations.

Another option is to fly with a cockpit-off mode which shows a few generic instruments.
This is not suitable for things like enginetemps or fuel.

You could also use devicelink to get data out of the sim and into a cockpit of your own.

F16_Sulan
12-22-2004, 01:21 AM
I agree, in 1024x798 resolution alot of the numbers are hard to see and some can´t be seen even if zoomed in. It would be nice with a "bigger-numbers" mode, that would make all numbers on gauges larger and maybe brighter white or so...
That would be nice http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif Alot of things would be nice... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

LEXX_Luthor
12-22-2004, 01:39 AM
What I do is learn my guages ~very~ well, then I don't need to see clear numbers as much. Just the needle position is all you need sometimes. It helps alot.