PDA

View Full Version : Vanishing Radar



mikevpd
07-17-2011, 08:28 PM
I am pushing a Porpoise class sub based at Fremantle and just received a modification to my fairwater. Problem is, my SD and SJ radars have vanished. Has anyone else encountered this problem and what can be done to fix it short of trading in this boat for a new one?

mikevpd
07-17-2011, 08:28 PM
I am pushing a Porpoise class sub based at Fremantle and just received a modification to my fairwater. Problem is, my SD and SJ radars have vanished. Has anyone else encountered this problem and what can be done to fix it short of trading in this boat for a new one?

denis4510
07-17-2011, 10:07 PM
Welcome mate - Freo is a great spot for seafood. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

I don't believe a Porpoise has radar at that stage of the war but someone will be sure to correct me if I am wrong.

MWolfe1963
07-17-2011, 10:50 PM
Radar differs between stock and mods, but if you had it and lost it with the replacement, you have to purchase it back. Anytime you get an upfit or new boat the game makes you purchase most of your equipment back.

mikevpd
07-18-2011, 06:08 AM
I'm in January, 1944, so both SD and SJ are available. I've purchased both radars again every time I get ready for a new patrol, but no luck. It says I have them, but they don't show up on the external views of the sub and I cannot activate them. It's very frustrating to suddenly find yourself in the middle of a convoy during a heavy storm!

MWolfe1963
07-18-2011, 09:10 AM
If you actually purchased and placed the radar on your sub it should be there. What version are you playing? If I recall correctly stock had problems with older subs keeping radar, so could be a stock bug.

You running any mods?

WernherVonTrapp
07-18-2011, 12:07 PM
I recently had a similar occurrence (last career) while playing TMO/RSRDC. I repurchased both SD/SJ radar and my subsystems showed that they were installed. However, when I went to the radar station, nothing was working. As a matter of fact, I think this happened when I received a new paint job. Anyway, I had to immediately return to base (after just starting a new patrol) where I was subsequently offered a new sub. Upon accepting the new sub, all my radar returned to it's original working condition.

mikevpd
07-18-2011, 09:31 PM
I have version 1.2.

donna577
07-18-2011, 11:52 PM
Mike you need to upgrade your game. You didn't say what year your in, however SD is available from day one..........But as Mwolfe stated, whenever you get an upgrade or a 'shiny' new boat, you need to re-purchase your items.

Always check your office before putting to sea.

WernherVonTrapp
07-19-2011, 09:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by mikevpd:
I have version 1.2. </div></BLOCKQUOTE> http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif Wow, donna is right. Version 1.2? That has more bugs in it than "Starship Troopers." http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

mikevpd
07-19-2011, 05:19 PM
Where can I find a newer version? Is there a site where I can download an upgrade?

WernherVonTrapp
07-19-2011, 06:33 PM
You can find the 1.4 patch right here:
http://silenthunter.filefront....nter_14_Patch;104929 (http://silenthunter.filefront.com/file/Silent_Hunter_14_Patch;104929)

Read the description on the DL page. This will patch you up to version 1.4. You still may want to do a Google search to see where you can get version 1.5 with the U-Boat expansion pack (AKA, SHIV Gold Edition).

mikevpd
07-23-2011, 06:56 AM
Okay, I now have v1.5. Wow! Playing career I finally got a sub that wasn't USS Drum and everything seems to work so far. Big improvement over 1.2.

One question, though. I was transferred from Fremantle to Brisbane with no notice, only a change in the map icon. Is that normal or a bug?

WernherVonTrapp
07-24-2011, 04:07 AM
I think that's a minor bug. If I remember correctly, happened to me too.

mikevpd
08-05-2011, 08:54 PM
Ok, I am now convinced that the black market is alive and well in Fremantle, late 1943. Even with the newer v1.5, I still permanently lose my SJ radar after my fairwater gets cut down. Each time I "buy" a replacement, it shows that I have purchased it, but the radar never makes it onto the boat.

I am chalking this up to thieving dockyard workers, who by now have made a killing off of me!

denis4510
08-05-2011, 09:44 PM
Yeah them Ozzies in those days especially at Freo would steal anything especially off the US! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Aussie Aussie Aussie, Oi Oi Oi!

MWolfe1963
08-05-2011, 10:55 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by mikevpd:
Ok, I am now convinced that the black market is alive and well in Fremantle, late 1943. Even with the newer v1.5, I still permanently lose my SJ radar after my fairwater gets cut down. Each time I "buy" a replacement, it shows that I have purchased it, but the radar never makes it onto the boat.


I am chalking this up to thieving dockyard workers, who by now have made a killing off of me! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I think that's a stock issue, never have it with TMO

WernherVonTrapp
08-06-2011, 08:37 AM
Just exit the base, immediately return to base and end your patrol. Not only will the radar reappear, they'll probably offer you a new sub too.