PDA

View Full Version : Problem! Just got PF but...



Yellonet
10-22-2004, 12:27 PM
When I try to start the game it says that it detected cd/dvd emulation software and that I should disable it. I have such a program but it is disabled. The game won't start anyway http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Can someone help me?

Yellonet
10-22-2004, 12:27 PM
When I try to start the game it says that it detected cd/dvd emulation software and that I should disable it. I have such a program but it is disabled. The game won't start anyway http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Can someone help me?

Troll2k
10-22-2004, 12:30 PM
Try disabling any cd copy software such as clone cd.Anything that creates a virtual drive.

Yellonet
10-22-2004, 12:34 PM
I did... and restarted... no luck http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

TooCooL34
10-22-2004, 12:40 PM
Then format and reinstall your windows and come back. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Yellonet
10-22-2004, 12:42 PM
Apparently you have to remove the program, which totally sucks! I use that program with legal programs.

Is it even legal for a publisher to force someone to uninstall certain software in order to play their game??

Remove this highly intrusive "feature" in the next patch!

adlabs6
10-22-2004, 01:04 PM
You've got to be kidding? PF requires those softwares to be uninstalled to run? Can anyone confirm this?

Why use that form of protection method when there are other WELL KNOWN and ridiculously simple methods to not use the CD? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

ustahl
10-22-2004, 02:56 PM
For me disabling such software did not help, I in fact had to uninstall the programs in order to start FB+AEP+PF. Those programs were Alcohol 120, Daemon Tools and Clone CD. They are no longer on my harddisks.

Uffe

Red_Russian13
10-22-2004, 03:01 PM
Hmmm...that is...well, interesting. I don't think I like that much at all. And I don't have any of those programs on my system.

horseback
10-22-2004, 03:03 PM
Had a similar problem with VirtualDrive program. Had to give it to a friend, couldn't use it on my computers and still play FB/AEP.

Most inconvenient, although might have been able to get away with it in a partitioned drive.

cheers

horseback

9th_Spitin
10-22-2004, 03:04 PM
I have heard the same thing with Doom 3.

wayno7777
10-22-2004, 11:38 PM
I've heard there's a set of code to detect virtual drive programs in new copy protections publishers are using now. You probably have to uninstall your V-Drive prog. I have Daemon tools and VDC on my comp but I installed them after FB/AEP. Have to see what happens when PF shows up here! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

TheJoyStick
10-22-2004, 11:53 PM
Hmm, didn't have any problems here..

I had D-tools way before I got FB, and I had it after I got IL2 the original. Weird, and tough luck.

Simjock
10-23-2004, 12:14 AM
hmm, I purchased clone CD fair and square. Can we get a conformation from a mod if this is really true.

I don't think I like were this is going.

Hiriyu
10-23-2004, 12:34 AM
This practise is becoming commonplace now, at least among Ubi's newer titles. It is meant to protect against illegally obtained game cd ISOs. Wouldn't be a surprise if it were a requisite from Ubi to 1C to be included with the new release.

*Edit - here's a link with some info:

http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=9455

mcTOPGUNs
10-23-2004, 01:49 AM
That happened in one of the Raven Shield patches. The community went CRAZY and within a week they released a new patch to fix it. Hopefully something similar will happen to PF....

SO LETS GET CRAZY BOYS http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

ustahl
10-23-2004, 08:15 AM
Having played PF a couple of times, which was possible only after uninstalling (not just disabling) those virtual drive utilities, I tried the following:

Re-installed D-tools & activated 4 virtual drives - started FB+AEP+PF and it played with no problems.
Then I additionally re-installed Alcohol 120% & activated 1 additonal virtual drive: no problem running FB+AEP+PF.

My conclusion: PF won't start if those virtual drive utilities were installed at the time of installing PF. If they aren't there when installing PF and you install those applications after PF is in place, there are no problems. At least for me that's so.

Uffe

McBaresark
10-30-2004, 01:13 AM
I had this issue with PF because I also had CloneCD installed on the PC when I installed PF. A quick look with RegMon shows that the protection looks for the CloneCD Tray reg settings, specifically the 'CloneCDTrayStatus' value under 'HKCU\Software\SlySoft\CloneCD\Settings'. If this value is anything other than 0 you get the error. You can either manually change the value to 0 with regedit, or simply start the CloneCD Tray icon applet, untick the 'Hide CDR Media' option, then quit the applet (this toggled that reg value to 0). PF runs fine - no need to uninstall CloneCD.