PDA

View Full Version : CAT 4.12 (P-38 Chainsaw?)



BigMotor
12-18-2004, 08:40 PM
New driver, new props on my Lightning-watch out!http://users.zoominternet.net/~barfs/strange.jpg

BigMotor
12-18-2004, 08:42 PM
Seriously though, how do I fix it?

Hunter82
12-18-2004, 08:45 PM
using new exe?

BigMotor
12-18-2004, 08:57 PM
No, only thing I changed was uninstalled 4.10 and went to 4.12. Could saving a mission under 4.10 and playing it later under 4.12 cause this?

p1ngu666
12-18-2004, 09:02 PM
doubt it
umm try omegadrivers (google for em)

also ur gunpods black, which looks cool http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

bird_brain
12-18-2004, 09:59 PM
Looks like a cool new way to do my ice carvings! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Fehler
12-19-2004, 01:37 AM
That was an experimental, TOP SECRET, high altitude prop.

Now that you have divulged the picture, you will have to be shot.

italianofalco
12-19-2004, 03:55 AM
... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif same problem to me!...as BigMotor I have some prop anf clouds "squares Texture " even if I use 4.11 catalist drivers (old "EXE" ...)gone to 4.12 ans SEEM solved (but not completely sure abou..) What's this?...

SUPERAEREO
12-19-2004, 05:56 AM
Move to nVidia...?

Kuikueg
12-19-2004, 07:05 AM
Making a complete reinstallation of FB, then AEP, then PF, without the updates, and then PF updates resolved this issue for me.

Opiate364
12-19-2004, 07:32 AM
Before you uninstall anbd reinstall everything what settings aree you using in Setup? I got the same results when I used s3tc compression I believe. But when I went to the default 9700 ( or whatever card you have) these anomalies were gone.

Brain32
12-19-2004, 07:44 AM
DO NOT reinstall anything, most of this problems can be resolved with Setup.exe
Same thing happened to me with some Catalyst versions, simply put the default setting for your card and start the game, after that you can change it back the way it was

Hunter82
12-19-2004, 08:56 AM
All testing is done on default settings guys...any custom settings are buyer beware.

RocketDog
12-19-2004, 10:38 AM
It's a common problem with ATi cards using Catalyst 4.11 or 4.12. The Community Help forum has seen quite a lot of posts about this lately.

So far there appears to be no fix. Also, not everyone gets it and it can be intermittent. It seems to occur slightly more often with the new exe file.

The good news is that ATi recognise the problem and list it (in somewhat garbled form) in their release notes for the 4.12 drivers.

Anyway, the 4.10 drivers are rock solid, even if the water colour in perfect mode is a bit too dark. With luck this problem will be fixed soon - possibly in 5.1. Until then, I have put 4.11 and 4.12 to one side and just use the 4.10 drivers. I would recommend those with problems to just do the same and wait for a fix.

It would be good if those having problems completed a Catalyst Feedback form, available from the ATi driver download page. The more people point out the problem to ATi, the more likely it is that a rapid and complete fix will be delivered - and to give ATi credit, they are very responsive to this sort of thing.

Regards,

RocketDog.

Here's what I got with 4.11. Same propeller manufacturer....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v402/RocketDog/test.jpg

tsisqua
12-19-2004, 10:45 AM
I have a few of those screenies too, and yes, choose default settings for your card, then run the game for a bit that way. Most of the time, you can customize again after doing this, and all is well. I have noticed that this usually occured while I was tweaking, going from perfect to excellent while in game. No need to reinstall here . . . I hope it will be the same for you, Mate.

Tsisqua

BigMotor
12-19-2004, 11:14 AM
Thanks for the help guys. It's true that I didn't have IL2 setup on default (using Coasties settings for increased FPS). So I changed to default for my Radeon 9800-no help under 4.12. Next tried 4.11-same thing. Then went back to 4.10 and all is well again.

I have to agree with Rocketdog here-4.10 is very solid and setup can be changed to get best performance without causing trouble (at least in my case). The water is a little dark but it's a good trade-off http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Udidtoo
12-19-2004, 11:28 AM
The problem is so intermitant for me that I am willing to live with the odd error in exchange for the superior IQ and color I see with 4.12 and also the fact that D3d games simply love the 4.12.

Hunter if you still read throught this thread at some point I have never installed the new exe. into this installation of PF/AEP combined. I did so during the 1st day it was available but had nothing but heartache with it.

I have also had the same errors using both the 3.01m and 3.02m standerd 9800 pro settings and custom never made a bit of difference in my haveing or not haveing these errors.

I have noticed 1 single pattern of when they come. I never, not 1 time get them playing single player, either offline campaign or starting a online coop/campaign and then playing said missions alone. The errors only occur when linked to 2 or more other players.....very weird.

bmwk1200
12-19-2004, 11:54 AM
I have had this a few times with the new 4.12s also. What I have found is that once in the mission you can go under video options and change from your current Excellent or Perfect setting to one level lower,then back again and it clears it right up.

RocketDog
12-19-2004, 02:44 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Udidtoo:
I have also had the same errors using both the 3.01m and 3.02m standerd 9800 pro settings and custom never made a bit of difference in my haveing or not haveing these errors. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have to echo this. In my attempts to fix the texture corruption it never made any difference what settings I used in the video tab. Both X800 and custom gave the same fault.

Really, we shoud just face it, the 4.11 and 4.12 drivers don't work well in PF.

Regards,

RocketDog.

Hunter82
12-20-2004, 06:26 AM
yep still reading http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Udidtoo:
The problem is so intermitant for me that I am willing to live with the odd error in exchange for the superior IQ and color I see with 4.12 and also the fact that D3d games simply love the 4.12.

Hunter if you still read throught this thread at some point I have never installed the new exe. into this installation of PF/AEP combined. I did so during the 1st day it was available but had nothing but heartache with it.

I have also had the same errors using both the 3.01m and 3.02m standerd 9800 pro settings and custom never made a bit of difference in my haveing or not haveing these errors.

I have noticed 1 single pattern of when they come. I never, not 1 time get them playing single player, either offline campaign or starting a online coop/campaign and then playing said missions alone. The errors only occur when linked to 2 or more other players.....very weird. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

MZ6
12-20-2004, 03:45 PM
I fixed it by reinstalling 4.2 drivers

Frequent_Flyer
12-20-2004, 10:15 PM
This problem seems to afflict the 9800/w 128 ram cards.It has been there since the 4.11 thru the beta and also with the 4.12.However it is not "recognized" as a problem by ATI as of yet.I suggest,if you have this problem, e-mail ATI. So we can get a fix.

italianofalco
12-25-2004, 12:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by italianofalco:
... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif same problem to me!...as BigMotor I have some prop anf clouds "squares Texture " even if I use 4.11 catalist drivers (old "EXE" ...)gone to 4.12 ans SEEM solved (but not completely sure abou..) What's this?... <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>