PDA

View Full Version : Does this device work w/ our game? if so...



hi_stik
07-19-2006, 12:15 PM
I really want one. It looks neat as hell, but I won't get it if it isn't compatible:

http://www.saitekusa.com/usa/prod/cupro.htm

It looks like it would be a great method of setting up bomber controls and trim stuff, etc.

Please post if you have one, use one, or otherwise have knowledge to shower down on me

hi_stik
07-19-2006, 12:15 PM
I really want one. It looks neat as hell, but I won't get it if it isn't compatible:

http://www.saitekusa.com/usa/prod/cupro.htm

It looks like it would be a great method of setting up bomber controls and trim stuff, etc.

Please post if you have one, use one, or otherwise have knowledge to shower down on me

Nimits
07-19-2006, 01:20 PM
I think it is just programmable buttons, so it should work with almost anything.

Crash_Moses
07-19-2006, 04:30 PM
Oh yeah...I was looking at getting one for just that reason...bomber controls and whatnot.

Gogamer.com has some gaming keyboards and other such peripherals that look mighty interesting also.

Sillius_Sodus
07-19-2006, 04:30 PM
Looks similar to the Belkin N52 SpeedPad. I use an N52 in the sim and it works very well for me. It absolutely rocks in fps games.

Good hunting,
Sillius_Sodus

Maraz_5SA
07-20-2006, 06:18 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by hi_stik:
I really want one. It looks neat as hell, but I won't get it if it isn't compatible:

http://www.saitekusa.com/usa/prod/cupro.htm

It looks like it would be a great method of setting up bomber controls and trim stuff, etc.

Please post if you have one, use one, or otherwise have knowledge to shower down on me </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

My advice is getting a Saitek PC-Dash2 from E-Bay... it's all you need!!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.joy-stick.net/reviews/other/p8000.htm

It has 35 keys and few buttons, all programmable, you can program single keystrokes and sequences of keystrokes (e.g. I programmed radio messages such as "Vector to Home Base", "Request Landing", etc)

I also programmed as bomber controls, lights, and all other commands I could not map on the joystick or on my small homemade button board.

I also made with PaintShop a nice graphical keyboard template to be used with this keyboard, so finding the right key is easier.

(This is an older version of my layout)
http://www.webalice.it/antonio.maraziti/Template-FB-PC-Dash-2.jpg

I now use the keyboard for the chat only

Cheers
Maraz

Bearcat99
07-20-2006, 06:44 AM
Thats a pretty neat device.....

hi_stik
07-20-2006, 07:42 AM
I'm afraid that P8000 thingie is a mighty difficult thing to find here in the New World. Only the Euros got their hands on them apparently. I'd like to find someone who has used the Pro Gamer Command Unit in IL-2, and whether or not it's worth it...

96th_Nightshifter
07-20-2006, 08:06 AM
That Pro Gamer Command Unit looks pretty cool but to be honest I think the N52 (which I use) maybe has more functions - mouse wheel for one which is very handy.

Pro Gamer Command Unit does definately look nicer though.

I'd go for whichever is cheaper as they both appear to do the same things.

hi_stik
07-21-2006, 10:10 AM
I've been considering whether or not to get one of these Belkin thingies, or spending the dough on the X52 gitup from Saitek. I currently have no complaints about my Logitech wireless joystick, it works well enough, but I'd really like to get away from using the keyboard for trimming my plane up, it's just annoying. Also, I'd like to use it for bomber controls.

96th_Nightshifter
07-21-2006, 10:52 PM
I would say that either of them will do the trick for you - just a matter of which is cheaper and or which onw you personally prefer.

I know that for me the only time I have to use the keyboard in flight is when I am typing something in chat - so basically if I am on comms then the keyboard is slid under the desk and out of use as I can map all controls to the N52 and though I am not much of a bomber I know that I could if I wanted to set up the N52 to have bombsite controls very easily.

horseback
07-24-2006, 10:21 AM
I got it because the fancier Nostromo was out of stock; it adds a sh!tload of extra buttons to assign functions to, although I'd initially hoped that the thing had some axes to use for trim adjust. It has a little joystick thingy that I haven't found a practical use for in FB/PF yet.

I have created a profile for use with first person shooters, but for FB, I just use the basic unit without profile (creating a profile apparently means anything not specifically assigned in the profile won't 'exist' in that profile).

It comes in handy. You can never have too many buttons in a flight sim...

cheers

horseback