PDA

View Full Version : Which one is better out of these ancient cards



[]_---_[] KITT
07-17-2004, 12:22 AM
I need help.
I used a GeForce 2Mx/400 32Mb card before now switch to Radeon 7000 64Mb. I know they are ancient. But which one is actually faster? Does the manufacturer important (make any difference? although the chip is the same)?

"He was St Peter"

[]_---_[] KITT
07-17-2004, 12:22 AM
I need help.
I used a GeForce 2Mx/400 32Mb card before now switch to Radeon 7000 64Mb. I know they are ancient. But which one is actually faster? Does the manufacturer important (make any difference? although the chip is the same)?

"He was St Peter"

arcadeace
07-17-2004, 12:41 AM
It probably won't be much of a difference but being pretty low in frame rates just 2 or 3 might make it playable or not. I suggest typing both cards in Google and see if you can obtain some old-time reviews.

[]_---_[] KITT
07-17-2004, 12:48 AM
My GForce 2Mx 32Mb card runs FB well (at 800X600) with occasional stutter but i think that was because my RAM is only 256

"He was St Peter"

arcadeace
07-17-2004, 12:56 AM
That's for sure http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif In spite of the resolution with only occasional stutters you're not doing bad.

GAU-8
07-17-2004, 02:19 AM
i have a geforce 2 mx 400... it plays fine for me at 1024X 768

only stutters i get is when i play online, with many aircraft in proximity "usually"

matter of fact today i just got a 256, 9800 PRO radeon.... come to find out.. its not supported for windoze 98... (after MANY hours of searching forums, reinstalling the software several times, and all sorts of configuring... only then after sitting back in the chair, and pickin up the box, i see it... "supports XP,ME,2000. (apparenly i missed the 6th side of the box...i had seen the other 5 while shopping lol)

never says it on website, instruction manual, nor even in the driver page.. EVEN with a 98/me option to click for the RADEON family... if its not supported why in the h3ll have it listed in the drivers OS selection :/

bah..had to gripe.. im stickin with the GEFORCE 2, and spending the cash on other stuff.

arcadeace
07-17-2004, 02:34 AM
It is supported but you need the proper driver version 4.3 or earlier. I have a 98Pro and used it with Win98 up to 8 months ago, I now use XP.

Monson74
07-17-2004, 02:46 AM
In my experience it's not the resolution that makes a big impact on fps - it's the detail level. I'm running an FX5200 which is a pretty lousy card but I can run FB with high pretty resolutions but medium landscape detail. Changing the resolution from 640x480 to 1152x864 doesn't make any difference regarding fps. What matters is how fast your CPU & chipset can feed your vidcard with info.

S!

Monson


"The Zerst├┬Ârers will form an offensive circle." - G├┬Âring