PDA

View Full Version : BAD FPS IN 401m



GRPlaton
06-15-2005, 03:38 PM
i have saw a DROP DOWN OFF FPS 15 fps was lost
AND game FPS is not stable any more is going up and down all the time

i was having a avr 37 fps and it was very solid IN 401 my fps drop down to AVRG 20 and that with alot off problems

any idears what is going on???

GRPlaton
06-15-2005, 03:38 PM
i have saw a DROP DOWN OFF FPS 15 fps was lost
AND game FPS is not stable any more is going up and down all the time

i was having a avr 37 fps and it was very solid IN 401 my fps drop down to AVRG 20 and that with alot off problems

any idears what is going on???

LEXX_Luthor
06-15-2005, 04:17 PM
Works fine here. Waz u setup?

NorrisMcWhirter
06-15-2005, 04:46 PM
Hi,

I've noticed a difference too, even after refreshing my settings by running Il-2 setup.

I get particular FPS dropouts when there is flak exploding or when bagged planes hit the ground.

TBH, the settings shouldn't make any difference; if they were as before, you should get the same FPS.

Then again, if you consider than the FILES.SFS (kitchensink.sfs?) was presumably compiled half way through yesterday then it's quite easy to come to the conclusion that little testing has been performed.

ho hum.

Ta,
Norris

crazyivan1970
06-15-2005, 04:47 PM
Files.sfs will not affect peformance Norris.

NorrisMcWhirter
06-15-2005, 04:49 PM
It has the FMs in it and quite a lot else, you said.

Nothing computational in there that may slow things down?

Ta,
Norris

darkhorizon11
06-15-2005, 04:53 PM
Try turning the new clouds off.

You lose the eye candy but it makes a BIG difference.

NorrisMcWhirter
06-15-2005, 04:56 PM
The new clouds are still on as they were in 4.00..but the map I was flying on had a clear sky.

Regardless, unless the clouds are different, there shouldn't be any FPS loss between 4.00 and 4.01.

Again, a decent readme changelog would sort half of this out.

Ta,
Norris

crazyivan1970
06-15-2005, 04:57 PM
No norris

NorrisMcWhirter
06-15-2005, 04:59 PM
Better get on the blower to your guvnor, then, CI, cos something ain't right in FPS-land.

Ta,
Norris

LEXX_Luthor
06-15-2005, 05:16 PM
Working here, must be something in norris land.

Your lack of information is disturbing. You can isolate any fps drops using FMB .. stuff like Flak, you know..

NorrisMcWhirter
06-15-2005, 05:24 PM
Disturbing how?

I run Il-2setup and made sure all the settings are the same.

I then ran Beyond Compare and checked my conf.ini against a copy from just prior to 'installing' 4.01.

I loaded the game and tried QMB against 4 veteran Lagg3 enemies with defensive flak on.

Each time there was a flak burst near me, there was a noticable stutter with the FPS dropping from 50 to around 5.

I cleared the AAA and I didn't get any stuttering until the enemy planes hit the ground.

First thing I do with any new patch is to try the same QMB mission; it's not as scientific as the black death track but I've become accustomed to noticing things by doing it this way. Besides, the AI are so predictable, you may as well be watching a track http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Ta,
Norris

LEXX_Luthor
06-15-2005, 06:06 PM
Well there ya go. We have something we can talk about now.

Sounds like its could be the EFFECTS= setting in your "conf" file. Seeting it high kills my frames too. Don't use a "compare" program, czech it out yourself, the line is near the end of the "conf" file.

Also, if you think its a 4.0/4.01 issue, swap that SFS file they are talking about, slip in the 4.0 file, they say its the only file that got changed between the two forpatches.

Hunter82
06-15-2005, 06:11 PM
No change in FPS on multiple systems here both Intel and AMD..

LEXX_Luthor
06-15-2005, 06:17 PM
mmmm this is probably not it, but when I first started up the 4.01 and looked at the maps in FMB, all the landscapes on *all* the FB/PF maps was dark on every map, with little bright..er.."patches" as if the sun was shining only on the small Patches. That made me think of the screenshots with holes in the New Clouds, and I yes forgot http://www.boardy.de/images/smilies/kopfpatsch.gif to add the line CloudType= line in "conf" file under the [game] block. I didn't fly before I fixed this, but maybe it would casue fps loss I dunno.

Jetbuff
06-15-2005, 06:27 PM
Try defragging Norris. Installing the patch may have fragmented your previous install causing inefficient disk access.

GK-66SS
06-15-2005, 07:19 PM
I have also taken a serious frame rate hit with the new patch. The game has always run very well for me with almost no problems of any sort. My average frame rate used to be between 35-40. It is now 12-25. Something is VERY wrong. reducing the cloud detail did not help at all. Earlier, I was on the Warclouds server which always runs well for me. The map that was running had a morning mist on the ground. My frame rate in this mist was 5..yes 5. What gives?

Pent 4 @ 2.4
512 Megs of RDRAM
GeForce 5700 Ultra with current drivers
Win 98 Second Edition

The_EDF_Legacy
06-15-2005, 07:39 PM
I read on the downloads page that the patch takes more processing power due to the new FM's. The added graphics probably added to that issue.

LEXX_Luthor
06-15-2005, 07:44 PM
66:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">The map that was running had a morning mist on the ground. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yes, the FB Myst. Was that the Kurland map by any chance? It may have some kind of Issue with morning myst, even at 12 Noon, but I clear it up by going to External View and zooming above the myst and it goes away for the rest of the mission run.

I need to look again, but the Kurland map may have a lower mid~day sun than the Murmansk Winter map (it should not), and I wonder if the FB Myst is controlled by the distance of the FB sun above the horizon.

** maybe its an Online issue, does it happen Offline?

Maybe Buff has a point. I am temporarily running 4.01 on a spare 4GB hard drive, I installed the FB and New Patch new and clean, leaving my 3.04 untouched on my main drive. I always install everything clean, and so far have had no fps issues between any Patches -- so far.


** Patch gave us a new moon phase. Murmansk has an almost full moon, just barely perceptible as being not quite full.

crazyivan1970
06-15-2005, 08:40 PM
Just run bunch of tracks... overall loss is about 4-10 fps comparing to 304m. Mostly due to clouds. With old clouds frame loss is minimal. 3-5 maybe, but that depence on aircraft concentration.

Takata_
06-15-2005, 09:37 PM
did you reset you video/sound to default? checking the file is not enough and for unknow reason, your video drivers could have been corrupted. Try a re-installation that could fix it... computers behaves badly sometime.
Such a drop in performance can't be only patch related.

Recon_609IAP
06-15-2005, 09:42 PM
several people I fly with are reporting very low fps with the new clouds fyi

I'm personally not having that issue

HelSqnProtos
06-15-2005, 09:56 PM
Maybe your latest version of Speedhack doesn't like the new patch ?? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

carguy_
06-16-2005, 01:46 AM
I noticed that too.Stalingrad map,clear sky,a plane blows up and suddenly fps goes down by 20!Watched trk replay and directed camera at falling burning ashes of exploded plane and for the whole time fps from normal of 47-56 went to 20-24.
Nothing like this happened in 3.04 or 4.0.
I`m trying to find out what is messing fps up but multiple video canfigs,even those with lowest settings present same 16-20 fps loss when looking at fire based graphic effects.

LT.INSTG8R
06-16-2005, 02:01 AM
Oddly enough I find the new clouds have LESS of an Impact on FPS at distance than old clouds of course flying thru them still drops FPS

GRPlaton
06-16-2005, 03:38 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by HelSqnProtos:
Maybe your latest version of Speedhack doesn't like the new patch ?? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LEARN TO FLY AND COME BACK AFTER 3 OR 4 YEARShttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gifp

GRPlaton
06-16-2005, 04:00 AM
here is hte way to get back your FPS

STEP 1----go in conf.ini file and set the
Effects=0
it look like this is the reazon for
the massive drop off FPS

STEP 2----IF U WANT MORE -FPS- go to
conf.ini file and set
TypeClouds=0 (its located in -
hotkey game)and if u dont see it u
have to add it in

Willey
06-16-2005, 07:58 AM
Fine fps here, except with those new taffin clouds, they're a real killer. 5-15fps with overcast...

Interesting though that I hardly have micro stutters (OK those respawn stutters)... I bet I've got the most fragged HD in here http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://home.arcor.de/eldur/bilder/frag.jpg

HelSqnProtos
06-16-2005, 10:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GRPlaton:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by HelSqnProtos:
Maybe your latest version of Speedhack doesn't like the new patch ?? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LEARN TO FLY AND COME BACK AFTER 3 OR 4 YEARShttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gifp </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


S~!

Well how about we find equal ships on Hardballs aircraft viewer and IL2 Compare, say G6 Vs La5fn and you and your C.O do a 2v2 against me and my X.O and we will see who can fly?? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif


Thats if you guys will come down from 9km http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif Maybe you might even be brave and try a non bf ride (o the horror-- poor Platon) ahahahahaha

john_bilbrey
06-16-2005, 11:44 AM
Not to be on-topic, but...

I've taken a pretty good hit to FPS with the new clouds (thunderstorm weather). Some have recommended re-running IL2-setup and see what shakes out. I'll give that a run tonight and see what happens. If not, I'll turn the new clouds off altogether.

GRPlaton
06-16-2005, 02:58 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by HelSqnProtos:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GRPlaton:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by HelSqnProtos:
Maybe your latest version of Speedhack doesn't like the new patch ?? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LEARN TO FLY AND COME BACK AFTER 3 OR 4 YEARShttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gifp </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


S~!

Well how about we find equal ships on Hardballs aircraft viewer and IL2 Compare, say G6 Vs La5fn and you and your C.O do a 2v2 against me and my X.O and we will see who can fly?? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif


Thats if you guys will come down from 9km http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif Maybe you might even be brave and try a non bf ride (o the horror-- poor Platon) ahahahahaha </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


LOL now im scared to death xaxaxaxaxax

u will have your time in vef3 and then we will see if u stay in server when me and my wingman join up :P

crazyivan1970
06-16-2005, 03:02 PM
My dad will beat up your dad... i don`t even need a wingman http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

HelSqnProtos
06-16-2005, 03:29 PM
<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">

LOL http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif ahahaahahaaha


So your saying your C.O isn't good enough to fly with you?????? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/34.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I bet your C.O will love that.


As for VEF, lets see. YOU HAVE TO GROW A PAIR AND COME DOWN FROM 9000 FIRST. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif </span>

GK-66SS
06-16-2005, 04:02 PM
OK. The problem is definately the new clouds. I just did some testing on an online server and I found that whenever any of the clouds entered into my view, my frame rate would nose dive. This happened in cockpit view and in external view. I did't even need a lot of the clouds to be visible for this to happen. I have added the TypeClouds=0 line to my conf file in the opengl section, however, this has not helped. Any other ideas? As it stands right now, the game is unplayable for me on settings that used to run great. I do NOT want to turn other things off to compensate for this one issue.

LEXX_Luthor
06-16-2005, 05:35 PM
66:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Any other ideas? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I have one. You are supposed to add TypeClouds= to the [game] section. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

ApolloFS
06-16-2005, 10:56 PM
Il-2 Stab killed framerates for me after 4.01m

So I just don't use it anymore.

NorrisMcWhirter
06-17-2005, 08:33 AM
Hi,

I've tried with both clouds on and off and, while there is a difference in FPS, the result of an explosion nearby is a large FPS reduction (stutter, if you like).

I've been through the il-2 setup and 'reaffirmed' all the settings + re-checked the conf.ini and tried the different settings with the same result of FPS loss during explosions (incidentally, checking the file by hand is far, far less reliable than checking in a file comparison tool which both shows you the files AND changes between the two files!).

Additionally, after poncing with the settings and setting the new clouds to off, I was actually getting, on average, a much higher framerate than I did with 3.04!

Ta,
Norris

john_bilbrey
06-17-2005, 11:25 AM
Confirmed that the new clouds are the culprit (for my setup at least). Reran IL2 Setup, keeping same settings. Ran thunderstorm settings in QMB and frames dropped to 15-20avg. Turned off new clouds on the same settings and they are much higher, playable even!
System specs:
P4 2.6 @ 3.0X
512MB GEIL PC3200 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9700 w/ CAT 5.6
120GB SATA (game drive)
Audigy 2 ZS
XPPSP2
Other goodies....
Additional RAM and a better card would help, but I shouldn't be seeing such a big hit from new clouds.