PDA

View Full Version : no luck with UBISOFT programs



shadow379
03-22-2007, 10:35 PM
i have both lock on: modern air combat and just got IL 2 STURMOVIK tonight. which i am finding a big waste of money. neither program will run. they will start and then just freeze up. 1946 will show the cockpit and that is it. also when i load the 1946 and try to run it it changes the icon size on the desktop. i dont have any problems with other software i have. NOVALOGIC, INFINITY WARD, HEAD GAMES, WIZARD WORKS, ETC. only the ubisoft causes the problems. anyone else run into this problem?

shadow379
03-22-2007, 10:35 PM
i have both lock on: modern air combat and just got IL 2 STURMOVIK tonight. which i am finding a big waste of money. neither program will run. they will start and then just freeze up. 1946 will show the cockpit and that is it. also when i load the 1946 and try to run it it changes the icon size on the desktop. i dont have any problems with other software i have. NOVALOGIC, INFINITY WARD, HEAD GAMES, WIZARD WORKS, ETC. only the ubisoft causes the problems. anyone else run into this problem?

Monterey13
03-22-2007, 10:38 PM
Can you post your system specs? It would help.

shadow379
03-22-2007, 10:41 PM
3400+ AMD Anthlon 64
1GB MEM
160GB HD
DVDRW

shadow379
03-22-2007, 10:52 PM
i dont know what it is but i bet i remember to look at the brand next before i buy it. that is for sure.

Waldo.Pepper
03-22-2007, 11:24 PM
Tis a pity your mind seems to be made up already. If you were more flexible, open, and patient enough to receive help I imagine you might find more help.

Skycat_2
03-22-2007, 11:36 PM
My guess is that it is graphics card related, especially if you are only seeing cockpits (no external models?) in 1946. I once installed Forgotten Battles on a friend's old computer that had a basic, factory installed vid card. Only random pieces of the 3D planes would appear on his machine; other games like Flight Simulator were fine however. Here's another consideration: see if changing from OpenGlide to DirectX makes a difference; on my notebook the planes flying in the sky are drawn under the trees rendered on the terrain below. DirectX mode fixes this anomoly.

Also, try choosing reduced graphic settings like medium object detail, medium lighting, etc. Don't use the 'perfect' water settings. In my personal experience, the lock-ups at the menu screen are caused by choosing the game's highest graphic options.

knightflyte
03-23-2007, 12:28 AM
Do you have Direct X 9c installed? Is your video card Direct X 9 compliant? What video card and driver are you using?

Many many people have this game working. Some have had issues and got them straightened away. Given that I'd say there's a problem with your computer and the install of IL2.

Be patient. We'll get this working and then you'll be flying around in no time. [http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif]

Red_lightning1
03-23-2007, 06:15 AM
I note that you didnt list your graphics card. Either you are unsure which one you have or you are using an onboard graphics chip. I'm not sure on 46 but I know for a fact that Lock-On will NOT run with an onboard chip.

Capt.LoneRanger
03-23-2007, 07:01 AM
That system dramatically sounds like a notebook with shared-memory graphics and the problem reminds me to a friend of mine, who just recently brought me his PC to fix it and I found out, he didn't install a SINGLE driver EVER. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Infinite Ward is probably CoD1 - that runs on a pocket calculator.
HEAD GAMES has Flash-Animated games (is that correct?) - no need for a gfx-card here either.
WIZARD WORKS makes evenly mainly non-3D shoot em ups.

I really have no doubt that these games run with much less problems than IL2 and LOMAC, as these games mainly even don't need a 3D-card!

rnzoli
03-23-2007, 07:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by shadow379:
i bet i remember to look at the brand next before i buy it. that is for sure. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by shadow379:
also when i load the 1946 and try to run it it changes the icon size on the desktop. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Looks like the software is trying to switch your display in accelerated 3D mode, with different resolution size, but then it fails.

Please post your graphics card type and the current driver version.

K_Freddie
03-23-2007, 07:27 AM
IL2 and most other games run mainly on the graphics card, with the rest of the PC being nothing more than a 'data pusher'.

If your serious about these games, you must have cash available for the many upgrades (Graphics cards) that you will have to encounter. If you do not have the cash, I afraid you have to work after hours, or remain a mudboy (FPS gamer).

At school - you could also conn your parents that you have to do 3D stuff for school projects and have to upgrade the graphics card- 'You're not sure what this is', but start at the top of the list http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

amilaninia
03-23-2007, 10:36 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by K_Freddie:
IL2 and most other games run mainly on the graphics card, with the rest of the PC being nothing more than a 'data pusher'.

If your serious about these games, you must have cash available for the many upgrades (Graphics cards) that you will have to encounter. If you do not have the cash, I afraid you have to work after hours, or remain a mudboy (FPS gamer).

At school - you could also conn your parents that you have to do 3D stuff for school projects and have to upgrade the graphics card- 'You're not sure what this is', but start at the top of the list http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gifI had the same problem several years ago,exactly as you described,a graphics card upgrade did the trick. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif