PDA

View Full Version : A total Beginners game... really?

flibberflops
10-27-2011, 02:58 PM
Although I could write a long piece about the merits of Rocksmith... I really also have to question who exactly play tested this game from a beginners point of view??

As a total beginner, I was really looking forward to this game but I have to question how much the total newbies have been over looked??

For example...

I am already acutely aware that finger placement and the ability to be able to stretch four fingers across 4 frets is quite key to playing the guitar. Yeah the game shows you where you fingers should be place but nowhere does it address how the heck you are supposed to do it? Ok, there is no magic solution to being able to stretch your fingers, other than time... however, where are the in game exercises to assist with this? It seems to me that you are thrown straight into song playing and a beginner will naturally shift around the frets using the one finger... surely this is not the way to learn a guitar? I am actually finding I have to try and ignore the urge to try and play a song as best as I can to try and practice some finger discipline... but the game is not helping me with this, in fact in most respects the exact opposite!