PDA

View Full Version : How can I add range to the type IXC?? Anyone, anyone?



TheRealWulfmann
05-29-2005, 08:35 PM
I have been trying to operate the type IXC along the US East Coast. By keeping at the most ecomical speeds I can barley reach it and get back. I get to the Florida coast and stop hoping something runs into me because I can not afford to run at high speed even for short distances. With little flexibility I sink and site nothing much and return with poor results.
I was wondering, in the absence of Milche Cows if I cheated to simulate that and gave the boat enough range to operate on a realistic patrol.
What files would need modding? Hopefully someone has done this and save me the time to search myself. Mostly planes found me and then a four stacker but I sank a C2 in the Azores and apparantly a small ammo ship off Florida that I sat and waited for in the Florida sun.
Wulfmann
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y152/Wulfmann/Type-IXC-stopped.jpg (http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y152/Wulfmann/Type-IXC-stopped.jpg)

TheRealWulfmann
05-29-2005, 08:35 PM
I have been trying to operate the type IXC along the US East Coast. By keeping at the most ecomical speeds I can barley reach it and get back. I get to the Florida coast and stop hoping something runs into me because I can not afford to run at high speed even for short distances. With little flexibility I sink and site nothing much and return with poor results.
I was wondering, in the absence of Milche Cows if I cheated to simulate that and gave the boat enough range to operate on a realistic patrol.
What files would need modding? Hopefully someone has done this and save me the time to search myself. Mostly planes found me and then a four stacker but I sank a C2 in the Azores and apparantly a small ammo ship off Florida that I sat and waited for in the Florida sun.
Wulfmann
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y152/Wulfmann/Type-IXC-stopped.jpg (http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y152/Wulfmann/Type-IXC-stopped.jpg)

SchroeterU-123
05-29-2005, 09:42 PM
Hi
Why dont you do like I start to do,during the day go to periscope deep low speed so no planes arround and at night go on the surface and that way u can get more boats on the hidrofones http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

gabriel_cd
05-29-2005, 10:10 PM
Why don't you sacrifice a little realism and 100 renown by choosing the 'Return to Base' option. That way you would not have to preserve fuel for the return journey.

alanschu
05-30-2005, 12:35 AM
Considering I can make round trips across the Atlantic in my VIIC, I'm surprised you are having problems with fuel for your IXC.

My first patrol I used an IXC, and I was able to spend weeks off the coast. In fact, I usually moved at Ahead one-third rather than ahead slow since I had so much fuel it didn't matter....I'd sometimes go ahead standard if I was feeling impatient.

Faamecanic
05-30-2005, 06:05 AM
I have done three patrols now in the CA sector (right off New York City) in my IX-B and have had enough fule to get there and back, and do some modest ship hunting on my way out and back.

You have a IX-C..... you must be going to fast. Try to keep your speed at 9 knots (the most efficent speed I have found for my IX-B with engine upgrades).

cueceleches
05-30-2005, 06:07 AM
With a IXB I´ve been able to go from Bordeaux to Venezuela, patrol there for a time and return via the East coast of the US to get to known convoy routes...and that´s a holy long trip...of course, always at ahead slow and diving for hours to scan with the hydrophone.

plenten
05-30-2005, 06:16 AM
You can upgrade engines. Than you are faster, but maybe also more fuel efficient? I haven't tried this yet on my type IX though, so I am just guessing here. I had the same problem, when I was assigned to a grid near Cape Town, South Africa. I couldn't make it to and from on Ahead Slow, so I decided to ignor the orders.

fizilbert
05-30-2005, 07:07 AM
The upgraded engines give you more speed for the same speed setting, so you do get more efficiency in your fuel consumption. You're burning the same amount of fuel, but squeezing out another knot for the effort.

TheRealWulfmann
05-30-2005, 10:48 AM
OK, for a level discussion I ask for those that do this at 92% (only outside view) for the most difficult. I have the engine upgrades and I constantly recheck my speed range setting to make sure I am at the every best fuel consumption. Depending on the weather that is either 9 or 10KTS. Going to CA for the New York run is closer to the point of allowing some maneuver room. Florida can only be done on absolute economical speeds. I had been told I was out of diesel fuel about 200KM out of St Nazarene but there is always a bit more and I finished with my NA saying I could go less than 100KMs when I was nearing the port.
I have 1.3 patched with RUB 1.3
I like having to accomplish the goals and wish we were ordered to various points rather than the freelance commanders we, in fact are. But, my original request was for info to simply give the boat the extra fuel at start to simulate a top off by a Milche Cow half way out. That would allow all of us to do these long distance patrols completely.
Does anyone know how to do that?
I just finished modding the RND.mis file and it will take me a week or so to do the SCR.mis file so was hoping someone could suggest a quick fix before I start to look myself.
Wulfmann