PDA

View Full Version : 512 MB. DDR PC266... Will i see some difference?



Cmte. Carvalho
11-14-2004, 12:30 PM
Hi guys;

I bought a 512MB. DDR PC266 memory card to my pc but i didn't receive it yet, so i'm very nervous to see the results... Actually i have a 256 MB. PC266, Athlon 1.2 Ghz and a GeForce 4 Ti4200 64 Mb... I can play fine offline with few planes but the missions take a long time to load and sometimes while playing it freezes for two or three seconds... I also use Windows XP SP2...

Thanks.

fordfan25
11-14-2004, 12:34 PM
your load times will get a bit better and the frezzes and stutters will also get a good bit better. you will see a good improvement http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

carguy_
11-14-2004, 02:06 PM
First off I want to say that I have a very slim budget and every upgrade stresses it pretty much.Maybe I should stop playing FBAEP but I`m hooked and won`t stop.

Don`t want to piss here bud but a 266MHz RAM is way outdated.If there weren`t purely financial reasons as to why didn`t you take the 333 or 400 MHz RAM then you`ve been cheated.

I have 512133Mhz RAM but new mobos don`t support it at all so I`ll have to buy 512400MHz RAM when I will upgrade.
I wonder if someone can tell me if switching to 400MHz will make a difference(aiming for 333FSBCPU).

To answer your question,yes it will make a difference,most maps will load rapidly if there is a fair amount of objects on them.Don`t play on Finland or other so big maps,you will get stutters very often and will be hardly able to load up.

I`d say for your PC the best upgrade is a new CPU.It would take the last heartbeat out of your hardware.

Though 512RAM is a good margin to play.

GT182
11-14-2004, 02:38 PM
You should have at least 2 slots on your motherboard. When you get your 512 card add it to the 256 so you end up with 768. A total of 768megs will help improve things.

Supr
11-14-2004, 04:38 PM
check your motherboard site too, Some boards liek the biggest dimm in the slot closest to the cpu.

Xiolablu3
11-14-2004, 05:41 PM
Whats the point in him getting 400mhz ram if his mobo only supports 266mhz??

266mhz is so much cheaper than 400mhz because everyone is selling it right now.

I see your point in that it wont crarry to a future upgrade but 400mhz probably wont either, Ram is getting faster all the time.

When he upgrades his comp we will prolly be on 600mhz or summat like that.

Athosd
11-14-2004, 06:15 PM
512MB of ram will be quite a lot better than 256, and 768 will be better again.
Even 133Mhz (DDR266) ram is many many times faster than disc access.

I'm guessing that 1.2Ghz Athlon is a Thunderbird or similar vintage chip - in which case the mainboard will not make use of faster ram, and likely will not support a newer CPU either. Under the circumstances a ram upgrade is probably the best quick boost.


Cheers

Athos