PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use X45 throttle Aux switch?



arjisme
04-23-2004, 10:00 PM
Has anyone found any good use for the Aux switch on the X45 throttle?

arjisme
04-23-2004, 10:00 PM
Has anyone found any good use for the Aux switch on the X45 throttle?

Bearcat99
04-23-2004, 10:16 PM
I use the aux switch for zoom ,normal & wide view.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

aipimrs
04-23-2004, 10:36 PM
You need to create a profile and in the profile you can associate functions to aux switch. I use to the same functions that Bearcat99 uses.

TX-EcoDragon
04-23-2004, 10:38 PM
I use if for dive/speed brakes (though its not the ideal situation, half the time it takes two swipes to extend or retract it)

S!
TX-EcoDragon
Black 1
TX Squadron XO
http://www.txsquadron.com

Member-Team Raven
http://www.waynehandley.com

First Slot Pilot Aircraft #4 of the Virtual Haute-Voltige Team
http://www.vhvt.com/

http://www.attitudeaviation.com/

http://www.txsquadron.com/uploaded/TX-EcoDragon/ravenvert.jpg

adlabs6
04-23-2004, 10:40 PM
Same uses as Bearcat.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON (http://777avg.com/omegasquad/) | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

bodaw
04-23-2004, 10:47 PM
I use it for Teamspeak. Primary and sencondary channel. I may be wrong, but I think that's the only key on X45, that you can program the key as pressed continuously until you move it.

JimRockford
04-23-2004, 10:50 PM
I use the AUX switch to extend my hatswitch veiw capabilities.

AUX 1 is null and I huse a hat switch to look around. The hat switch is programmed to the num pad keys that are programmed in IL2 to look around.

AUX 0 is CTRL and AUX 2 is ALT

then I prgram the views in IL2 so that the ALT-numpad key and CTRL-numpad key are the look around views but either up or down too.

example: I leave AUX in 1 normally. I look left with the left hatswitch. If I want to look left and down i flip AUX to 0 and use the left hatswitch. For up I use AUX 2 and the same left hatswitch.

SithSpeeder
04-24-2004, 09:12 AM
What BearCat and Adlabs6 said--zoom views:
zoom ,normal & wide view.

* _54th_Speeder *

http://members.cox.net/~ijhutch/_images/400x200sig.jpg

T_O_A_D
04-24-2004, 09:31 AM
I use to have it like Bearcats but now I use it to turn on and off auto prop. And run the manual prop with the thumb rotary.

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
2.11 drivers (http://home.mchsi.com/~131st-vfw/NaturalPoint_trackIR_2_11.exe)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

[This message was edited by T_O_A_D on Sat April 24 2004 at 11:50 AM.]

aerick2
04-24-2004, 10:45 AM
I use the aux switch for the same thing as just about everyone else, it seems: normal, wide, and zoom view.

xTHRUDx
04-24-2004, 10:59 AM
i use mine for radiator

JZG_Winter
04-24-2004, 11:27 AM
Yup, radiator here as well

http://server6.uploadit.org/files/clipperr-He111.jpg

JarheadEd
04-24-2004, 01:38 PM
copycat of Bearcat and Adlabs

http://img13.photobucket.com/albums/v37/JarheadEd/p40.jpg

Bearcat99
04-24-2004, 01:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by T_O_A_D:
I use to have it like Bearcats but now I use it to turn on and off auto prop. And run the manual prop with the thumb rotary.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hey TOAD.. I just set that auto prop pitch function. I actually have that switch set to SHIFT+ NUM 5. NUM5 is my center view command and it's on the hat of my MSFFB stick in the 6 Oclock position. Since I have my black button mapped as ALT/CTRL/SHIFT in modes 1,2 &3 I have ALT+NUM5 as airbrake & SHIFT+NUM5 as pitch toggle. I replaced the thumb rotary which used to be my elevator pitch with prop pitch and put my elevator pitch on the front rotary which used to be aileron trim. Now that I have prop pitch on that rotary and no longer on my MS throttle slider I have to find something to do with that slider.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

arjisme
04-24-2004, 03:04 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by bodaw:
I use it for Teamspeak. Primary and sencondary channel. I may be wrong, but I think that's the only key on X45, that you can program the key as pressed continuously until you move it.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Wow, thanks for all the replies, guys! I was under the impression the Aux switch always worked as a continuously pressed key. But this comment suggests it can be programmed to be that way or not. Can you guys elaborate a bit on that?

Blottogg
04-24-2004, 03:10 PM
Boards, like TX-EcoDragon (I keep the zoom commands on the keyboard since I don't use them much.) Same problem as him too, command doesn't always take the first time.

Blotto

"Speed is life." - Anon
"Sight is life. Speed is merely groovy." - "Junior"

jensenpark
04-24-2004, 04:01 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by TX-EcoDragon:
I use if for dive/speed brakes (though its not the ideal situation, half the time it takes two swipes to extend or retract it)

S!
TX-EcoDragon
Black 1
TX Squadron XO
http://www.txsquadron.com

Member-Team Raven
http://www.waynehandley.com

First Slot Pilot Aircraft #4 of the Virtual Haute-Voltige Team
http://www.vhvt.com/

http://www.attitudeaviation.com/

http://www.txsquadron.com/uploaded/TX-EcoDragon/ravenvert.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yup, speed brake...

http://www.corsair-web.com/thistler/rtfoxint.jpg
Buzz Beurling flying his last sortie over Malta, Oct.24, 1942

T_O_A_D
04-24-2004, 05:43 PM
Well you confused me just a bit I think.

Did you change your settings on your aux to the Auto prop and now using your thumb rotary for pitch? If so where did you move your views too?

I may be confused since your using the Microsoft stick in conjuntion with the x-45

I have a word document explaining my settings but the link is dead and my file is at work. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif I'm on vaction for another 2 weeks so I won't have access to fix it til then. When I do I can PT it to you.

Got it some else had saved it for me. here is link. http://home.mchsi.com/~131st___vfw/Toads_X-45.doc It only works if you have microsoft office though. I need to update it and just make a web page for it.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by T_O_A_D:
I use to have it like Bearcats but now I use it to turn on and off auto prop. And run the manual prop with the thumb rotary.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hey TOAD.. I just set that auto prop pitch function. I actually have that switch set to SHIFT+ NUM 5. NUM5 is my center view command and it's on the hat of my MSFFB stick in the 6 Oclock position. Since I have my black button mapped as ALT/CTRL/SHIFT in modes 1,2 &3 I have ALT+NUM5 as airbrake & SHIFT+NUM5 as pitch toggle. I replaced the thumb rotary which used to be my elevator pitch with prop pitch and put my elevator pitch on the front rotary which used to be aileron trim. Now that I have prop pitch on that rotary and no longer on my MS throttle slider I have to find something to do with that slider.

http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html_vflyer@comcast.net_ http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat
http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html | http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/ | http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353 | http://www.mudmovers.com/&lt;HR&gt;&lt;/BLOCKQUOTE&gt; (http://www.mudmovers.com/<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>)

Have you checked your Private Topics recently? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=ugtpc&s=400102)
131st_Toad's Squad link (http://www.geocities.com/vfw_131st/)
My TrackIR fix, Read the whole thread (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?q=Y&a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=15310285&p=1)
2.11 drivers (http://home.mchsi.com/~131st-vfw/NaturalPoint_trackIR_2_11.exe)
http://home.mchsi.com/~131st_vfw/T_O_A_D.jpg

[This message was edited by T_O_A_D on Sat April 24 2004 at 06:49 PM.]

arjisme
04-24-2004, 08:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I use the aux switch for zoom ,normal & wide view.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
OK, I tried this setup and it doesn't work for me. I set Aux 0 to Wide View, Aux 1 to Normal View, and Aux 2 to Gunsight View. However, the game basically locks up when I do this. This is because, no matter what position the Aux switch is in, it is sending a continuous stream of key commands. So, if it is in Aux 0 position, it is send Page Down key commands continuously, making it very hard to input any other command.

I don't see how folks are able to make use of this switch. What am I missing?

adlabs6
04-24-2004, 11:17 PM
If I remember right, I programmed a macro for each AUX position that would press the key once, then send the key release signal. This way it wasn't sending a keyboard command constantly.

http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/bin/sigUBI.GIF
My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON (http://777avg.com/omegasquad/) | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

Franzen
04-24-2004, 11:25 PM
thunb rest.

Fritz Franzen

Tully__
04-25-2004, 02:22 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ar****e:
Has anyone found any good use for the Aux switch on the X45 throttle?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's a nice textured thumb rest over the fire D button http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

So far, I have found that the other buttons are ample without resorting to the Aux switch.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/legalsig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

Tully__
04-25-2004, 02:24 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by bodaw:
I use it for Teamspeak. Primary and sencondary channel. I may be wrong, but I think that's the only key on X45, that you can program the key as pressed continuously until you move it.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Using Advanced/Expert mode you can program any button on the stick as continuously pressed. It's a bit easier using the 3rd party drivers by Dhauzimmer though.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/legalsig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

Tully__
04-25-2004, 02:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ar****e:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by bodaw:
I use it for Teamspeak. Primary and sencondary channel. I may be wrong, but I think that's the only key on X45, that you can program the key as pressed continuously until you move it.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Wow, thanks for all the replies, guys! I was under the impression the Aux switch always worked as a continuously pressed key. But this comment suggests it can be programmed to be that way or not. Can you guys elaborate a bit on that?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It does always work as continuously pressed, but if you use advanced/expert driver installation and macros, you can assign key press/release events to the Aux switch press event, thus simulating a press/release style button.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/legalsig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

04-25-2004, 05:35 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Bearcat99:
I use the aux switch for zoom ,normal & wide view.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ditto. The X45 aux switch is PERFECT for zoom.

Bearcat99
04-25-2004, 10:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by adlabs6:
If I remember right, I programmed a macro for each AUX position that would press the key once, then send the key release signal. This way it wasn't sending a keyboard command constantly.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Exactly.. I cqnt remember offhand how to do it but it can be set up for a continuous press or a on/off press... go to the drop down menu on the switch or look at the help file.. Its there..and TOAD.. I srt the prop pitch on the rotary.. I have to find another funcyion for my throttleslider on the MSFFB. I have pitch,flaps and trim on the X45 throttle since these functions can be used together in climbing and diving and turning... I was going to put flaps on a slider for more precise control but I found it more cumbersome when the action gets hot so I left it where it was on my rudder rocker.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

arjisme
04-25-2004, 11:11 AM
Once again, thanks everybody! The advanced command did the trick. Just right click on the button cell and the menu pops up. Select Advanced Command, click once in the Press box when the Advanced Editor dialog appears, then press the key you want to assign. It will put a press and release command in there for Press and also put a release command in the Release box. Leave the Repeat box empty. I tried this by assigning the letter 'a' to the Press box (for Aux 1). In Notepad, switching the Aux switch to Aux 1 produces one letter 'a', which is what I need.

You guys are great! I learned something new today. Thanks again!!

04-26-2004, 12:43 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ar****e:
OK, I tried this setup and it doesn't work for me. I set Aux 0 to Wide View, Aux 1 to Normal View, and Aux 2 to Gunsight View. However, the game basically locks up when I do this. This is because, no matter what position the Aux switch is in, it is sending a continuous stream of key commands. So, if it is in Aux 0 position, it is send Page Down key commands continuously, making it very hard to input any other command.

I don't see how folks are able to make use of this switch. What am I missing?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Don't send a continuous stream of commands. Maybe if you told us which drivers you were using someone could help you. You seem to understand what the problem is, you should be able to fix it on your own. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

[EDIT]: Arjsime figured it out.

04-26-2004, 12:47 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tully__:
Using Advanced/Expert mode you can program any button on the stick as continuously pressed. It's a bit easier using the 3rd party drivers by Dhauzimmer though.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well there you go. Even Saitek's own drivers work now.

Dhauzimmer used to be mandatory for any serious X36/X45 user. It took YEARS for Saitek to figure out how to write a decent driver.

Tully__
04-28-2004, 02:33 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by cosmokart:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tully__:
Using Advanced/Expert mode you can program any button on the stick as continuously pressed. It's a bit easier using the 3rd party drivers by Dhauzimmer though.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well there you go. Even Saitek's own drivers work now.

Dhauzimmer used to be mandatory for any serious X36/X45 user. It took YEARS for Saitek to figure out how to write a decent driver.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Dhauzimmer's still offer some advanced features not yet available in the Saitek software, but the gap is narrowing.

For ease of programming, the Saitek profiler wins hands down ('cept I haven't tried Biped for Dhauzimmer's yet) but for the most flexibility Dhauzimmer's still wins if you (or someone you know) is comfortable with text file programming.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/legalsig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully