PDA

View Full Version : Need help patching IL2 46



C.W.M.V.
09-19-2010, 05:03 PM
Ive tried downloading the 4.08 patch from here
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...3110283/m/9121094645 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/9121094645)
But its a no go. I download it, open it on my computer, it unzips and says its installed but when I start IL2 up its still 4.07. What am I **** wrong/how can I get the patch downloaded?

C.W.M.V.
09-19-2010, 05:03 PM
Ive tried downloading the 4.08 patch from here
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...3110283/m/9121094645 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/9121094645)
But its a no go. I download it, open it on my computer, it unzips and says its installed but when I start IL2 up its still 4.07. What am I **** wrong/how can I get the patch downloaded?

C.W.M.V.
09-19-2010, 05:25 PM
???
I didn't blame the patch, notice where I asked "what am I doing wrong?"
So, that being said, how do you install it?

Beirut
09-19-2010, 05:50 PM
Are you using Win7?

C.W.M.V.
09-20-2010, 01:10 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Beirut:
Are you using Win7? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes I am. Someone in another thread told me that patches need to go in specific places, where?

VW-IceFire
09-20-2010, 08:06 AM
IL-2 patches are really just a bunch of new or updated files that are placed in the IL-2 directory. If you fail to point the patch to the directory that IL-2 is installed then it will just dump files on your computer in the default location.

With Vista and Win7 you are strongly advised to have IL-2 in a different directory than the default (C:\Program Files) due to the way that the newer OS's operate and the fact that IL-2 doesn't play nicely there.

I have mine installed to C:\Games\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 but yours could be different. Find out http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

FranklinWalker
09-20-2010, 10:28 AM
which sys do you use?http://www.free123.net/sig/25/smile.gif

Ba5tard5word
09-20-2010, 11:07 AM
With Il-2 your Il-2 files most probably installed here:

C:\Program Files\Il-2 Sturmovik 1946

BUT if you have Windows 7 64-bit, it will be located here:

C:\Program Files(x86)\Il-2 Sturmovik 1946

Note the x86 thing.


So when you go to install the patches you'll need to put in that file location.

Hit the Windows key then click on "Computer" and look around in your files at C:\Program Files for an Il-2 folder of an Ubisoft folder, then you'll know where to tell the patches to go.

It's best to move Il-2 so it's in a folder at C:\Il-2 Sturmovik 1946 so you can avoid UAC issues, but you can deal with that when you get more used to the game and to Windows 7.

Beirut
09-20-2010, 11:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by C.W.M.V.:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Beirut:
Are you using Win7? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes I am. Someone in another thread told me that patches need to go in specific places, where? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Keep in mind that I'm not that bright, but this worked for me perfectly:

Assuming you have a working install of Il2 in your programs files...

-Create a new file in Documents:C/
-Call it anything you want, like "IL2 Flightsim"
-Open your install of Il2 in Program Files and drag the entire contents of your IL2 folder into your new IL2 Flightsim folder, but DO NOT drag the main title folder itself over, just every thing in it. If you drag the main title folder into your new file you will have the same problems as before. Contents only!
-When it's done, hit the exe. in your new "Flightsim IL2" install and see if it works.
-If it does work, and it should, simply drag the patches onto the new main title folder "IL2 Flightsim" and direct them to unzip there.

Fly & Enjoy!

There might be other ways that work, but this worked for me.

Good luck. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

C.W.M.V.
09-20-2010, 03:36 PM
Ok heres what I have
Windows 7 Home premium 64 bit.

I open computer, opened C drive and looked in programs.
under programs there was a ubisoft folder.
Opened it, contained folder IL-2 Stormovik 1946
Opened IL-2 folder and it contained a missions folder, paintschemes folder, three files titled fb-3do18SFS, fb_maps14.sfs, files.sfs, and then the ReadMe_408m.

Im guessing that this is the patch, correct?

I then pulled up the properties on my IL-2 icon and it shows a start in location of "C:\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\"
I did a search of my C drive for this and came up with nothing. How do I locate my IL-2 game folder?

EDIT: I just checked again and there is a program files (x86) right under the other program files folder http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif, oops!
So now what? i didnt see an EXE program in the patch file

EDIT, AGAIN: Re-downloaded 4.08, and directed it to download into the (x86) ubisoft file. Running 4.08 just fine now, downloading 4.09 now. Thanks guys!

K_Freddie
09-20-2010, 03:48 PM
I installed my games under..

D:\Games\IL2_1946 - Version 4.08
E:\KidsGames\IL2_1946 - Version 4.09

Windoze beyond XP, has a security problem with everything - placing your game in another folder\directory makes it easier to handle.

I;d suggest uninstalling from ..\programs folder and doing a 'custom' installation into another folder.
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

C.W.M.V.
09-20-2010, 03:57 PM
...And now 4.09 is up and running! Yay!

Beirut
09-20-2010, 08:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by C.W.M.V.:
...And now 4.09 is up and running! Yay! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Then what are you doing here, man?

Go fly! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

C.W.M.V.
09-20-2010, 09:20 PM
Oh, I am!
Anyone have a training regimen for formation flying? Kicking my butt.

TgD Thunderbolt56
09-21-2010, 05:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by C.W.M.V.:
Oh, I am!
Anyone have a training regimen for formation flying? Kicking my butt. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, don't do it with AI, They're haxorz. If you want to do some form flying, get online with some other dudes doing the same thing. There are plenty of servers out there where a number of pilots fly formation in fighters, bombers and attack aircraft.

C.W.M.V.
09-21-2010, 10:56 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TgD Thunderbolt56:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by C.W.M.V.:
Oh, I am!
Anyone have a training regimen for formation flying? Kicking my butt. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, don't do it with AI, They're haxorz. If you want to do some form flying, get online with some other dudes doing the same thing. There are plenty of servers out there where a number of pilots fly formation in fighters, bombers and attack aircraft. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I would but I dont want to embarrass myself just yet. Im back to being a straight up rookie!