PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to Adjust Pedal Sensitivity?



Rodger1944
01-21-2007, 04:12 PM
My game is running fine in most ways but for one thing... The game recognizes my rudder pedals and my planes respond to them, however, the response is very weak.

I would like to adjust (i.e., increase) the sensitivity of my rudder pedals. Is there a way I can do this through the game? When I adjust the pedal sensitivity through windows (XP)control panel, I get very little reaction (if any) in the game itself.

I'm running the PF combined installation including patch 404m. I'm using CH USB Pro-Pedals, along with a CH Fighterstick USB Joystick. I have Windows XP.

Any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Rodger

Rodger1944
01-21-2007, 04:12 PM
My game is running fine in most ways but for one thing... The game recognizes my rudder pedals and my planes respond to them, however, the response is very weak.

I would like to adjust (i.e., increase) the sensitivity of my rudder pedals. Is there a way I can do this through the game? When I adjust the pedal sensitivity through windows (XP)control panel, I get very little reaction (if any) in the game itself.

I'm running the PF combined installation including patch 404m. I'm using CH USB Pro-Pedals, along with a CH Fighterstick USB Joystick. I have Windows XP.

Any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Rodger

BadA1m
01-21-2007, 06:38 PM
Go to www.airwarfare.com (http://www.airwarfare.com) and get Fool Throttel's IL2 sticks, it makes it easy to set sensitivities.

steve_v
01-21-2007, 07:51 PM
explained @ http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm

zoinks_
01-22-2007, 12:24 PM
you could try ch control manager (http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3516).
http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e170/zoinks_/pedals.jpg
tutorial (http://www.ch-hangar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2017)
page 35 describes how to use the map wizzard.

combine controllers = no
use cms capability = no

Bearcat99
01-22-2007, 02:29 PM
In addition to the tutorial that steve linked get this program (http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=1021). You might want to set your rudder sliders to 100 all the way across the board, with nop deadzone if max sensitivity is what you want.

Rodger1944
01-23-2007, 09:45 AM
Just a comment to all that have taken the time to respond to my initial question. I've downloaded an updated version (4.1) of the CH control manager, however, probably due to my own ignorance, I've been unable to get it to help me. I figure I can research the manual to learn all about the program, but somehow I wonder if *that approach* would be the best bet for me right now.

Alternatively, I'm going to manually modify my "CONF.INI" file to reflect a "100" across the borad. If this approach works, I'll have little need for the CH Control Manager Program.

I must say, your collective suggestion that I visit the following link was wonderful:

http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm

These is some really great information on Joysticks in general and especially how they are used within PF.

Once again, thanks to all!!!

Rodger

SirPapps
01-24-2007, 12:47 PM
I have a question about the whole joystick sensitivity thing. It seems like its reaction time is delayed by about 1/2 a second. I've attempted to change tons of curve settings and i've completely killed the deadzone.

Is that lag? do i have to dwnload the 'IL-2 JoyControl'? Or is it just like that in real life, when it just takes a few milliseconds for the control cables to respond to stick input?

Also is there anyway i can move the pilots head - not pivot it but actually move his body a tad so that he can look through the spine window behind the hood of my Spitfire?

Ken-Ghost-King
01-24-2007, 02:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Rodger1944:
My game is running fine in most ways but for one thing... The game recognizes my rudder pedals and my planes respond to them, however, the response is very weak.

I would like to adjust (i.e., increase) the sensitivity of my rudder pedals. Is there a way I can do this through the game? When I adjust the pedal sensitivity through windows (XP)control panel, I get very little reaction (if any) in the game itself.

I'm running the PF combined installation including patch 404m. I'm using CH USB Pro-Pedals, along with a CH Fighterstick USB Joystick. I have Windows XP.

Any help would really be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Rodger </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You can also adjust your gain and or sensitivity in Control Manager. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Little "need" for Control Manager? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

zoinks_
01-24-2007, 02:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SirPapps:
Also is there anyway i can move the pilots head - not pivot it but actually move his body a tad so that he can look through the spine window behind the hood of my Spitfire? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
no. i just apply temporary rudder to scan blind spots from the canopy.

RAF74_Raptor
01-25-2007, 06:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SirPapps:
I have a question about the whole joystick sensitivity thing. It seems like its reaction time is delayed by about 1/2 a second. I've attempted to change tons of curve settings and i've completely killed the deadzone.

Is that lag? do i have to dwnload the 'IL-2 JoyControl'? Or is it just like that in real life, when it just takes a few milliseconds for the control cables to respond to stick input?

Also is there anyway i can move the pilots head - not pivot it but actually move his body a tad so that he can look through the spine window behind the hood of my Spitfire? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

S` Paps As for your first question I dont know I have wondered the ame thing as well.

As fir question two No you cannot move your pilots body only his head if you do not have Track IR I strongly suggest you get it

Vanderstok
01-31-2007, 05:48 AM
The lag may be because of filtering, see the IL2 joystick setup screen, Filtering means that spikes in the signal are filtered out. However, filtering causes lag because it needs to wait for a couple of input values and then do some calculations before the output is sent. Filter=0 -&gt; no lag, filter=1, high lag.
Ofcourse, the device driver of your pedals may do something similar so the lag could even be worse. If the pots in your pedals are any good, you don't need filtering.

The only control where I use filtering is the throttle. I only noticed I had some "spikes" in the signal when I tried to take off a Me-262 and my engines would start to burn immediately!

There should be no (noticable) delay between the time you press a pedal and movement of the rudder. However, it may take some time before you notice the aircraft movements. This is natural and depends on the aircraft you're flying. Think of a big boat where it takes quite some time before the thing actually starts to swing around after you've used the rudder...

Rodger1944
01-31-2007, 08:22 AM
As always, thank you all for the good advice and counsel. As it turns out, I may not have a problem at all. I've tried to fly the same planes on a similarly equiped machine -- only to find that the pedals react the same way.

In addition, when I try various other planes (such as the Stuka) I find that the reaction to my rudder controls is much more pronounced.

I guess I had just fallen into the old idea that the rudder on an airplane behaves *exactly* like the rudder on a boat.... It just doesn't.

Well, anyway, thanks for all of your help in solving a problem that was more about "me" than about my machine.

Rodger