PDA

View Full Version : Very irritating bug about relative speed when pursuing AI planes

almarton2005
07-25-2005, 07:25 PM
I€m writing to ask community collaboration to solve one doubt of mine around what I think is a major bug in this great game.

First of all I would like to say that I am an experienced pilot (hobby) and the bugs I€ve been seen on the simulator go completely against what happens in real flight.

Ok said so, lets describe the €œbugs€ (almost all concerning relative speed between planes human vs AI plane):

When flying a faster airplane like P39 in pursuit of a much slower one (G4M1-11 Japanese bomber) the bomber can evade the faster pursuer by flying in a steep ascension. What should happen in a situation like that is the pursuer (P39) plane being faster and flying straight and level could overtake the bomber fairly easily horizontally, but despite going in full ascension the bomber continues to fly very fast and thus postponing the overtaking by an awful amount of time.

I would like to add that I never use control for mixture or prop pitch in my combats, so my plane (human controlled pursuer plane) is always assumed to be using the auto mode , is that right? I understand that when I do not handle mix and prop pitch they€re would always be in an auto optimum mode and so my plane€s flying speed. Is that correct?

On other more simple example I was in a P51D fighter being pursued this time by one A6M5 Zero Japanese fighter (known to be much slower plane than the P51) and despite I was flying on indicate airspeed in excess of 500 km/h and the A6M5 coming from far behind and on the same level it managed to close in very fast!!! It happens a lot, be it P51 vs KI-43, A6M5 etc.. (and my plane was in perfect condition €" no hits or overheating and 100% power and flaps and gears up , off course I said was over 500 km/h).