PDA

View Full Version : Online Wars - Some questions from a sorta-noob

SweetMonkeyLuv
01-06-2006, 09:42 AM
First off, S! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So, my situation is thus: I've been doing WW2 era flight simming for about 4 years now, on and off. I've got a nice PC setup with a x45/CH pedal/trackIR3. Most of my time in the virtual cockpit has come in WorldWar2Online. While I have had FB/AEP/PF for quite a while, I've not played it all that much, and mostly done so in campaign mode (did some DF servers for a brief time, but pure DF kinda bores me).

I'm trying to find out more about IL2 Online wars, how they work, and figure out what I need to do to get involved in em. The IL2 Community Manual is sorta sketchy on the topic. I was wondering if someone could help enlighten me, or point me in the direction of good reading materials on the topic.

- As of now (Jan 2006), which ones are currently active and have regular participation? I've been to a few sites of some, and they've looked barren.

- How exactly do they work? Are they all based off of DCG, as in, the admin generates missions, then someone hosts the missions, everyone joins and plays, then the result file is somehow passed back to DCG? I don't understand how DCG works, so I guess I need to look into it, but a high-level overview would be nice.

- Are the missions for these generally all dogfights? Is ground support/attack emphasized? Strat bombing? Intercept?

- I generally prefer to fly close to "realistic" settings ( except icons and map stuff, which I like ). Are most of the online wars out there close to this? No external views & padlocking and stuff?

- Sounds like joining a squadron is STRONGLY encouraged, if not required. Is this the case? Better for me to go to the Squadron forum here and look around, or do the online wars themselves have their own squadrons?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

SweetMonkeyLuv
01-06-2006, 09:42 AM