PDA

View Full Version : New CPU...transfer progress question



Valcor01
04-07-2004, 11:35 AM
I am getting a new computer any day now and was wondering what files I should save and transfer over to retain the progress I have made in campaigns. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Valcor01
04-07-2004, 11:35 AM
I am getting a new computer any day now and was wondering what files I should save and transfer over to retain the progress I have made in campaigns. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Heavy_Weather
04-07-2004, 12:49 PM
well unless you're throwing away the old hard drive, you might be able to plug that one in and have them both. ubt if its the campaigns you wanna save, then just write the campaign folder to a cd. you wont be able to write the whole FB folder cause its too big.

"The wise man is often the man who plays dumb."

GT182
04-07-2004, 01:08 PM
Why not use the Transfer File Wizzard and move all you want that way. No CD to burn, just hook the 2 PCs together.

"GT182" / "vonSpinmeister"
www.bombs-away.net (http://www.bombs-away.net)
"Fly to Survive, Survive to Fly"

GT182
04-07-2004, 01:08 PM
And this one 2 please. It took so long to load my post that it ended up in here 3 times.

Thanks. S!

GT182
04-07-2004, 01:08 PM
Moderator. Please Delete this post.

CaptainGelo
04-07-2004, 01:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Heavy_Weather:
well unless you're throwing away the old hard drive, you might be able to plug that one in and have them both. ubt if its the campaigns you wanna save, then just write the campaign folder to a cd. you wont be able to write the whole FB folder cause its too big.

"The wise man is often the man who plays dumb."


<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

campain folder to a CD:__? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/93.gif lol....just save it on US key.. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/53.gif or set your old harddrive into your new PC, how hard can it be? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

http://img23.photobucket.com/albums/v68/wolf4ever/Animation3.gif

VW-IceFire
04-07-2004, 02:09 PM
Just don't boot the old HDD on the new system and expect Windows to work properly.

I'd save things on a CD-RW or a USB Flash Drive.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

mortoma
04-07-2004, 03:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VW-IceFire:
Just don't boot the old HDD on the new system and expect Windows to work properly.

I'd save things on a CD-RW or a USB Flash Drive.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>I don't think that's what he was trying to say. I think he meant hooking up the old hard drive on the new PC as a slave and transfer the files over to the new HD!! This is one way to do it. Personally I would do that but install FB and AEP fresh on the new Windows. But do what I just said and overwrite the files
of the new install with the old files. Really you would only need to overwrite the Missions folder, the Dgen folder, the User folder and conf.ini. Then run IL2 set up and get your setting the way they used to be. And then in the game, set up the video quality the same ( or better if the PC is more powerful of course ).
And I would assume the new PC will be more powerful!!! Don't forget to setup your new video properties such as AA and Aniso too.

mortoma
04-07-2004, 03:50 PM
Or simply burn those same files I mentioned in the last post to a CD or DVD and transfer those that way.

[This message was edited by mortoma on Wed April 07 2004 at 03:13 PM.]

mortoma
04-07-2004, 04:14 PM
Oops do the Paintshemes folder too so you transfer
your skins, if you have any that is.

Valcor01
04-07-2004, 04:29 PM
IceFire had it right, I'm looking to copy the proper folders onto a CD-RW. I can't transfer it using the hard drives because I am selling the old cpu as is. I'm not worried about my saved trk. files or anything, just the campaign progress.

mortoma
04-07-2004, 05:22 PM
I know what you mean but I didn't mean leaving the old hard drive on the new computer, you could put it back and put the jumper as master again. Still this would take more time than burning a CD-RW. You still will have to do a fresh install on your new system.