PDA

View Full Version : Seafire/Spitfire has a dissapearing wings bug.



Atomic_Marten
05-04-2005, 01:50 PM
If the problem has been mentioned before, than ignore this thread.

Seafire L. MK. III, 1943
Seafire F. MK. III, 1943
Spitfire MK. VIII, 1943
Spitfire MK. VIII (CW), 1943

On certain range when viewed from above the wings completely dissapear on named types (try for example .70k distance, wide or normal view).

For details please check the link for Jazz-Man's thread about issue on CWOS.
http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=46719

Atomic_Marten
05-04-2005, 01:50 PM
If the problem has been mentioned before, than ignore this thread.

Seafire L. MK. III, 1943
Seafire F. MK. III, 1943
Spitfire MK. VIII, 1943
Spitfire MK. VIII (CW), 1943

On certain range when viewed from above the wings completely dissapear on named types (try for example .70k distance, wide or normal view).

For details please check the link for Jazz-Man's thread about issue on CWOS.
http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=46719

Gibbage1
05-04-2005, 02:16 PM
Cool. The III abd VIII are not my model! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif I made the Vb and IX, someone else made the other models. Do you have screenshots?

BBB_Hyperion
05-04-2005, 02:36 PM
The problem is not only with this planes but you are on the right track .)

Atomic_Marten
05-04-2005, 03:24 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Gibbage1:
Cool. The III abd VIII are not my model! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif I made the Vb and IX, someone else made the other models. Do you have screenshots? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Chadburn pics from CWOS (leading Spit with void skin):http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/wingtest.jpg

crazyivan1970
05-04-2005, 03:44 PM
Is report submitted to pf@1c.ru?

Atomic_Marten
05-04-2005, 03:50 PM
I didn't discover these bugs. We have discussed it on CWOS. We have discussed if those are bugs at all, because people have different VGA's and it is possible that someone do not experience the 'bug'. *But* seems to me that everyone involved in discussion experience it, and we have different VGA's.(and conf.ini's as well http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif). Soo..

I did not send the report... I figured that has been done by now and I did not wanna spaming good people there..

Ivan can you please send the report just in case? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

VW-IceFire
05-04-2005, 04:28 PM
Have to have a look at the LOD scheme for those Spitfires...

JG53Frankyboy
05-04-2005, 04:33 PM
i REALY hope this bug is reported since ages !
because its well known since ages and discussed more than once - at least in the gemran forum http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

and yes, its "only" the new Spitfires/Seafires from Nyme that came with PF.
Gibbages are ok

tigertalon
05-04-2005, 04:44 PM
Ah, now I finally know why Spit doesn't bleed E at all! It doesn't have those huge wings modelled, so drag is created only by fuselage. Nasty. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

Atomic_Marten
05-04-2005, 07:49 PM
Some users apparently are unaffected with the 'bug'. I have FX5600 (older nVidia card) and I'm experiencing it.

That is why some people do not beieve that this 'bug' exists (I didn't believed also, 'till I tested it on specified models named in first post above).

LeadSpitter_
05-04-2005, 07:52 PM
one of the far lods is missing them, shows the same wing missing on the ground shadow of those spitfires.

402Cdn.Valkyrie
05-05-2005, 01:35 AM
I'm runnig with a R9500Pro and i have never seen this bug.

Fennec_P
05-05-2005, 03:52 AM
This phenomenon is most easy to see while using low resolutions, having object detail on low, or visibilty distance on low.

Here's a better view of it.

http://members.shaw.ca/evilgryphon/lods.jpg

If you use high resolution with high detail, you probably wouldn't notice it.

JG53Frankyboy
05-05-2005, 05:26 AM
so far every one i have talked to over TS has this bug. even when they said first no, after a small closer lock they confirmed.

BBB_Hyperion
05-05-2005, 06:17 AM
Try different view angles and distance too.

JS312RAF
05-05-2005, 11:06 AM
i have this bug too.. and sometimes missing central part of FWs fuselage as well..
(GeForce 4 Ti 4200)

Atomic_Marten
05-05-2005, 11:25 AM
For test, make the Full Mission Builder mission where you start the mission directly above Spitfire Mk.VIII.
Your alt 1,700m, Spitfire Mk.VIIIs 1000m.
Once when in game, switch to cockpit off and watch the Spitfire on distances .65 (650m) and further (0.70, 0.80k..). You can also engage autopilot to make things easier.(you can focus on Spit easier that way).

When Spit enters certain distance, his wings become 'invisible'. At least for me, that is.

Also in order to see the problem make sure that you switch to NORMAL view or WIDE view when looking at Spit (at zoomed view his wings can become visible).

JG53Frankyboy
05-05-2005, 01:27 PM
much easier:
quickmissionbuilder , SpitfireVIII/Seafire , activate outside view.
than zoom away from your plane. at a special distance the wings will disapear

HellToupee
05-05-2005, 06:00 PM
or jsut turn settings to the absoute lowest possible, then wings only visable at point blank range.

Te_Vigo
05-06-2005, 09:32 PM
Same bug.....FX5900 Ultra

Chadburn
05-07-2005, 07:13 AM
So has anyone wrapped this in a pretty bow and sent it to 1C yet?

Monson74
05-08-2005, 05:21 AM
I have it too - FX5700 running 1024x768x32 with 2xQ.

Also there are bugs with the gunsight in the P-40b/c, Tomahawks & the early F4s - there's a visible vertical line in the center of the sight. Finally there's a bug with the Stuka cockpit - a visible line to the right of the sight. I have reported these bugs & Oleg said it has to do with the 3D models & AA on the user part & there are no plans on fixing it.

VW-IceFire
05-08-2005, 03:52 PM
Got it too...

F19_Olli72
05-08-2005, 05:05 PM
Has anything been said about Bf 110? Did some quick test tonight. I have Radeon 9600pro run at 1024 x 768 no AA.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v40/Olli72/testdistance.jpg

These are 100% crops from unedited screenshots.

P-39 is visible from 3.0 at all angles. Bf 110 only shows up at about half of that distance. It varies with angles, but at optimal angle it can be invisible up to 1.20 .

Beeing the bigger plane (Bf 110) shouldnt it be the opposite, or at very least the same distances?

Maybe itll stay that way cos i doubt theyll remake the lods, but it doesnt make sense.