PDA

View Full Version : X52 question



e5kimo
01-27-2005, 06:43 PM
does anyone know what the 'info' button on the throttle is good for ?
i cant seem to reprogram it with SST. it is simply not selectable by the looks of it.
all it seems to do is flash the LED of hatswitch 1 on the flight stick.

i tried , really tried to find info on that using google but came up with nothing.

would any of you know how to reprogram it ? it is placed to easily accessible that i can hardly believe it wasnt meant to be customized.

thanks in advance guys

BaldieJr
01-27-2005, 07:04 PM
Check the manual. There's an explanation there. You'll also find a few other things that you really need to know about the x52.

Gibbage1
01-27-2005, 07:16 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Check the manual. There's an explanation there. You'll also find a few other things that you really need to know about the x52. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You mean I have to READ this paperback novel named "manual" to use this thing? If I had known I needed a freakin education to use a joystick I would not of dished 130$ to buy it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

This stick is one complex mo-fo, thats for sure. But I am getting to like it.

BJR. Whats your input settings for the stick? I find that my aircraft is VERY unstable using the stick. For the first 30% of the movement, very little is tranferred to the aircraft. But after that, a LOT is transferred. And I have the input set at default 10-20-30-40 and so on. So can you help me? Im stalling a LOT using this stick, and I cant hit anything.

Gib

e5kimo
01-27-2005, 07:53 PM
ok so its the clutch button (thanks manual http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif )
but how can i reprogram it ? i cant seem to find it in SST.

gibbage, i have no problems with stall. i use the default settings for the the pitch and roll in il2 and it is working a treat. have you maybe set a dead zone in the control panel ? or have you got a deadzone defined in il2 ?

i find the stick reacts very precise which after the old logitech takes some getting used to. i acctually hit better with this stick than before http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

RedSpar
01-28-2005, 04:14 AM
Gibbage:

The stick has a very linear progression compared to other sticks. I find setting it up like this helps a lot:

http://www.redspar.com/joyset.jpg

Tweak to your personal liking.

My gunnery has gotten much better since I bought this stick.

capt_frank
01-28-2005, 05:31 AM
here's my config joystick settings i use for the x52...works good for me. and using the sst programing isn't that bad after you puter around with it for awhile, really easy to create a usable profile.

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 80 85 90 93 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Y=0 80 85 90 93 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RZ=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1X1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Y1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Z1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RX1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RY1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RZ1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RX=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1Z=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1RY=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0

georgeo76
01-28-2005, 12:44 PM
The clutch button isn't programmable, all it dose is allow you to preview commands and change profiles on the fly.

The only way you can customize it is to open the control panel applet and go to the MFD tab. Ticking the 'latched clutch button' means that the clutch is activated when you press it until you press it again. untick it, and you must hold it down.

Personally, I use 100s across the board on X&Y axes. I've got pedals, so the 'twist' is locked.

notgoodknight
01-28-2005, 01:04 PM
I am a user of the x52 throttle. I have found its multitude of rotaries and sliders very accomdating to my flying style. Please note that all the aces I have spoken with, use 100's across the board for pitch and yaw.