PDA

View Full Version : CO2 Level<--WTF?



CSAFirefighter
06-12-2011, 10:16 PM
i was on patrol off Manila bay when i ran into a convoy i sank 2 destroyers as per orders, and recieved no damage, i then sunk 2 merchants (some of my torps missed, after i broke contact and surfaced, i was heading to the nearest refit base to rearm, and my CO2 Level started going up, i was already on the surface cuz in route i shot down a betty bomber, yet the CO2 Level kept rising, then i died. WTF??? has anyone else had this crappy assed prob?

CSAFirefighter
06-12-2011, 10:16 PM
i was on patrol off Manila bay when i ran into a convoy i sank 2 destroyers as per orders, and recieved no damage, i then sunk 2 merchants (some of my torps missed, after i broke contact and surfaced, i was heading to the nearest refit base to rearm, and my CO2 Level started going up, i was already on the surface cuz in route i shot down a betty bomber, yet the CO2 Level kept rising, then i died. WTF??? has anyone else had this crappy assed prob?

Mescator
06-12-2011, 10:40 PM
Don't alt tab.

To fix the problem simply save and reload

CSAFirefighter
06-13-2011, 01:03 AM
here are screenshots of it.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v63/Maverick1862/Silent%20Hunter%20Wolves%20of%20Pacific/sh42011-06-1301-48-49-97.jpg
daytime

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v63/Maverick1862/Silent%20Hunter%20Wolves%20of%20Pacific/sh42011-06-1301-50-42-73.jpg
map

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v63/Maverick1862/Silent%20Hunter%20Wolves%20of%20Pacific/sh42011-06-1301-52-39-91.jpg
afternoon

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v63/Maverick1862/Silent%20Hunter%20Wolves%20of%20Pacific/sh42011-06-1301-53-47-04.jpg
dusk

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v63/Maverick1862/Silent%20Hunter%20Wolves%20of%20Pacific/sh42011-06-1301-54-18-14.jpg
surfaced yet out of oxygen!

WernherVonTrapp
06-13-2011, 01:48 AM
Yup, Mescator is right. It's a known (old) bug and usually caused by Alt/Tabbing out of the game. Save + Reload = Problem Solved. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

CSAFirefighter
06-13-2011, 03:37 AM
i even turned that setting off in the realism and it still does it!!!!!! you report the bugs, then they put out a patch saying "this and that is fixxed" when it aint fix'd @ ALL!!!

WernherVonTrapp
06-13-2011, 03:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by CSAFirefighter:
i even turned that setting off in the realism and it still does it!!!!!! you report the bugs, then they put out a patch saying "this and that is fixxed" when it aint fix'd @ ALL!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>It's a bug. Save + Reload = Problem Solved.
This is UBI we're talking about, not other sims. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Wolferz
06-13-2011, 02:54 PM
Is it really a bug or just a simulation of what happens if submerged too long?
What was your dive duration?
I have noticed that an extended dive and surface using the keyboard surface command(S key) doesn't always acknowledge the surface and reset the High Co2 flag. The boat is still seen as submerged.
Using the Co2 button, that appears upper right screen, to surface usually resets the flag every time. If the keyboard surface command doesn't make that button go away, try diving again then click it to surface again. This usually clears the button and supplies air.

paulhager
06-13-2011, 05:39 PM
Wolferz - I think you're right. The bug has other causes than just &lt;ALT&gt;&lt;TAB&gt; since I've experienced the problem without those keystrokes. I haven't noticed a particular pattern except that it is rare.

I've not tried the CO2 button to surface. I'll have to try your suggestion of submerging then hitting the CO2 button. Hitherto, I've always just saved and reloaded the game.

CSAFirefighter
06-14-2011, 03:01 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wolferz:
Is it really a bug or just a simulation of what happens if submerged too long?
What was your dive duration?
I have noticed that an extended dive and surface using the keyboard surface command(S key) doesn't always acknowledge the surface and reset the High Co2 flag. The boat is still seen as submerged.
Using the Co2 button, that appears upper right screen, to surface usually resets the flag every time. If the keyboard surface command doesn't make that button go away, try diving again then click it to surface again. This usually clears the button and supplies air. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

what i do in convoy attack, i dive to periscope depth, to get a final bearing, then right below the thermal layer and go undetected (sometimes) under the escorts, then back up to periscope and make my attack runs, after that, back down below the thermal layer and escape, not much to it, and the CO2 started kicking in for some reason, so i'd either break contact, go to periscope and take out the escorts if i had remaining torps. then surface after geting out of the zone, and the screenshots above show i was on the surface with high CO2, it always seems to do this when i get big hits, like european liners, task forces and ect. just agrivating.

Wolferz
06-14-2011, 06:54 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by CSAFirefighter:
i even turned that setting off in the realism and it still does it!!!!!! you report the bugs, then they put out a patch saying "this and that is fixxed" when it aint fix'd @ ALL!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Gameplay settings can not be changed mid patrol. Only in the office at home port. (bookshelf on port side). http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

PyrateCaptainM
06-14-2011, 01:49 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Posted Sun June 12 2011 21:16
i was on patrol off Manila bay when i ran into a convoy i sank 2 destroyers as per orders, and recieved no damage, i then sunk 2 merchants (some of my torps missed, after i broke contact and surfaced, i was heading to the nearest refit base to rearm, and my CO2 Level started going up, i was already on the surface cuz in route i shot down a betty bomber, yet the CO2 Level kept rising, then i died. WTF??? has anyone else had this crappy assed prob? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Game play settings, Although I will add this, its not Crappy game play anything, its very realistic, But in most cases the CO2 would be the least of the gases offending you, The Most common on the old Boats was hydrochloride/sulfur, from the batteries, the Chief of the boats had a duty, that was listening for coughs, then walking from compartment to compartment with a zippo, lighting it near the ceiling to "Burn off th Hydrogen" gases. The Sub sim seems to exclude the SNORKEL which at periscope depth could be raised to VENT the gases automatically. Oversight more than crappy.

dgrayson
06-14-2011, 03:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by PyrateCaptainM:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Posted Sun June 12 2011 21:16
i was on patrol off Manila bay when i ran into a convoy i sank 2 destroyers as per orders, and recieved no damage, i then sunk 2 merchants (some of my torps missed, after i broke contact and surfaced, i was heading to the nearest refit base to rearm, and my CO2 Level started going up, i was already on the surface cuz in route i shot down a betty bomber, yet the CO2 Level kept rising, then i died. WTF??? has anyone else had this crappy assed prob? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">Save, Exit, Reload, Stop whining, problem solved.</span>


The Sub sim seems to exclude the SNORKEL which at periscope depth could be raised to VENT the gases automatically. Oversight more than crappy. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

<span class="ev_code_YELLOW">US Fleetboats in WWII did not have snorkels. </span>

Dave

CapnScurvy
06-15-2011, 01:51 PM
I've had the same CO2 buildup without ever touching the Alt/Tab keys. I never leave the game that way.

Nor did I save a game before the buildup. Just like the first post in this thread, the CO2 level began to climb, I surfaced at about the 2/3 full level and the level kept climbing. After about another 15 to 20 minutes game time, KIA. No apperant reason in my case.

An easier fix is to not have the CO2 enabled at all. Problem solved!!