PDA

View Full Version : Macs



SILVERFISH1992
08-03-2009, 04:46 PM
I just got a new Apple Mac, and I was wondering if IL2 will work on it.

Anybody know?

P.S. hows my avatar? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

SILVERFISH1992
08-03-2009, 04:46 PM
I just got a new Apple Mac, and I was wondering if IL2 will work on it.

Anybody know?

P.S. hows my avatar? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

Urufu_Shinjiro
08-03-2009, 04:51 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SILVERFISH1992:
I just got a new Apple Mac, and I was wondering if IL2 will work on it.

Anybody now?

P.S. hows my avatar? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Nothing works on it, it's a mac, lol.

SILVERFISH1992
08-03-2009, 04:55 PM
What can you do on a mac then?

Boosher
08-03-2009, 04:59 PM
Photoshop, The Sims.... that's about it.

major_setback
08-03-2009, 05:00 PM
I would never use a mac. Prefer the refreshing feel of rain on my face.

SILVERFISH1992
08-03-2009, 05:09 PM
I'm going to learn how to use it as part of my tech support so I can help people with stuff other then Windows.

Freiwillige
08-03-2009, 05:18 PM
Well IL2 runs well on apple, not so well on mac

SILVERFISH1992
08-03-2009, 05:19 PM
Whats the diference http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

VW-IceFire
08-03-2009, 06:10 PM
Uhhh...

Apple is the company. Mac is short for Macintosh which is the computer.

Which Mac did you buy...there are lots of them?

The only way to get IL-2 to work would be to either install Parallels and/or use Bootcamp to install Windows. Not sure how well IL-2 would work under Parallels. Google it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

WTE_Galway
08-03-2009, 06:38 PM
did you get fries with it ?

SILVERFISH1992
08-03-2009, 06:41 PM
My reletive gave it to me.

dangerlaef
08-03-2009, 06:49 PM
Funny,
Theres a mac thread at 1c at the moment.

I had this to say:

I run il-2 1946 on my Macbook

As far as I know there is no way to run xp progammes at decent performance,
without partitioning your drive & installing XP.

I started using bootcamp,
& now use refit:
http://refit.sourceforge.net/

Also, if I attempt to use openGL il-2 locks up.
so I'm using directx for graphics

I've never run "original IL-2" onthe mac,
but I did try Pacific Fighters,
& pre-patch clean install had my graphics upside down.
It's been a while, but I think the problem went away when I sintalled all the patches.

Note:
Bootcamp & Parrallels ARE NOT EMULATORS,
XP runs on Intel Macs natively.

Tully__
08-03-2009, 08:17 PM
Is it possible to run Wine in OSX? Some people have got IL2 running in Wine on Linux boxes.

Tully__
08-04-2009, 06:56 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SILVERFISH1992:
P.S. hows my avatar? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Too big, file size is over 700KB. It's very entertaining but not acceptable as an avatar. See the two links below for forum rules on signatures/avatars and some specific limits for each.
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...0283/m/3971030057#XI (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/3971030057#XI)
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...1026566/m/7401097417 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/5181026566/m/7401097417)

Metatron_123
08-04-2009, 08:17 AM
I use a windows partition with bootcamp on my macbook-pro only for games. PC vs Mac debates are pointless here if I may say so.
(Largely cause its impossible to get a mac user to convert http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/disagree.gif )