PDA

View Full Version : I'm so sorry - Optimum settings for Radeon 9800 Pro?



jpinard
03-14-2004, 12:20 AM
OK, for I want to apologize for asking this since it's probably been asked a lot. But in my defence I just got out of the hospital and am still suffering from pancreatitus and pnuomia (although I'm alot better).

I'm having a lot fo trouble trying to get this game to run well now that I'm firing it up (with the Aces expansion).

Could someone outline for me what I should probably have in the IL-2 video setup tab, and corresponding settings in my ATI video tab?

And I really appreciate anyone that can hold my hand through this. It is pretty difficuly to think well with the stuff I'm dealing with.

Here's my stats:

AMD Athlon 64
1 Gig RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro

jpinard
03-14-2004, 12:20 AM
OK, for I want to apologize for asking this since it's probably been asked a lot. But in my defence I just got out of the hospital and am still suffering from pancreatitus and pnuomia (although I'm alot better).

I'm having a lot fo trouble trying to get this game to run well now that I'm firing it up (with the Aces expansion).

Could someone outline for me what I should probably have in the IL-2 video setup tab, and corresponding settings in my ATI video tab?

And I really appreciate anyone that can hold my hand through this. It is pretty difficuly to think well with the stuff I'm dealing with.

Here's my stats:

AMD Athlon 64
1 Gig RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro

Slick750
03-14-2004, 12:48 AM
With that setup i'd play at 1280/960 resolution
with 4x AA and 8x or 16x Anisotropic, that should look sweet and run smooth or 2x AA at 1600/1200, i dont bother running "perfect" mode (ingame option) i think the water's okay at "exellent" setting and faster that way.
Im surprised you're saying it aint running well it should run ok at any setting with that PC. Make sure you got 4.x drivers for your vid card.

Cajun76
03-14-2004, 12:57 AM
First off, hope you get well soon. There are Sticky Threads at the top of the main page, including Sturmovik essentials. There is also a tech support forum here, with stickies also. Hope this helps, good luck and

Good hunting,
Cajun76

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v30/Cajun76/Real_35a.gif
What if there were no hypothetical questions?

jpinard
03-14-2004, 01:08 AM
Thanks guys. In the IL-2 "video->Settings" tab what shoudl I select?


Maximum settings?

ATI Radeon 9800 settings?

or Custom? If I select custom, what do you suggest?

jpinard
03-14-2004, 01:16 AM
Hmmm, that FAQ at mudmovers isn't available

Is there a FAQ like that somewhere else?

arcadeace
03-14-2004, 01:31 AM
http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/222_1078910271_6.jpg

Also, in your ATI desktop properties box in SmartGart click agp x8 and turn off fast writes. And don't forget to turn your sound acceleration down a notch.

I would take this to Tech and get further advice. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

TheGozr
03-14-2004, 01:38 AM
I did enable the clip hint and it seams smoother.. now.. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

-GOZR
http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/images/pix/il2fbtmhlogosmall.jpg <--Uncensored version IL2fb here (http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/)

Cajun76
03-14-2004, 01:39 AM
If you want to see the default setting spelled out for the different configs, select example: 9700, then go to Custom. It will show the configuration for the 9700. Go back and pick another default, like Max Settings, pick Custiom, and it's default config will be displayed. This can help you get an idea of what you might want to add or delete for tweaking. You'll take a huge fps hit using asio filter, so if you're having stutter, try trilinear. Tech forum has Hunter82, top notch tweakmiester and ATI beta tester. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/11.gif

Good hunting,
Cajun76

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v30/Cajun76/Real_35a.gif
What if there were no hypothetical questions?

Angelus897
03-14-2004, 01:50 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> You'll take a huge fps hit using asio filter, so if you're having stutter, try trilinear. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually Radeon cards don't take a big hit with AF, at least my 9600 Pro doesn't. His 9800 Pro won't even notice. You should run at maximum settings (including perfect water 2) @ 1280x960 w/ 4xAA and 8xAF.

jpinard
03-14-2004, 02:59 AM
arcadeace why run with fastwrites off?

arcadeace
03-14-2004, 03:25 AM
I seriously suggest you take questions to Tech jpinard. I remember a week or two ago Hunter responded to someone with stutter difficulty and stated fast writes on could cause them, amongst other factors.

CDN_Merlin
03-14-2004, 09:12 AM
P4 2.4
1 Gig Ram
ATI 9800 Pro

Everything maxed out at 1152x864 res and she runs sweet using the 4.3 drivers.

Beta tester for:
C&C Generals, Independance War 2,Starfleet Command 2,Settlers IV,Tzar,Allegiance,Starfleet Command,MAX 2,Defiance

Angelus897
03-14-2004, 12:20 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by arcadeace:
I seriously suggest you take questions to Tech jpinard. I remember a week or two ago Hunter responded to someone with stutter difficulty and stated fast writes on could cause them, amongst other factors.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Most of the time, Fast Write boosts performance.

jpinard
03-14-2004, 02:12 PM
Thank you everyone for the help. Is Hunter's thread locked in teh tech forum?

KGr.HH-Sunburst
03-14-2004, 02:17 PM
im running it at 1200x900 at 4xAA and 4xAF
perfect or excellent it doesnt matter much they both run above 40fps
also in the FB setup tab in the start menu just set it to 9800/9700/9500 settings and u should be fine


XP3200+
ati 9800pro @420/375
1 Gig of ram

http://www.freewebs.com/fightingpumas/
http://img31.photobucket.com/albums/v94/sunburst/sunburst.jpg

KGr.HH-Sunburst
03-14-2004, 02:21 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by arcadeace:
I seriously suggest you take questions to Tech jpinard. I remember a week or two ago Hunter responded to someone with stutter difficulty and stated fast writes on could cause them, amongst other factors.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

if i remember correctly you should only use fastwrites when your motherbord supports it
or else you could have problems
my mobo supports fast writes and i cant turn it off it just sets it self on http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/59.gif

http://www.freewebs.com/fightingpumas/
http://img31.photobucket.com/albums/v94/sunburst/sunburst.jpg

Angelus897
03-14-2004, 02:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>... i cant turn it off it just sets it self on...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

If you want to disable fast writes, you have to do it in the BIOS AND in the advanced display options.

jpinard
03-14-2004, 02:48 PM
sunburst do you have fastwrites on or off?

huggy87
03-14-2004, 07:19 PM
I almost bought the 9800 pro today, but I didn't have the right power source. The card requires 300Watts and the dell I bought two years ago is only 250watts. How important is the wattage. Is it easy to upgrade the power source.
Thanks

jpinard
03-14-2004, 07:38 PM
Very easy to swap out power supply. Make sure to get a good one by Antec or Enermax.

huggy87
03-14-2004, 08:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by jpinard:
Very easy to swap out power supply. Make sure to get a good one by Antec or Enermax.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

How do you find one that is compatible? Are there any concerns with cooling when you up the wattage? Thank you.

jpinard
03-14-2004, 09:27 PM
If I were you, I'd just get the Antec Trupower 550. It'll be compatbile with everything, and you'll never need another power supply. Heat is hardly an issue with higher end power supplies and their higher wattage.

The Antec 550 is also usually the best rated PSU on the market.

huggy87
03-14-2004, 11:39 PM
jpinard,
Thanks for the tip. I'll check it out.

TheGozr
03-15-2004, 12:07 AM
Power supply calculator.
http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

Why turn off fast writes.?

-GOZR
http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/images/pix/il2fbtmhlogosmall.jpg &lt;--Uncensored version IL2fb here (http://www.french.themotorhead.com/themotorhead_fighters/)

Bull_Pup
03-15-2004, 05:54 PM
a word of caution.

some older dell pc's use a power supply that has the same exact motherboard connector as a standard ATX power supply, but the electrical pin out's in the connector are different.

fireworks result. Be certain.