PDA

View Full Version : Can "chains" be configured to cause damage?



WakeFire
03-28-2004, 06:19 PM
See pic below. When the buggy's race side by side to reach their individual tagpoints, I was hoping the chain between the two buggy's would mow down the grunts I placed between the paths. Only problem is, the chain object just passes right through the grunts without even affecting them. Does the chainswing object only interact with the two objects to which it is attached?

http://www.wakefire.com/eric/farcry/pics/ChainOfDeath.jpg

Insert clever signature here...

WakeFire
03-28-2004, 06:19 PM
See pic below. When the buggy's race side by side to reach their individual tagpoints, I was hoping the chain between the two buggy's would mow down the grunts I placed between the paths. Only problem is, the chain object just passes right through the grunts without even affecting them. Does the chainswing object only interact with the two objects to which it is attached?

http://www.wakefire.com/eric/farcry/pics/ChainOfDeath.jpg

Insert clever signature here...

Shask343
03-28-2004, 06:29 PM
try attaching somthing thta will cause damage to the grunts in the chain..possibly a crate or rock or somthing..

Leader of Final Roar http://www.freewebs.com/shask666/ (Now Recruiting)

AcidOsmosis
03-28-2004, 09:51 PM
Go to Objects, Entity, Other, and place a Proximity Damage. You can then resize the area by changing the height and radius. A box will be placed around the Proximity Damage "modifier" (thats what I like to call it for some reason). If you enter this box damage will be caused to the player. You can change the amount of damage and other information also.

This may not be the best way to do it, but it's "one" way. (the only one I know of at the moment)